Customer Reviews for

Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac

Average Rating 4
( 218 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Excellent read

In this book, Naomi Porter falls down a flight of stairs and hits her head. After the fall, she can't remember anything since sixth grade. She can't remember her best friend, her boyfriend, or her parent's divorce.
This book was definitely written in an intriguing way....
In this book, Naomi Porter falls down a flight of stairs and hits her head. After the fall, she can't remember anything since sixth grade. She can't remember her best friend, her boyfriend, or her parent's divorce.
This book was definitely written in an intriguing way. From the very beginning, I was hooked. Gabrielle Zevin mixes in the perfect amount of mystery and romance throughout, and I thought that it was an enjoyable, yet thought-provoking book. The character descriptions were flawless, and I was kept guessing until the end. I wasn't sure what Zevin would bring to the story, because I was slightly disappointed with Elsewhere when I read it, but she pulled this book all off in an easy way that makes this novel a quick and easy read, but one that will not soon be forgotten.

posted by Jessi-21 on September 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Not quite what I had hoped.

The moment I read the synopsis of this book in Barnes & Noble, I was hooked. The title alone was enough to kindle my curiosity, and I bought it without a second thought, in hopes that the story would captivate me as much as the cover. I chose this one as my book club ...
The moment I read the synopsis of this book in Barnes & Noble, I was hooked. The title alone was enough to kindle my curiosity, and I bought it without a second thought, in hopes that the story would captivate me as much as the cover. I chose this one as my book club novel without reading it first, and I'm sad to say that this might have been a mistake. It was not a bad book, nor was it boring. The writing was simple and delightful to read, but it was the character development that I wasn't impressed by. Sure, the main character [Naomi] grew throughout the story, but from page 200 on, I felt as if the author got tired of writing her story. Naomi just didn't seem real to me -- I couldn't relate to her at all -- and neither did her relationships with the other characters. The beginning, however, was exactly as I had hoped it would be, but towards the middle and end, I became less and less interested. I guess 3 stars will have to do, given my mixed feelings on this novel.

posted by songofthestars91 on July 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 218 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent read

    In this book, Naomi Porter falls down a flight of stairs and hits her head. After the fall, she can't remember anything since sixth grade. She can't remember her best friend, her boyfriend, or her parent's divorce.
    This book was definitely written in an intriguing way. From the very beginning, I was hooked. Gabrielle Zevin mixes in the perfect amount of mystery and romance throughout, and I thought that it was an enjoyable, yet thought-provoking book. The character descriptions were flawless, and I was kept guessing until the end. I wasn't sure what Zevin would bring to the story, because I was slightly disappointed with Elsewhere when I read it, but she pulled this book all off in an easy way that makes this novel a quick and easy read, but one that will not soon be forgotten.

    29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautifully written dealing with sensitive issues

    As you would expect from the title, it is written in 1st person narrative dropping us straight into Naomi's life following an accident where she gets a nasty head injury wiping out her memory of the past few years. Only certain aspects like all her personal life yet she can still remember things like maths & science. Funny how the brain works :)

    The book is written in 3 sections. The 1st section is called I was. It deals with Naomi trying to piece together the type of person she was before the accident. It gives her new insight into events that have occurred within the years the is unable to remember. She is also able to look back at her previous reactions objectively which helps give her a different perspective.

    The 2ND section is called I Am. Where although Naomi is still unable to remember the last few years she takes the opportunity to redefine herself into the person she feels like on the inside rather than the person everyone but herself can remember. She cuts her hair, dumps her boyfriend, drops a few things at school and starts a new relationship with James, the boy who was at the accident, finds some new friends and takes a part in the drama production. Gabrielle Zevin does a wonderful job of depicting the horror that is depression within the narrative. Although we as a reader can see that the romance between Naomi and James is doomed, you can also appreciate the qualities that draw Naomi to James. At points I literally wanted to scream at Naomi to leave James as she couldn't help him and was only hurting herself. Powerful writing to inspire that sort of reaction don't you think?

    The 3rd section is called I Will. Although Naomi regains her memory she doesn't tell anyone for awhile afraid to fit the 2 halves of herself together, the Naomi before the accident and the Naomi she created in order to redefine herself. The narrative gives wonderful insight into the difference between how we feel about ourselves and how other people see us. As Naomi comes to terms with all the events in her life she puts into practice the new perspective she has gained and discovers true love in the process.

    A beautifully written book dealing with some sensitive subjects one of which is depression. Terrific music references again. A really good read :)

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not quite what I had hoped.

