Customer Reviews for

Memoirs of a Geisha [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Stunning

    This is one of the most beautiful soundtracks I've ever heard. Its just perfect. It perfectly suites the movie. Very relaxing to listen to. Definitely recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    John is simply a genious

    Though I have failed to watch the movie, I just had to buy the C.D. for it is composed by a pure genious.I fell in love with his work since the starwars trilogy ,and he has never failed to make beautiful,heartfelt scores.I simply love his work.Especially this C.D. for it has so much emotion and passion which makes you shed tears every time you hear it.I also enjoyed all the cello solos I heard thoughout some pieces.I extremly suggest this C.D. for everyone to buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just Saw the Movie

    I can't wait to own this CD! You would never recognize it as John Williams' work, based on his Star Wars/Superman/Indiana Jones scores (which are good for their genre). The music is so evocotive and sensual, a perfect match for the film. No wonder it just won a Golden Globe! BTW, the movie is wonderful, if a bit sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    John Williams at his finest

    The musical score to "Memoirs of a Geisha" is the work of a genius. Composer John Williams really captured the entire atmosphere of World War II Japan, using traditional Japanese melodies combined with his own lush and sweeping orchestral compositions, which were all mixed together brilliantly to create this one inspiring soundtrack. Instrumentalists Itzhak Perlman and Yo-Yo Ma also collaborated with John and helped him effectively perform most of the film's themes, especially Sayuri's Theme and The Chairman's Waltz. The score elegantly flows from one track to the next, telling the story of Sayuri's rise to fame as one of Japan's most prolific geishas using music. Like director Rob Marshall, John helps tell the story, just through instruments and musical notes. His music captures any and every emotional aspect of the film and creates an almost ultra-real atmosphere that encompasses this and almost all the rest of his work. John gave the music a personality and made it tie perfectly into the scene in which it was being played with. His music skillfully heightens the scenes and makes it better than if there wasn't any music there at all. This is one soundtrack that should not be looked over. John Williams' score to "Memoirs of a Geisha" is definitely one of his finest works in his long and prolific career, a career that for sure will never be equaled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Memoirs of a Geisha

    Masterfully Brilliant. a mixture of every emmotion you could possibly think of. Like a soulful voice with a dramatic tale. Two thumbs way up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Another John Williams Masterpiece

    The score for this film is absolutely beautiful. It's compelling, sad, dramatic and intriguing. The movie is wonderful, but wouldn't be nearly as good without this ingenious work. I can't emphasize the ingeniuity of this man enough. I highly, highly recommend this album. I'd give it ten stars if they'd let me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    John Williams is the best film composer of our time!!

    The film doesn't intrigue me much, but the film score itself is absolutely breathtaking! Yo-Yo Ma and Itzhak Perlman are two of the worlds best musicians and who better than John Williams who can create beautiful music for them. Sayuri's Theme appears in many different tracks on the CD and is extremely mysterious and exotic. The Chairmen's Waltz is second best theme, and the string zither sounds really amazing in the score also. Williams also has had a major year with his film scores for War of the Worlds, and Star Wars,Geisha, and Munich! If not an award for War of the Worlds (for its originality), then Geisha would be next in line definatley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1