Customer Reviews for

The Memoirs of Cleopatra

Average Rating 4.5
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2008

    Captivating

    Amazing book! Romance, intrigue, war, detailed historical accounts. Each page paints a picture of of this fascinating point in history. You feel as if you are actually apart of Cleopatra's life.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    Best Book I've Ever Read!

    The Memoirs of Cleopatra is one of those books that sounded interesting, but I'd put off reading it for quite a while due to it's length. DON'T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE I DID!!! Once I started reading, I never wanted to put it down-- it took me almost two weeks to finish, sneaking chapters into any free time I found, and I am SO sad that it had to eventually come to an end. Although the events all took place in ancient times, I feel like the realtionships between Cleopatra and Caesar, Cleopatra and Marc Antony, and Cleopatra and her children could have taken place in modern times. If you enjoy history written from a female perspective then this book is for you-- I promise you, you won't be disappointed!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2006

    Margaret George is a brilliant writer!

    This book is wonderful! Margaret George truly captivates you with this beautifully written novel. I loved the way she portrayed Cleopatra and brought her mysterious character to life. I felt as if I was right there watching the history unfold. I wish they would make a movie out of her exact story. I highly recommend this novel!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    A New Perspective (I don't say what happens in book)

    The first sentence grabbed my attention and kept me riding along. I won't say what happens in the book because i hate when people do that on reviews. The novel was captivating and kept me wanting to read more. It may look like a lot of work, but if just ignore the page length and read it, it will seem as if the book was only a few hundred pages. I really liked this book since it wasn't a biograhy but told everything from Cleopatra's point of view. In the endish part of it I sort of got a little restless, but otherwise read this book if you like roman history, egytian history, historical fiction, or if you are just looking for a good read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book was fascinating. I never knew there was this much to Cleopatra's story. Reading this book, I felt as though I were actually there with her to the tragic end. The last few chapters are very emotional as you head toward the end that you know is coming, but yet keep hoping may turn out differently.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    WOW! If you love historical fiction.....

    One of the best books I have ever read! Loved everything about it! Don't let the 1000+ pages scare you. If you love to read historical fiction, this one has it all......love, war and lots of juicy historical facts embedded in a rich description of life in the time of the last Pharoah of Egypt. I can hardly wait to read it again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    The world of Cleopatra come to life!

    Cleopatra has always been an fascinating character of history for me. She is often described as a temptress; a whore who seduced and disgraced two of Rome's most powerful generals. A woman who cared about nothing but her own selfish ambitions. What is not usual mentioned is the fact that she was a strong leader and a very intelligent politician who cared greatly for her country. This book paints a beautiful picture of what Cleopatra's life might have been like. Richly detailed and well plotted, Memoirs of Cleopatra captivates the reader; creating a feeling that you are actually living in the time this book takes place. A mix of mostly what is believed to be historical fact with a few creative ideas from the author, this was an informative, great read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    Great Book

    I loved this book. I was able to picture what was happening from the descriptions of this book. I tried reading more than 30 pages a day because I couldn't put the book down. You won't regret buying it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A truly, truly riveting book!

    *If you do not know Cleopatra's history prior to reading this, I strongly suggest that you AVOID THE BLURB! It will give away the ending and take away from the suspense...*<BR/><BR/>I started this massive book and read it in pieces over the course of 2-3 months. I can easily say that this is one of THE greatest books I have ever read. The characters and scenery are vividly displayed and the plot is enticing. The emotions you feel when reading her story range from anger to euphoria, anguish and everything in between! George fails to neglect even the smallest of details. I have nothing to offer but praise for this book and admiration for the author, who spent a great four years conducting research. In this epic, 957 page tale, Cleopatra is awarded the gratification of being one of the most influential and powerful female leaders to grace our history. Disregarding minor embellishments added for the reader's pleasure (and to give a complete picture), The Memoirs of Cleopatra gives a spot-on account of Egypt and Rome during the reign of Cleopatra, the "Last Queen of Egypt"--from her youth to her gracefully tragic death.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2008

    A outstanding read

    If you love history you will be glued to the pages. I have read all of George's books and I love them. This will be my second purchase of Cleopatra. As a native of England, I know that not only can she weave a wonderful web of fiction but her books are based on historical facts. George adds a twist to her books that can not be matched, save the king of legal thrillers, John Grisham!! Buy all of her books. If you are a history buff such as myself, you will pay double to read George's renditon of Henry, Cleopatra, and of course Mary, Queen of Scotts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    Transportation in time

