Customer Reviews for

Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Every once in a while, a book that falls outside of my normal re

    Every once in a while, a book that falls outside of my normal reading
    choices will catch my eye - something about the description or perhaps
    the cover. Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend by Matthew Dicks was one of
    those books. Did you have an imaginary friend when you were younger?
    Perhaps you still do. Maybe your child does. Max Delaney is eight years
    old and he is 'different' than the other children in his class. Although
    his father denies it, his mother has accepted that Max has Asperger's -
    a form of autism. Max has an imaginary friend named Budo who has been
    around for quite a long time now - five years. That's a long time in the
    world of imaginary friends. But Budo is worried - if Max stops
    believing in Budo, then he will he disappear? But then the unthinkable
    happens - it is Max who disappears - taken by someone who wants Max as
    their own child. And the only person who knows where Max is? Budo. But
    what can he do? He's only a figment of Max's imagination. Or is he.....
    What an utterly unique and captivating book this was! I chose to listen
    to Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend. and was glad I did. Some books are
    just better in audio format. This was especially true for this book. The
    reader was Matthew Brown and his voice was perfect. Budo is the narrator
    of this story and Brown was able to portray the innocence of Budo in his
    diction and tone, infusing his voice with much emotion and wonder.
    Truly, Budo came alive in Brown's reading. He adapted different voices
    for each of the characters, providing me with a strong mental image of
    every player. I did find the first disc to be a bit slow, as Budo's
    narrative seemed repetitive and overly basic. But, then I thought about
    it and realized that Budo is a product of Max's mind. And Max
    "lives his life mostly inside himself." Upon reflection, the
    account seemed in keeping with the way Max thinks. By the second disc,
    I was hooked. I wanted to know more about Budo, his world and the other
    friends he meets and knows. Max's story takes a bad turn and by then,
    there was no turning back. I was quite upset to have arrived at work
    already. (I listen to books on CD back and forth every day) The whole
    imaginary friend idea really makes you stop and think. Children employ
    them for various reasons and I found the inclusion of an adult imaginary
    friend quite intriguing. Dicks has done a bang up job of creating
    wonderful characters, a heartbreaking and heartwarming tale and spinning
    it into one of the most unique tales I've experienced in a long time.
    Read an excerpt of Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend. I think you're
    either going to love it or leave it. This reader loved it. It somewhat
    reminded me of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Totally believable

    The writing is so real, I found myself believing in "imaginary"friends. Love this novel as the mom of a child on the autism spectrum, but love it as a human being as well...I've found my favorite book of the year.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Budo and Max are best friends, Max created Budo from his imagina

    Budo and Max are best friends, Max created Budo from his imagination.
    Budo is Max’s imaginary friend. Budo is different from other imaginary
    friends, he’s been alive for longer than any imaginary friend he knows
    and he looks more human than a lot of imaginary friends do, that’s
    because Max is different than most boys his age. Max lives inside
    himself a lot, he doesn’t like to be touched and sometimes he get’s
    “stuck” inside himself too, this makes him a target for bullies and the
    other kids don’t know how to act around him so they mostly avoid him.
    Imaginary friends can see other imaginary friends even though they are
    only visible to the friend that created them and Budo has befriended and
    lost many imaginary friends since he’s been alive. Budo loves Max’s mom
    and dad, he loves Max’s school and most of his teachers, but not all of
    them. Budo also hopes that since Max is different that means that he
    won’t “disappear” like other imaginary friends have done, maybe Max will
    need him forever or at least a long, long time, because the one thing
    that scares Budo is disappearing. I have to admit that several things
    caught my attention about this novel, first the title and second the
    premise, so after being reeled in by those things I was totally hooked
    when I started reading the book. The narrative is intelligent, witty,
    innocent and adult. The story is told by Budo the imaginary friend of an
    8 year old suspected autistic boy named Max, we follow Max and Budo
    through their very interesting life and the lives of the people and
    imaginary friends around them, and then something happens which gives
    the novel a very different feel as they get caught up in a dangerous
    situation and how they go about getting out of it. It’s about life, it’s
    about death, it’s about being brave, being scared and doing the right
    thing even at the cost of your own survival to help those you love, it’s
    a journey into unknown danger and how to persevere. And if you’re
    anything like me by the end of the read you’ll have been dragged through
    the gauntlet of emotions and wish you had a friend like Budo too.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    My new favorite book!