    The moment I read the synopsis of this book in Barnes & Noble, I was hooked. The title alone was enough to kindle my curiosity, and I bought it without a second thought, in hopes that the story would captivate me as much as the cover. I chose this one as my book club novel without reading it first, and I'm sad to say that this might have been a mistake. It was not a bad book, nor was it boring. The writing was simple and delightful to read, but it was the character development that I wasn't impressed by. Sure, the main character [Naomi] grew throughout the story, but from page 200 on, I felt as if the author got tired of writing her story. Naomi just didn't seem real to me -- I couldn't relate to her at all -- and neither did her relationships with the other characters. The beginning, however, was exactly as I had hoped it would be, but towards the middle and end, I became less and less interested. I guess 3 stars will have to do, given my mixed feelings on this novel.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Is it weird that I wouldn't mind being an Amnesiac after reading this...lol

    This book was amazing! There is a lot of symbolism in this story as well (in the first few page you know who the love story will refer to I U typo..once you read it you will know what I mean). Will is just about the best friend that I could imagine having. He is always so understanding and always puts Naomi before himself and what he wants (obviously Naomi ). I recommend this book to all!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    It wasn't good

    I was so excited to read this book. The reviews were great, it had a high rating... Then I wasted my money on a book I wish I never took off the shelf. The story line is good, don't get me wrong, it's just...it wasn't good overall. The main character annoyed me for some odd reason, and I don't know...I just didn't like the writing style at all. If you love the author's books, then you'll probably love this one. I personally have never read any of her books and I don't think I'm going to anymore. I've read better and it just doesn't compare to my favorites. Check it out from the library before buying. I wish I did...

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2007

    Could have been good.

    The idea of a teenage amnesiac is a really good idea for book. But Noami comes off as, well, pathetic and at times bratty. You would think that losing years of your memory would make you really think about your life and you would be crazed with trying to figure out who you really were. But all she cares about throughout the book is James. Don't get me wrong, I am sucker for cute romance stories, but when he leaves her at the beach for hours, shes doesn't even care. Any normal girl with reasoning would be spiting mad. Her journey in recovering her memory was boring. I only recommend to read it if you are in the mood for a quick, easy, and non-realistic book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Anynomus

    This book sucked

    4 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    Eww!

    Man, I don't know why this book got such great reviews. It was horrible. Gabrielle Zevin GREATLY needs to learn how to write; it was painful. The story idea was good, but somehow it turned into another boring teen "He-likes-her" and "she-likes-the-same-guy-as-her" story line. I stopped half way through. Don't read it. And if you do, don't buy it. Borrow it, but don't throw away your money.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Okay Book.

    This book is interesting, it kept my attention, but it isn't that good of a book. It kind of dragged on and on very slowly which was annoying. I didn't like James because he was really strange and weak and pathetically mopey. Will was okay guy. I liked the scenes involving her parents. Overall, it was just so-so.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!! When I first read the first few pages I kind

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!! When I first read the first few pages I kinda thought that it would be boring and the story would just be slow about her not remembering anything. But it was GREAT!! I love how it turned out but one thing that I didn't like too much was the ending. It was good, I still like it but I wish it would've turned out like how I thought it would be like. But it was still a very good ending and it was like it had a message to it too. :) 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Blank

    Who ever wrote a review on February 3 and gave it one star, your teacher probably didn't let you read because you don't no how to spell. What is not spelled like wut, cuz or cause is improper it is because, and what does biut even mean. This is sad for a freshman, I would have thought you 5. By the way the book isn't that great, thats just my opinion. You could borrow it from a library if you want to try the book, but if you don't you could just not finish it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    It was Okay

    This book was alright. I remember wanting to read this book so bad but when i actually got it from the library it wasnt that great. I read this awhile ago and don't really remember the names of the characters. But, i just remember being disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    What I thought of it

    I've heard from magazines and from some close friends that this book was amazing. I was so excited to read it so I had to book it online, wait a couple weeks for it to come in the library, and as soon as I heard it was in, I was STOKED. However, when I started to read it, I lost concentration and had to force myself to read it... I was dissapointed. This isn't a very good read, espeacially if you're on a 7 hour airplane ride.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    okay...

    the book was ok.. it started out good but later james turned out to be a mentally unstable person and the ending is very cliche. stereotypical, but it's ok.. not great, nor the best.. but an ok book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    Her realtionship with James

    So in all the reviews it mentions how James says he is her bf right? He is just sying that so he could ride in the ambance after she fell. Her entire relationship with him isnt as sacdelius as all the reviews say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    Very interesting

    I read this as research ad i was doing a charactrr study about someone who has amnesia, and i ended up enjoying it much more than i originally anticipated. Very fun read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    tarrable

    If yor name is aidan and u liVe in va right

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Great Book

    This book wasn't only fictionally realistic but very intriguing from the synopsis, the first page and to the aknowledgments at the end. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Great story!

    This is a great book to show how people can change so hugely. I thought that "chief" changed well i can't imagine her differently. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    I enjoyed this book becasue this could happen to anyone at any s

    I enjoyed this book becasue this could happen to anyone at any second. Have you ever lost a coin toss? I have and it costed me dearly. I ended up having to leave my cozy warm bed to get my brother a glass of water. Well my coin toss wager did not end up like what fate had in store for Naomi. Naomi lost memories from the past four years forgetting her friends, and the drama created with family. We both picked heads and lost, but my loss wasn’t as big as hers. Zeven’s book has a way to gain your attention right from the start. The book makes you imagine you are there with Naomi and experiencing what she is going through. The decisions she makes have an affect on her life and her personality. I recommend this book to teens in middle school and high school, around Naomi age so they can under stand her more but my mother read this book to and she thought it was really good too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 218 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11