Customer Reviews for

The Memoirs of Cleopatra

Average Rating 4.5
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 152 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    I loved it !!

    This was my 1st book by Margret George. I really enjoyed it but I have to admit that I skimmed through the last battle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Outstanding book!

    Once again Margaret George winds her magic through history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    good

    One of my favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    I loved it!

    I read this book in it's hardback format and loved it. I felt like I got to know the mysterious queen of the nile. It was interesting to see some of the same events depicted by others from Cleopatra's point of view. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Loved this book!

    This book was so intriguing and vivid. I was captured from beginning to end! Long read, but worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good for the Ren, the Ba, the Ka, the Sheut, and the Ib.

    i felt i was right there with Cleopatra every step of the way from childhood to her untimely demise.
    some people complain this book is too long but im afraid i didn't want it to end! i downloaded a sample reading on my nook and purchased it right away. This book is based on factual information with some imagined character embellishments about things that simply we as history as a whole just don't know or have record about but most of the book is spot on fact wise. i wish Margaret George would write more about Egypt!it has been a long time since i fell in love with a book and this will remain one of my favorites for a very long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Amazing book

    I first read this book while I was in the hospital in 1999 - and I just picked it up to read it again - amazing does not do this book justice. Margaret George has the ability to completely captivate you - the reader is transported to ancient Eqypt - the sights, the sounds, even the smells seem real - oh, and I would be remiss if I didn't include Marc Antony!! A great summer read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Typically Wonderful Margaret George Writing

    This book begins at Cleopatra's youth, focuses on her relationships with first Julius Caesar and then with Mark Antony and spotlights the political implications of these relationships for both Egypt and Rome. Whereas Cleopatra is, many times, historically presented as a seductress and a manipulator, this book tells about the famous historical heroine from her own perspective, arguing her point of view on such historical events as the death of Caesar, Octavian's adoption by Caesar through his will, Rome's imperialist expansionism, and the civil war saga of Rome. Besides the personal perspective of the first person narrator, another interesting aspect of the book is the descriptive presentation of Egyptian and Roman politics and culture, through the lens of Cleopatra's perception. True to her form, Margaret George has done a great amount of research on her topic and does not change our viewpoint of history for the sake of sensationalism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2011

    GREAT BOOK! Dont miss out.

    I just love Margaret George I wish she had more to read. This book is #2 on my list. The only one above it is the King Henry book that Margaret George also wrote. I could not put this book down and I have read it twice. It was just as good the second time. Great book and a must read! I have read so many Historical Fiction books and this is one of the best! Dont miss out READ THIS BOOK! And if you like this check out the King Henry book by Margaret George as well!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    the best cleopatra fiction book out there

    i loved this book and have given/suggested it to many friends who enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    An Absolute Pleasure!

    I am sad to have finished reading this book as it was such a pleasure. Over 1200 pages, but every word was fascinating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Brilliant, descriptive, hard to put down!

    I have since fallen in love with the loves stories of Cleopatra and Julius Caesar and then Marc Antony...this book was a great read with many factual accounts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    Absolutely Amazing

    If you want a book that will.....stay on your mind constantly, keep you up late, distract you all day, and make you fall completely in love with all the characters, this book is for you!

    Her writing us superb and keeps you interested from page 1 to forever.

    honestly this is one of the best books ive ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Historical Fiction Favorite

    This is one of my favorite books. At first glance, the 1,000 page read could seem intimidating to many. However, once you begin reading I am positive you will not be able to put it down. George is very researched in the history of ancient Egypt and provides vivid imagery and a historical foundation that she cleverly weaves romantic and entertaining details in this beautiful web of a story. I have the hardcover book, which is no longer available on-line, however, if you have a chance to pick up the hardcover version, the book is truly a statement piece to display. I was sad when this book ended. If you love historical fiction, I highly recommend this book. Also, if you like this book ,the series Rome was particularly interesting to watch after reading about many of the characters in George's tantalizing tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Memorable memoirs

    Cleopatra has always been an intriguing historical figure and although this book seemed like a daunting task to take on because of its size, I blazed through it and would have liked it to go on. Margaret George has a true gift of taking larger than life people and having them relate their own stories and in so doing, makes them more knowable. I felt as if I had been transported back to the time of Cleopatra because of the great detail in which every aspect of her life and surroundings were described. I could all but touch and smell the things she was relating. Her descriptions are like murals painted with words. And how can you go wrong with a cast of characters like Julius Cesar, Marc Antony, Cesar Augustus and Cleopatra herself. I have a new found respect for Cleopatra and what she had to endure in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    Historical Fiction fans, YOU MUST READ THIS

    If you love historical fiction in the Roman Time period, this is the book for you. Typically a lot of movies paint Cleopatra as a conniving, sexual, stupid, and power hungry woman. They rarely go into the details of her life and what made her the woman she was. Margaret George shows you a different and softer side of her. She shows her as a very intelligent woman who had to make a lot of difficult decisions as a woman in power. During that time many did not believe that a woman had the intelligence to run a powerful kingdom like Egypt. If you are looking for a book that goes deeper into the soul and mind of Cleopatra, this is a story that you will enjoy reading over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    Cleopatra is engaging!

    No one thought I'd finish a book this long, but I read it before taking a cruise to the Greek Islands and Turkey. I just returned from Egypt, and when I recover from jetlag, I intend to reread it. I was sad when I finished it the first time, because I looked forward to reading a chapter every evening -- like being with old friends. It painted a different picture of Cleopatra than previously painted in the movies. It showed the struggle to keep the kingdom together, and make it prosper. It depicted a human side, and the woman's great strength against her adversaries, as well as with her lovers. She managed to keep Marc Antony together, while he was losing battles. The book was colorful, and full of adventure and romance. I especially enjoyed the depictions of life at that time, and how the ancient cities of Rome and Athens were actually viewed in terms of advancement. Anyone who has ever traveled to the destinations in the book will enjoy learning more about them. I never thought history could be so engaging. It was one of my favorite books, and I highly recommend it to anyone interested in history while seeking adventure and romance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Margaret George's best book.

    Read through all the reviews - they are spot on with this book. I have read some of her other amazing books and loved them. I felt with this book especially, I was actually there. It always took me a moment when I put the book down to get adjusted to living in the present! It includes such details of life at that time in history and includes romance, intrigue, war and more. This book is part of my permanent library - I will read it again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    Awesome

    Talk about a book that is hard to put down. Although it is a LONG story, it is one I think everyone should read. The history and drama, told through Cleopatra's point of view, is just fantastic. In the beginning it was kind of hard to get in to, but keep reading and it will certainly pull you in. I NEVER re-read books, however; if I have time to re-read this one, I will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't be beat

    Few historical fiction writers compare to Margaret George. This is the second book of hers I've read (Henry VIII "autobiography" was the other) and she is excellent at drawing the reader in and bringing brilliant fact and fiction together. Finished "Cleopatra" last night and cannot comprehend how much research went into writing such an outstanding book. At the end of book, George writes about what was factual in the book (the majority) and what she added for dramatic affect (not much). What surprised me was how much documentation she found on Cleopatra and her rein. I ordered George's other books on Mary Magdalene and Helen of Troy, and once I'm finished, I'm going to get the one on Mary, Queen of Scots. If you like intelligent historical fiction, you can't go wrong with Margaret George.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 152 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8