Customer Reviews for

The Memoirs of Cleopatra

Average Rating 4.5
( 212 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    It Took me forever to finish it! Due to its length, but I loved

    It Took me forever to finish it! Due to its length, but I loved it.
    Margaret George does an excellent job, if u love historical novels, you will love this book.
    I can't wait to read the autobiography of Henry VIII.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Margaret George has done it again! Just as she did in "The

    Margaret George has done it again!

    Just as she did in "The Autobiography of Henry VIII," Margaret George has given an utterly realistic voice to a famous historical figure, while remaining true to the facts contained in whatever documented sources are available.

    Many other novels about Cleopatra focus only on her affairs with Julius Caesar and Marc Antony. Many of them also repeat the myths and inaccurate stories about her that grew out of Roman propaganda. Books like these usually ignore the facts that Cleopatra was not a femme fatale who seduced hundreds of men, but a capable ruler who competently governed Egypt by herself for many years; that she was actually only with two men in her entire life (her arranged dynastic “marriages” to her brothers were almost certainly in name only); that she was also mother to four children.

    Cleopatra’s real story has enough drama, love, war, and intrigue to make an intriguing tale all on its own, and Margaret George does it full justice. Cleopatra’s stories of her childhood are probably mostly from George’s imagination, but very plausible. George then has Cleopatra relate how she overcomes the palace coups staged by her own family; how she allies herself to Julius Caesar and later to Marc Antony to maintain Egypt’s independence, falling in love with each of them in different ways; how she convinces Antony to join her in an attempt to create an eastern dynasty after they realize that Octavian is untrustworthy; and finally how, after being defeated by Octavian and losing Antony, she decides to maintain her dignity by committing suicide rather than being taken back to Rome by Octavian to be paraded in his Triumph.

    The story is written in first person in the form of a memoir, with an epilogue by her physician Olympos, who was an actual historical figure whose writings are an important accurate source for Cleopatra’s life and especially her deathbed scene. The book is a little long, because George goes into full detail about everything, but you are so caught up in the story that you hardly notice.

    I always wondered how history would have been different if Cleopatra could have been content to confine herself to governing an independent Egypt instead of making a bid to expand her territory. But even Cleopatra was not immune to the dreams of empire-building that all monarchs seem to have had then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Bil

    Bill eats cleopatra poop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    An historical feast

    History does not get better than this to read. Could not put it down. The story of a fasinating woman and Egypt intersecting with the Roman empire. A brilliant work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Couldn't put all 900+ pages of it down!

    Loved this novel! Found it educational, enlightening and well-written. Do yourself a favor and pick it up. You won't be able to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    A must fun read!

    Guilty pleasure! AN absolute must-read for lovers of historical fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    I loved it !!

    This was my 1st book by Margret George. I really enjoyed it but I have to admit that I skimmed through the last battle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    Grand Book

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The only reason why I gave it four stars instead of five is that it is very long. almost 1000 pages, and a bear to get through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Outstanding book!

    Once again Margaret George winds her magic through history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    good

    One of my favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Enjoyed and learned

    Enjpyed reading it from Cleopatra's perspective. Very interesting and learned a lot. I really enjoyed this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    I loved it!

    I read this book in it's hardback format and loved it. I felt like I got to know the mysterious queen of the nile. It was interesting to see some of the same events depicted by others from Cleopatra's point of view. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Hated it - Skip this one!

    I couldn't get through it. I though it was extremely boring and tedious.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Loved this book!

    This book was so intriguing and vivid. I was captured from beginning to end! Long read, but worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good for the Ren, the Ba, the Ka, the Sheut, and the Ib.

    i felt i was right there with Cleopatra every step of the way from childhood to her untimely demise.
    some people complain this book is too long but im afraid i didn't want it to end! i downloaded a sample reading on my nook and purchased it right away. This book is based on factual information with some imagined character embellishments about things that simply we as history as a whole just don't know or have record about but most of the book is spot on fact wise. i wish Margaret George would write more about Egypt!it has been a long time since i fell in love with a book and this will remain one of my favorites for a very long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Good+but.....

    This+book+is+good+but+has+some+inapproprite+parts.....

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2011

    Amazing book

    I first read this book while I was in the hospital in 1999 - and I just picked it up to read it again - amazing does not do this book justice. Margaret George has the ability to completely captivate you - the reader is transported to ancient Eqypt - the sights, the sounds, even the smells seem real - oh, and I would be remiss if I didn't include Marc Antony!! A great summer read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Typically Wonderful Margaret George Writing

    This book begins at Cleopatra's youth, focuses on her relationships with first Julius Caesar and then with Mark Antony and spotlights the political implications of these relationships for both Egypt and Rome. Whereas Cleopatra is, many times, historically presented as a seductress and a manipulator, this book tells about the famous historical heroine from her own perspective, arguing her point of view on such historical events as the death of Caesar, Octavian's adoption by Caesar through his will, Rome's imperialist expansionism, and the civil war saga of Rome. Besides the personal perspective of the first person narrator, another interesting aspect of the book is the descriptive presentation of Egyptian and Roman politics and culture, through the lens of Cleopatra's perception. True to her form, Margaret George has done a great amount of research on her topic and does not change our viewpoint of history for the sake of sensationalism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    TOO LONG!!!

    Although the writing was clear and descriptive, the characters interesting, and the history fascinating; the length of this book was so unbearably long, I cannot give it any more that 3 stars. As a lover of historical fiction, a recent voyager in Egyptian historical fiction, and a devourer of long books, I thought this book would be perfect for me. But I learned that some books, like this one, can cross the line from lengthy to burdensome. I must say, I truly enjoyed the characters and the story, and it made me very interested in Egypt and Roman history. But three quarters of the way through this nearly 1000 page book, I simply couldn't stand it anymore. I couldn't believe how long it was taking me to finish the book! Eventually I found myself dreading having to slog any more of it and resenting the book for putting me though all this. If 200 or 300 pages could be edited out, I would give it an enthusiastic 5 stars, but as it is I didn't finish it and wouldn't recommend it to any of my friends. All in all, great writing, characters, history and story, but just TOO DARN LONG to be a truly enjoyable reading experience for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    Hard to get through.

    I really enjoy Margaret George books, but this one was hard to get through. About halfway through the book I couldn't wait for it to end. There are parts that are great - Cleopatra is definitely interesting - but some portions of the book drag on.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 11