Customer Reviews for

Memories of Ice (Malazan Book of the Fallen Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 69 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended-A Fine Continuation of the Series

Memories of Ice is a very well done book that introduces some exciting new characters and continues the adventures left off in the first novel, Gardens of the Moon. This third book in the Malazan Book of the Fallen series is a great continuation of the series and follow...
Memories of Ice is a very well done book that introduces some exciting new characters and continues the adventures left off in the first novel, Gardens of the Moon. This third book in the Malazan Book of the Fallen series is a great continuation of the series and follows Dujek's outlawed army in their war against the fanatic Pannion Domin. If you enjoy the books by Rober Jordan or George RR Martin then this series is a fine example of epic fiction that I cannot recommend highly enough. It is however not a stand alone novel and builds heavily on the two books that preceed it so Gardens of the Moon and Deadhouse Gates are very much a prerequisite for this book.

posted by Alexander_DuNorde on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nook version was not proofread

I have not finished the book yet, but I am very disappointed with the Nook version, as it's obvious it was OCRed and then not proofread. Italics stop and restart randomly, punctuation is missing in droves, and worst of all, "Mom" is written instead of "Morn" in several...
I have not finished the book yet, but I am very disappointed with the Nook version, as it's obvious it was OCRed and then not proofread. Italics stop and restart randomly, punctuation is missing in droves, and worst of all, "Mom" is written instead of "Morn" in several places. An obvious lack of quality control means I can't recommend the Nook version from B&N.

posted by 9552593 on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 4, 2011

    Highly Recommended-A Fine Continuation of the Series

    Memories of Ice is a very well done book that introduces some exciting new characters and continues the adventures left off in the first novel, Gardens of the Moon. This third book in the Malazan Book of the Fallen series is a great continuation of the series and follows Dujek's outlawed army in their war against the fanatic Pannion Domin. If you enjoy the books by Rober Jordan or George RR Martin then this series is a fine example of epic fiction that I cannot recommend highly enough. It is however not a stand alone novel and builds heavily on the two books that preceed it so Gardens of the Moon and Deadhouse Gates are very much a prerequisite for this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Nook version was not proofread

    I have not finished the book yet, but I am very disappointed with the Nook version, as it's obvious it was OCRed and then not proofread. Italics stop and restart randomly, punctuation is missing in droves, and worst of all, "Mom" is written instead of "Morn" in several places. An obvious lack of quality control means I can't recommend the Nook version from B&N.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    TERRITORY MARKER

    ~Prid&epsilon of th&epsilon Fallen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Unbelievably Epic Series

    Truly awe inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2013

    Great series, but the eBook is poorly done...

    The Malazan Book of the Fallen series is amazing, if you are reading this review then you already know that, otherwise you wouldn't have made it to book three. What keeps this NOOK eBook from getting a five star rating from me are the punctuation and spelling errors, this is the worst I've seen from B&N so far, and it is little wonder that they lost out to the Kindle and other eReaders. I bought a damn NOOK, though, so I'll stick with it for now, should have done my homework, I guess. Anyway, kudos to Mr. Erikson, I am loving this series and cannot believe it took me this long to run across it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2013

    Time Filler Fantasy

    Each time I read a book in the Malazan Book of the Fallen series, I say that I wouldn't recommend it to a friend, but, then, why do I keep buying books in the series? They are large fantasy books that are set in a large fantasy world. Sometimes I feel like the world they are in deserves more explanation, but the characters keep drawing me in and I just buy the next one in the series. I'm reading number 4 right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Read volumes 1 & 2 before you get to this absorbing fantasy

    Terrific, edge of your seat narrative of a world of war, sorcery and religions, where the past is never past; dormant, perhaps, but the soul and stuff of the present.
    Lots of characters; it's not always easy to keep them straight, especially since the characters change.
    Thick with believable and consistent details.
    The main relationships are of soldiers to their comrades and war.
    And the only thing I wished for were relationships and community outside the context of war. really, I'd give it 4.5 stars if such nuances were possible on the scale.
    Erikson knows how to tell a story and keep you turning the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Series equaling warhammers scope

    This is how a series of tense action, heartache, thrills, and terror should be written. The vastness of whats going on with the ease of remembering each part is amazing. Truley worth every dollar and more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Typos on Nook version.

