Customer Reviews for

Memoirs of a Geisha

Average Rating 4.5
( 1654 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1219)

4 Star

(322)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Beautifully written....a must read.

This book was amazing and a beautiful read. It felt like Chiyo and Sayuri were right next to me telling the story of their lives. Beautifullly witten. This book engulfs the reader in its own world and even the most relunctant readers will find that they can't put this b...
This book was amazing and a beautiful read. It felt like Chiyo and Sayuri were right next to me telling the story of their lives. Beautifullly witten. This book engulfs the reader in its own world and even the most relunctant readers will find that they can't put this book down. I told my friend who only read a book once in a while and she finished the book in about 4 days. The story pulls your heart strings and you will hold your breath to find out what happens next. It is one of those books that when you hear its name again you immediately smile and say what a good book it was. You'll find yourself reccommending it to all your friends and family.

posted by 444716 on November 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Very Disappointing

The author is a fantastic writer. He has the ability to transport you into a different era and place. I feel like I have strolled the streets of Gion and visited the tea houses of Kyoto. However, the story was much longer then it needed to be and it lacked something I c...
The author is a fantastic writer. He has the ability to transport you into a different era and place. I feel like I have strolled the streets of Gion and visited the tea houses of Kyoto. However, the story was much longer then it needed to be and it lacked something I can put my finger on. The ending a unsatisfactory. Sayuri the most selfish person you'll ever meet, after all Nobu has done for her.

posted by Magdalena25 on January 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1659 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 83
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    The only book I've wanted to read a second time ??

    The only book I've read more than once. A beautifully illustrated story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    A great read.

    A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Brilliant

    Fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Memiors of a Geisha

    One of the best books that I have ever read! My friend loaned me her book last year and I loved it. When B&N made it available I purchased it for myself and enjoyed reading it all over again. I plan to read again next year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    In a man's world, one with a narrow and tall ladder to the top,

    In a man's world, one with a narrow and tall ladder to the top, a young woman learns to climb to her own survival - and to find a place of power. Some say that women who've suffered most from exclusion become, in turn, the worst enemies of their competitors. Others learn a deep compassion and begin to reconstruct a better world. Memoirs of a Geisha tells both stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Entertaining, nothing else

    While it is very entertaining, you have to be careful when you read it as much of the Geishas or Geikos behaviors in this novel are out of character to what would've been expected in an era that the author is writng. Also the supremacybod whiteness over Oriental beauty was a bit uncomfortable, and it may not seem like it at first but the fact the main character Chiyo or Sayuri has grey eyes (which later change to light blue in the book description) are very strange, especially since at the time there was such a thinbg as the Yamato class mentality which tried to depict everything that wasn't Japanese as an "other" (a technique US and Germany used a lot as well and you can see it in the news reels and war propaganda).
    If you want to kill an hour or spend a good weekend, read this but don't take it as a serious study in Geisha or Maiko (Geisha apprentice or sister) history, for that I recommend Geisha by Liza Dalby and Mineko Iwasaki biography.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Wonderful!

    Lovely story filled with accurate detail about life as a Geisha.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    mlynn1994@aol.com

    Pleeaassee add me!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Worth every penny

    Memorable, easy to read, well written. I read this almost 10 years ago and can recall the entire story. Its sticks with you because it is so well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    While I have heard other than kind descriptions about the author

    While I have heard other than kind descriptions about the author outside of this book, this is a great piece of writing.  A wonderful and intriguing story that is "loosely" based on reality.  Check out the real story and the real character also.  As for Golden's book, it's certainly worth a read and likely to be enjoyed.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    I originally thought that this book was going to be boring but o