    Absolutely love this, still crying warm tears. Full of love and hope. Beautiful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    A truly unforgettable story.  I finished it late last night and

    A truly unforgettable story.  I finished it late last night and wept.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a book that I really enjoyed. It was one of those that

    This is a book that I really enjoyed. It was one of those that I could not wait until I had free time to read it. In summary, It is a story told from an Imaginary Friend named Budo. Budo was created by Max and he has lived longer than most imaginary friends. Max has Aspergers. One day max is kidnapped and it is up to Budo to save him.
    The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because the language in one chapter was a little rough. He did us gd some in the book. I just felt like the language was not necessary. But other than that it is a great book and I would recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Absolutely loved the refreshing and original storyline.

    Memoirs of an imaginary friend by the imaginary friend -- how original.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    A must read!

    I knew Matthew Dick's was a magical writer after reading the first page of his first book, "Something Missing." "Memoirs is in a whole new category. Matthew Dick's has managed to capture the complexities of what it means to grow up, let go, love unconditionally.

    This book literally will make you laugh and cry, sometimes at once! Every page is an adventure and I for one cannot wait to see what brilliance Dick's brings us fans next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2012

    Wow!! What a concept! What a great story!!

    Wow!! What a concept! What a great story!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2014

    I loved this book! Such a different perspective..from the imagin

    I loved this book! Such a different perspective..from the imaginary friend of Max. Budo makes you believe in them even if you didn't. I loved that Max also is considered on the autism spectrum but was not specifically diagnosed at what level, but there were some interesting insights into what it might be like for a person who has autism. It was a WONDERFUL read, very interesting, made me laugh, cry and even hold my breath in a few places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2014

    Wish I could give more than 5 stars!

    This book touched my emotions in a way few books have ever done. I picked it up at every spare moment and yet I didn't want it to end. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend has been on my to-read list for

    Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend has been on my to-read list for over a year and a half. It likely would still be on my to-read list if my mother hadn't recently read the book and told me how great it was. Yeah, I had seen the good reviews for it on Goodreads, but it's a little different coming from my mom. So in the middle of yesterday's blackout (25 hours without power is no fun, by the way), I picked it up and began reading. The only thing I could think after I started was that I wished I would have read it sooner.

    Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend is an incredible book. It was tender and heartbreaking in a way that I couldn't have anticipated. I cried. It was just so sweet and touching that I couldn't help it. It wasn't all sad, though. There were funny moments to balance out the sadness.

    Certainly unique, the book is told through the eyes of Max's imaginary friend. I was surprised at just how real Budo was and how much I enjoyed seeing life as Budo does. It's unlike anything else I've read before and I'm not sure that anyone else could possibly come close to writing a story from an imaginary friend's POV like this one.

    Overall, I just loved this book. I recommend it to anyone searching for a touching story or something a little different than you'd normally read. Don't be like me and allow the imaginary friend POV to keep you from reading a book for months on end.

    You can read all of my reviews on my blog, KDH Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Wonderful!

    Wonderful!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Amazing read

    A clever and touching story...I loved it from beginning to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Powerful!

    The world through the eyes of an imaginary friend...kept me turning the pages. The best novel i have read in 2014!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Wow

    A very powerfull book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    Max is on the autism spectrum (no specific diagnosis is offered

    Max is on the autism spectrum (no specific diagnosis is offered or necessary) and his imaginary friend Budo tells the story in an elementary-school voice but with (inadvertent) adult insight. It is fascinating to learn about the world of imaginary friends, as well as to hear Budo explain Max's perspective on his world. The main dramatic plot is leavened with lots of humor and a number of interesting subplots. The story moves quickly and, once started, you'll be reluctant to put this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Mmemiors of an Imaginary Friend

    I loved this book.Warm, funny, and insightful at once. Keen insight on autism, but an easy,fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Recommended for middle school not for adults

    Choosing to tell the story through the eyes of an imaginary friend is interesting. But making this friend the narrator didn't work. It made the narrator and everyone around him unidimensional and a little flat.

    This would be an excellent book to read for a middle schooler. There is some suspense and it touches on an universal childhood fear, but never becomes brutal or too scary. Because it stays PG, it misses the complexity to be considered a book targeted for adults.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    So inventive

    This has to be one of the most creative books I've ever read. I'm not usually a fan of "fantasy" fiction but this book blew me away. Budo and Max are possibly my new favorite literary couple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2