Customer Reviews for

Memoirs of a Scandalous Red Dress

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT!

I loved it! This is my favorite Elizabeth Boyle book! It's different from most romance novels. They don't get married young and live happily ever after. They actually have seperate lives and then reunite. I love it and I will read it again and again!

posted by Maitrakh on May 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed....Too+Many+Years+of+Seperation

I+was+sadly+disappointed+that+it+took+so+many+years+%2820%29+for+Pippin+and+Dash+to+reunite.++They+missed+so+much+of+what+could+have+been+a+great+life+together.++Pippa+and+Dash+both+married+others+they+didn%27t+love+as+they+loved+each+other+and++Dash%27s+had+no+knowledg...
I+was+sadly+disappointed+that+it+took+so+many+years+%2820%29+for+Pippin+and+Dash+to+reunite.++They+missed+so+much+of+what+could+have+been+a+great+life+together.++Pippa+and+Dash+both+married+others+they+didn%27t+love+as+they+loved+each+other+and++Dash%27s+had+no+knowledge+of+Ginger+and+John%27s+existance+until+they+were+fully+grown.++They+were+raised+by+another+man+believing+him+to+be+their+birth+father.++In+The+Black+Dress+book%2C+I+believe+there+was+a+hint+or+mention+or+suggestion+that+Pippa+may+have+been+expecting+at+the+time%2C+but+unfortunately+Dash+had+to+dash+away%2C+for+in+my+opinion+for+far+too+many+years.+Yes%2C+eventually+they+reunited%2C+but+why+so+long%3F++It+would+have+made+for+a+better+story+for+their+reunion+to+have+occured+maybe+as+Pippa+was+about+to+marry+at+the+church+while+she+was+about+to+say+her+I+Do%27sfor+the+sake+of+her+unborn+child%28ren%29%2C++but+Dash+comes+in+just+in+the+nick+of+time.++But+thats+just+my+opinion....+I+love+a+happy+beginning%2C+middle+and+end+of+a+love+story.

posted by RjsSupermom on June 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    LOVED IT!

    I loved it! This is my favorite Elizabeth Boyle book! It's different from most romance novels. They don't get married young and live happily ever after. They actually have seperate lives and then reunite. I love it and I will read it again and again!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A special story

    I truly enjoyed this story; Dash and Pippin were so much a part of the other stories, but theirs was no happy ending. Or will it be? Pippin had saved Dash twice from the hangman's noose, but in doing so she sacrificed them sharing a life together. For twenty-plus years they went on with separate lives, until the day Dash's son, Nate comes looking for her help. His father has become a drunk, and Nate thinks Pippen is the only one who can get through to him. Pippen still loves Dash, even though she loved her husband Brent and had a happy marriage. She agrees to help Nate, thinking that Dash is ill and dying. The book goes back and forth between 1814 and 1837, telling the story of their initial romance and what happened to separate them.

    What I especially enjoyed was that this story was not only about 20 somethings, but about 40 somethings that still want to experience life, adventure, love and especially still have a sex life. I highly recommend the book, although would suggest you read the others in the series first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a superb historical romance

    Lady Philippa "Pippin" Knolles knows she loves American privateer Captain Thomas Dashwell and has for several years since he kissed her on the smuggler's beach way back in 1810 or so; but this was no happy ending as the fickle fingers of life such as war, marriage, and children kept them apart.---------------------

    In 1837, a widow of two years Pippin welcomes her naval son home. While the Admiral boringly speaks, Pippin glances around to another ship the HMS Regina where she sees a ghost of her past on board. She faints as the young sailor looked like her dashing Dash albeit over two decades ago that is. Unable to resist she goes to find her Dash, but learns you can't go home as he is no longer the daring hero; instead he is a drunk who lives on his past glory. Hoping to save her beloved like she did just before the second war with colonials, she turns to the scandalous red dress she wore to win his love the first time; hopefully this time forever.------------------

    Lady Philippa and Captain Thomas Dashwell have been important characters throughout the Bachelor Chronicles (see CONFESSIONS OF A LITTLE BLACK GOWN, LOVE LETTERS FROM A DUKE, THIS RAKE OF MINE and TEMPTED BY THE NIGHT). Thus fans of the saga will especially appreciate this strong entry as the lead couple has changed especially Dash, but their love remains a constant. This is a superb historical that uses "flashbacks" to the Regency era, but the remarkable feat of this book and the other novels in the series is each story line is fresh and organized differently though the cast is somewhat a constant. Readers will have wonderful memoirs of Elizabeth Boyle's outstanding Chronicles for years to come.----------------

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Loved this book!

    So good!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Finally Pippin's story

    I was totally fine with the twenty year gap. I mean that was the reality of their situation. It had to be that way. Good job by the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    ROMANTIC, BUT HOPE TO SEE MORE OF THE CHARACTERS IN THE AUTHORS NEXT SERIES.

    This was a good book and I had a hard time putting it down. I loved Captain Dashwell or "Dash." I felt sorry for him in the last book so I am glad things got cleaned up in this book. I read it almost straight through. I hope the story continues on in another series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    oh aye how i've waited..

    This is my fav story from the Bachelor Chronicles. I have wanted to read about Pippin and Dash since that fateful night in Smuggler's Cove, Hastings 1810. From that very moment when he calls her his Circe. Heavens how I've wanted to read thier story. It is amazing everything that has happened to the two of them in 20 some years since that night. And for all the truths to come out. Also to be faced with having not know why such things happened and to finally find out. AMAZING!! Thanks to Dash's son Nate they are brought together again. Though of course 'tis not that easy.. And I love this book bc we get to learn in detail everything that happend between them in the other 3 books, plus so much more. I def recommend this to anyone who has read the other Bachelor Chronicles books. Please read you will not be disappointed. And I'm looking forward to reading her next book in this series - How I Met My Countess, comes out Dec 29!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Buy this!

    I loved this book. It is the end of a series and it was worth the wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2