Customer Reviews for

Memoirs of a Beautiful Boy

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Hilarious Fun!!!

this book made me laugh and cry, in all the right places!!!

posted by Anonymous on April 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beauty Should Have been Enough

Beauty is often said to be shallow,and this book regrettably serves as support to this cliche.The mother character is an embarrassing throwback stereotype,focusing on physical appeal and feminine wiles to 'get a man' to insure her financial comfort while bewailing her '...
Beauty is often said to be shallow,and this book regrettably serves as support to this cliche.The mother character is an embarrassing throwback stereotype,focusing on physical appeal and feminine wiles to 'get a man' to insure her financial comfort while bewailing her 'sacrifice'. The son-narrator is all sharp tongue and general helplessness. There are witty lines, but overall they do not and cannot add enough substance to otherwise pointless ramblings about lives that for me held no interest.In the end, the only reaction was,'So what?'

posted by Anonymous on April 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    A hoot and a half!

    I loved every minute of this book. It's wicked funny and smart, and a really good time. Also, I think the writing is beautiful. I would recommend this book to anybody who wants to laugh their behind off.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    really funny

    this book caught me by surprise. i thought it would just be a light, fun read, but then, it turned into something even better. don't get me wrong. it was funny, but it's also a read that's really stayed with me. robert lelux is a writer to watch.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!

    What a charming story. Really funny and original, and unexpectedly thoughtful. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Nope!

    The introduction sounded so fascinating. I found myself trying to like, or at least find the author's mother funny. Nope! Okay, then I waited to be touched or warmed by the writer himself. Nope! As for his writing style, I think we can look forward to some great things in the future. Just not so great the first step of the dance.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    Read this hilarious memoir!!

    In "The Memoirs of a Beautiful Boy", Robert Leleux (nee O'Doole) paints a living, vivid picture of his teenage years. He shares the engaging story of life with his flamboyant mother and later, his future spouse, with exceptional flair and keen humor. The book begins in June, 1996, when at 16 years of age, his father abandons Jessica, his mother, and him in tiny Petunia, Texas with very little money. At this point, the relationship between mother and son is remarkably touching...and just a little bit unusual! They both love to go shopping and also enjoy driving to Neiman Marcus in Houston for their weekly hair and nail appointments. Post-abandonment, Jessica ardently strives to rejuvenate her appearance with plastic surgery and a hairpiece attachment so she can hook a new, rich husband. Meanwhile, Robert joins a Houston theater company, where he realizes he is gay and madly in love with choreographer Michael Leleux. Robert is lovingly welcomed into the Leleux household. Mr. Leleux is a magnificently talented writer who truly has a gift for drawing us in. His vivacious style, with its funny, 'snappy one-liners', was utterly captivating. The descriptions of his mother's beauty makeovers were simply hilarious! However, I can certainly relate to Jessica's desire to enhance her appearance in today's youth and beauty-obsessed culture. As I read, I was reminded of an important lesson. Mr. Leleux's sense of humor carried him through his life struggles. To be able to survive anything, a sense of humor is essential, even in the most dire circumstances. I absolutely LOVED this thoroughly entertaining memoir and I very HIGHLY recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    Sinclaire

    This book was funny, sad and also touching. Different plot but very enlightening. The author describes characters well, and he touches your heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    I Was Laughing Out Loud

    This book was really enjoyable. Robert Leleux writes with such humor! I hardly put this book down once I started reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2008

    Hilarious Fun!!!

    this book made me laugh and cry, in all the right places!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    Beauty Should Have been Enough

    Beauty is often said to be shallow,and this book regrettably serves as support to this cliche.The mother character is an embarrassing throwback stereotype,focusing on physical appeal and feminine wiles to 'get a man' to insure her financial comfort while bewailing her 'sacrifice'. The son-narrator is all sharp tongue and general helplessness. There are witty lines, but overall they do not and cannot add enough substance to otherwise pointless ramblings about lives that for me held no interest.In the end, the only reaction was,'So what?'

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Wonderful read

    I had the pleasure of meeting Robert, Michael, Jessica, & Robert's father during our Pulpwood Queen's meeting. They were all fantastic. I read the book as soon as I got home. I could not put it down. It was so good. I only wish I could have met his Mom. She sounds like a real character. I love her sayings that she uses in the book. The love story of Robert & Michael is so heart warming & they are still in love through all they have been through is saying a lot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    An upscale Fried Green Tomatoes

    Just when I thought it would be impossible for a writer to make me laugh and cry, and in one book no less, Robert Leleux manages the unexpected! But the best part is that the tears were tears of joy and that the laughter was belly laughter. I laughed so hard, in fact, that my husband ran up the stairs to check on me. The Memoirs of a Beautiful Boy is an improbable tale. Leleux, in a startlingly approachable voice, has managed to weave tragedy into hilarity with stories recalling the end of his teenage years, his Texas cowboy-father and southern-belle-mother, their messy divorce, and most memorably, his newly divorced mother's desperate attempts to remake herself with plastic surgery and glued on wigs. Like Augusten Burroughs, Leleux's tales are extreme. However, unlike Burroughs, a sweetness permeates even the darkest of moments. So much so, in fact, that I, too, loved his parents by the end of the book 'hence the tears'. I highly recommend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2008

    One of the best

    I just finished this book and I have to say I laughed out loud. I want to meet Robert, his mother and Michael after reading this book. This was one of the best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    Funny, Heart Warming, and Memorable

    Memoirs of a beautiful boy is hysterical, heartwarming and joy to read. Robert Leluex seems like a remarkable young man and you can't help but get caught up in the his story. His Mother is the character to say the least and I wonder where Robert would be life if he never meet Michael. I am left wanting to know more of what happens to Mother, Robert and Michael. Robert is still young I look forward to a sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2008

    Loved it!

    I just finished this book and absolutely loved it! The book is so entertaining and funny - I laughbed out loud, however, then I remembered that this was a true story and I was very touched and enlightened. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    The Memoirs of A Beautiful Boy is an outstanding debut. If you and your friend sat around with Memoirs, you would quote and laugh for hours. Fill your Evian bottles with vodka and hand over your psyches.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Not good

    Didn't care for this book. While slighty amusing at times, the author comes across as shallow, the stories are not compelling. Noone to route for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Anon

    One of the most talented wordsmith I have read! Robert will have you screaming with laughter...if you are a gay man you will identify with him. And if you are s straight woman, as I am, who is fortunate to have several gay men in my life - you will feel as though you are standing beside him in the majority of his well described scenarios. As for lesbian women and straight men - the sheer humor of Robert's story telling will amuse you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    funniest i've read in a while

    i'm not gay and i've never been to texas and even still this is the funniest thing i've read in a long long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    FUN!!!

    this book is a blast! i laughed, i cried. terrific!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2