    Excellent book ruined by ridiculous typos .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Excellent

    Top Notch...Excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Amazingly amazing

    I'm writing this without even finishing the book yet. No words can actually express my amazement with this series and this book. I would recommend it to anyone who has even a remote interest in fantasy. Pretty much perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Probably the best story I've ever read

    I was introduced to this world by a friend and it is amazing. The story itself is so captivating that i lost sleep reading it! The characters are so well developed that you begin to look at them as friends and in the finale, a bitter sweet tale is woven. I would highly recommend it to anyone, fantasy fan or not. Be prepared to be emotionally invested in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    This book broke my heart.

    You should read it anyway. I think I am taking a break from this series for a minute. Nice to finally know why Quick Ben is considered such an awesome mage though. Among other things. Highly recommended series, but be prepared to actually feel something from reading a book. A trick turned too little these days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2011

    Best malazan book so far

    This is the best Malazan book so far. I enjoyed the first book, and was getting bored with the second, but this book really picked up. I'd recommend it if you like this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Done Very Well - Get One

    Got this on my shelf and I've read it twice. I suggest reading it a second time, lots of little things are easy to miss the first time. At least for me lol. A lot of cool characters... can't do this one justice. Don't pass it up if you can avoid it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    Memories of Ice does not leave you frozen!

    The story continues and each episode is better than the last. In this book, you will become closer to the characters. Erikson has a soul wrenching depth for emotions-human and non. You will love his characters-good and evil. Best reading yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    awesome series, best book so far

    The Malazan World is so deep and rich, you'll get lost in it. in this book a lot of the past is revealed. this book as with all in the series introduced a couple new characters that you grow to love and, will make you love some old characters even more. the mix of plot and characters made Memories of Ice the most fun to read out of the series. but its only the 3rd book in many books to go! =D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    Excellent

    This book weaves new and old threads from the previous books together into a very enjoyable, meaty, and well managed set of story lines. Steven Erikson manages to overcome the intrinsic feeling of discontinuity that most books with multiple story lines suffer by giving the reader a good sense of their interconnectedness. The richness of texture that each convey results to some extent from well thought out and crafted 'behind the scenes' action of which the reader is given tantalizing glimpses. To get the most from this book, read the first two. This is the best Fantasy/Soldier series since Glen Cook's The Black Company.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    Despite some things I didn't like I couldn't stop turning the pages.

    I sometimes find myself lost in the story's complexity. I think I'm getting the general idea that the gods of this world have a more direct relationship with the mortals then what we're used-to, and that the tale here really started hundreds of thousands of years ago. Also, sometimes when it seems like I've missed something it eventually comes together, more or less. I also get very frustrated over the lack of visual descriptions. That may be only my own personal pet-peeve, because I have this complaint for a lot of today's fantasy writers. It's just bothersome to me when I'm trying to enter a fantasy world and the creator doesn't always paint a good picture of its creatures or the characters. I'm infuriated when I surrender to the fact that I'm just going have to go with my best idea of what something looks like, and then a description comes pages after it has been introduced and I find I'm way-off. That's if you get a description at all. Usually those things are enough for me to stop reading a book mid-way through and go find something more to my liking, but not with The Malazan Book of the Fallen. Erikson is still telling a great story despite my personal problems with the details. What he lacks for in visuals, he makes-up for in action and gritty dialog. You can't help but admire the boot-leather-tough characters, with their true soldier-mentalities. The Bridge-burners have that by the wagon-load. You can never tell who to trust or who to kill when you've got the chance. Erikson has woven a great, complex tapestry from many courageous threats of individual glory and honor. I've been drafted by the Malazan army, and like the rest of these poor troopers, I'll have to see this thing through to the last battle. That's not because I'm above desertion either. I'm ashamed to say I've been tempted, but I'm too damned loyal to these guys for that now. So you can't say you weren't properly warned. Be careful, or you'll be slooshin' along, belly-aching about the lousy grub, and lack of sleep, and be expected to hold your own when the fighting starts along with the rest of us. Who knows? Maybe you'll survive to collect your back-pay. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    Staggering

    I've been a fan of the fantasy genre for a long time and I've read most of the big names and important books out there and so this book came as a major shock to me. Memories of Ice is a book for adults. The characters are detailed and memorable and each one seems to come to life as the story progresses. The world is beautifuly created and feels as real as our own. The story is gripping, the action breathtaking and the deaths of some characters is painful. The only drawback to this book is that it can make you realise just how two-dimensional and childish many of the other 'Great' books in my collection really are. The only essential book I've read in the last five years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4