    I originally thought that this book was going to be boring but once I started to get into to it I found that it’s actually very interesting. There are a lot of the concepts of Japanese culture in this book that I had never heard of before. Before reading this book I had no idea what a geisha, was and this book did a great job of explaining the secret life of geisha from a geisha point of view. Though the author entered the character of a young Japanese girl very well. I forgot at many times that the author was in fact a man, and though the character was fictional, he says it was a character made up the different experiences of many geisha he interviewed, which was cool. I would recommend this book to any one that wants to learn more about the effects of the World War II to the “celebrities” in Asian life. I think you would be surprised of the damage that war placed on the people. In some parts, I felt the book was little stagnant. We just followed Sayuri through her uneventful life. Also, the end was kind of predictable; where Sayuri ended up with the guy she loved so much for so long. He was all she could ever think and that got a little annoying because if it was suppose to be a love story then make that part at least a little interesting. I liked the characters and how the author added conflict to the story. Some of the conflicts were Sayuri against Hatsumomo and Sayuri against Nobu. Sayuri’s inner conflict between right and wrong we could see through the book and that made me feel as though I was a part of Sayuri’s life. I was always rooting for her to make the right decisions even when everyone told her to make the wrong ones. Sayuri, even though she wasn’t a real person, was a nice person and would have inspired other geisha.
    Overall, I liked most of the book except the love story and the stagnant everyday life. I would read the book over again, because I feel I may have missed some important details. If I read the book again I could better understand parts that confused me. This book makes me want to do further research to she if geisha are still working in Japan, because now I am curious. If asked I would give this book an eight out of ten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    I was truly in love with all of the characters in Memoirs of a G

    I was truly in love with all of the characters in Memoirs of a Geisha.They were so wonderfully full of life and there were never any two characters that were alike. I especially loved how strong the author made Chiyo. She led a rough life but she was still able to get her happy ending through all she was willing to sacrifice. I might not have liked this story if the character hadn’t really had to give up much, but since Chiyo so desperately throughout the story wanted to be with the Chairman, and she did all she could, I feel she deserved that ending.
    Sadly I must say that my favorite character was Nobu, and to see him just disappear like that in the end was really disappointing to me. I admit he was rough around the edges, but he could have at least got something out of it instead of learning he was “used” for so many years. I also found myself a little disappointed in the character himself. I understand he had pride, but to just give up like that really made me mad.
    I hated Hatsumomo, as the author intended, but I also felt bad when her boyfriend left her. Just because she’s evil doesn't mean she should get nothing. I felt that her end was a little to typical, like karma, you could just see it coming. I wish he had given her ending a bit of a twist so that it wasn’t all so predictable.
    Away from the characters, I really liked the accuracy of his piece. I’ve always found an interest in Japan, and to have all this information given to me containing a bit of their history and culture in the format of an interesting story was a gift. I enjoyed reading it for so many reasons, and many times I found myself unable to put the book down.
    The entire plot was so convincing, even the voice of Chiyo. I kept forgetting that the author was in fact, a man, and would always think how amazing it was that he could make writing from the opposite gender’s point of view seem so easy.
    Memoirs of a Geisha was definitely a wonderful book that evoked a lot of emotion from me. I would read it again, but it just wouldn't be the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Besides gender, there is little I have in common with Sakuri, on

    Besides gender, there is little I have in common with Sakuri, once Chiyo, growing up in Depression era Japan. Yet I was totally drawn into this character and our, I mean HER, story. I smelled the fish odor, and the cherry blossoms; felt fear and apprehension and dread around Hatsumomo and Granny, longing and heartbreak and bone-weariness. The sensory and emotional details were exquisite but not excessive.

    I'll never look at a kimono, or neck, or underside of my own arm, the same way again. I felt totally wrapped up till the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Excellent!

    I couldnt put this book down! I loved it. Great read, easy to follow. Couldnt wait to read the ending. Wish there was more! I Definitely recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Good Read

    Great descriptive writing, makes you taste, see and feel the world of a Geisha. A slightly slow read, definitely not a page turner but still a great read. Would recommend for commuter readers and/or vacation readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Full of tragedy and beauty, Memoirs of a Geisha is a dramatic, l

    Full of tragedy and beauty, Memoirs of a Geisha is a dramatic, lovely, and, at times, gorgeous. You'll be engulfed from the first page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Good read

    Read this book in school and loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Memoris of a Giesha

    Great book. Very captivatating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    This is one of my Favorite books

    I own the paperback, the e book, the movie, the soundtrack. I get lost in the words every time I read it. I am moved. You will believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book

    It was hard to believe it was a memoir. It was so exciting that it felt like a work of fiction at some points. The character does show a side of herself that is rather pathetic, but I still loved her anyways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1659 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 83