    I absolutely love this book. It started off a little slow, and due to the 900 pages was intimidating....But once I got into it, I could hardly put it down. The book totally transports you to Cleaopatra's time. I recommend this book to any history buff and everyone else!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    Great Book

    I love books based on historical fiction. This is honestly one of the best I have ever read. I have always thought of Cleopatra as a fascinating character. History has always depicted her as a temptress and greedy. This book truly makes you feel as in you are in ancient Egypt alongside Cleopatra. It gives you a different prespective on the life Cleopatra probably lived. Very entertaining story. A mixture of fact and fiction. The action is always there. Must read! You will not be dissapointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    excellent

    when reading this book, I feel I am back in time with Cleopatra. I would recommend this highly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    Fascinating story

    I'm not necessarily a fan of stories during the Roman empire, but this one was well worth the time - and it is a lengthy read, full of detail regarding the Egyptian royalty and religion, with Cleopatra and her loves of Cesear and Mark Anthony as centerpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Despite being a REALLY long book, and already knowing the major

    Despite being a REALLY long book, and already knowing the major points of the story, it never dragged, I kept wanting to turn the pages. The author puts the best spin on certain things - for example, Cleopatra is historically supposed to have poisoned her youngest brother; in this version, she takes solicitous care of him and he dies from consumption (TB). Which could be what truly happened, impossible to tell from this vantage point.

    She also smoothly works in many of Cleopatra's skills, in language, for example, having her switch from one language to another to try to communicate with someone. This takes the bare bones of the historical story and adds flesh, color, sound and scent. She is a sensual woman, she is a woman in love, and in heartbreak, but Egypt always comes first.

    Cleopatra as portrayed here is thoroughly likeable and sympathetic, a smart if tough woman willing to use every tool at her disposal, including sex, to attain her goals and protect her kingdom.

    As one would expect of a Queen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Gripping

    I truly enjoyed reading this. Although we have all heard of the famous romances of Cleopatra,....it was different reading it, from her what her own point of view may have been. At the end,...I knew they were both going to die, and it seemed dragged out a bit,...but it was worth hanging in there to visualize the scene the way it may have happened.
    I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    A rich story packed with jewels.

    I love this book. I have gone through 3 copies of it, i just must re-read it. There is always something my mind must go over again or a scene so warm and complex i swear i can feel the warmth of the Egyptian sun on my face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    It Took me forever to finish it! Due to its length, but I loved

    It Took me forever to finish it! Due to its length, but I loved it.
    Margaret George does an excellent job, if u love historical novels, you will love this book.
    I can't wait to read the autobiography of Henry VIII.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Margaret George has done it again! Just as she did in "The

    Margaret George has done it again!

    Just as she did in &quot;The Autobiography of Henry VIII,&quot; Margaret George has given an utterly realistic voice to a famous historical figure, while remaining true to the facts contained in whatever documented sources are available.

    Many other novels about Cleopatra focus only on her affairs with Julius Caesar and Marc Antony. Many of them also repeat the myths and inaccurate stories about her that grew out of Roman propaganda. Books like these usually ignore the facts that Cleopatra was not a femme fatale who seduced hundreds of men, but a capable ruler who competently governed Egypt by herself for many years; that she was actually only with two men in her entire life (her arranged dynastic “marriages” to her brothers were almost certainly in name only); that she was also mother to four children.

    Cleopatra’s real story has enough drama, love, war, and intrigue to make an intriguing tale all on its own, and Margaret George does it full justice. Cleopatra’s stories of her childhood are probably mostly from George’s imagination, but very plausible. George then has Cleopatra relate how she overcomes the palace coups staged by her own family; how she allies herself to Julius Caesar and later to Marc Antony to maintain Egypt’s independence, falling in love with each of them in different ways; how she convinces Antony to join her in an attempt to create an eastern dynasty after they realize that Octavian is untrustworthy; and finally how, after being defeated by Octavian and losing Antony, she decides to maintain her dignity by committing suicide rather than being taken back to Rome by Octavian to be paraded in his Triumph.

    The story is written in first person in the form of a memoir, with an epilogue by her physician Olympos, who was an actual historical figure whose writings are an important accurate source for Cleopatra’s life and especially her deathbed scene. The book is a little long, because George goes into full detail about everything, but you are so caught up in the story that you hardly notice.

    I always wondered how history would have been different if Cleopatra could have been content to confine herself to governing an independent Egypt instead of making a bid to expand her territory. But even Cleopatra was not immune to the dreams of empire-building that all monarchs seem to have had then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Bil

    Bill eats cleopatra poop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11