Customer Reviews for

Memories of Ice (Malazan Book of the Fallen Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended-A Fine Continuation of the Series

Memories of Ice is a very well done book that introduces some exciting new characters and continues the adventures left off in the first novel, Gardens of the Moon. This third book in the Malazan Book of the Fallen series is a great continuation of the series and follow...
Memories of Ice is a very well done book that introduces some exciting new characters and continues the adventures left off in the first novel, Gardens of the Moon. This third book in the Malazan Book of the Fallen series is a great continuation of the series and follows Dujek's outlawed army in their war against the fanatic Pannion Domin. If you enjoy the books by Rober Jordan or George RR Martin then this series is a fine example of epic fiction that I cannot recommend highly enough. It is however not a stand alone novel and builds heavily on the two books that preceed it so Gardens of the Moon and Deadhouse Gates are very much a prerequisite for this book.

posted by Alexander_DuNorde on November 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nook version was not proofread

I have not finished the book yet, but I am very disappointed with the Nook version, as it's obvious it was OCRed and then not proofread. Italics stop and restart randomly, punctuation is missing in droves, and worst of all, "Mom" is written instead of "Morn" in several...
I have not finished the book yet, but I am very disappointed with the Nook version, as it's obvious it was OCRed and then not proofread. Italics stop and restart randomly, punctuation is missing in droves, and worst of all, "Mom" is written instead of "Morn" in several places. An obvious lack of quality control means I can't recommend the Nook version from B&N.

posted by 9552593 on October 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 2, 2015

    Highly recommended

    Erikson's Malazan books count among my favorites these days. For readers who stick with him beyond the first book, rich treasures await. The stories are compelling and exciting, and the author skillfully, seamlessly weaves several satisfying subplots around the central story. Never a dull moment. I think he also successfully captures, in the Bridgeburners, that insultory esprit de corps found among men and women who fight for a living.

    If you've invested thus far in Erikson's series you're my kind of reader, and will not be disappointed by Memories of Ice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Yia

    Patrols here and moves on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Unbelievably Epic Series

    Truly awe inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Series equaling warhammers scope

    This is how a series of tense action, heartache, thrills, and terror should be written. The vastness of whats going on with the ease of remembering each part is amazing. Truley worth every dollar and more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Typos on Nook version.

    Excellent book ruined by ridiculous typos .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2012

    Excellent

    Top Notch...Excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Amazingly amazing

    I'm writing this without even finishing the book yet. No words can actually express my amazement with this series and this book. I would recommend it to anyone who has even a remote interest in fantasy. Pretty much perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Probably the best story I've ever read

    I was introduced to this world by a friend and it is amazing. The story itself is so captivating that i lost sleep reading it! The characters are so well developed that you begin to look at them as friends and in the finale, a bitter sweet tale is woven. I would highly recommend it to anyone, fantasy fan or not. Be prepared to be emotionally invested in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    This book broke my heart.

    You should read it anyway. I think I am taking a break from this series for a minute. Nice to finally know why Quick Ben is considered such an awesome mage though. Among other things. Highly recommended series, but be prepared to actually feel something from reading a book. A trick turned too little these days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Done Very Well - Get One

    Got this on my shelf and I've read it twice. I suggest reading it a second time, lots of little things are easy to miss the first time. At least for me lol. A lot of cool characters... can't do this one justice. Don't pass it up if you can avoid it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2010

    Memories of Ice does not leave you frozen!

    The story continues and each episode is better than the last. In this book, you will become closer to the characters. Erikson has a soul wrenching depth for emotions-human and non. You will love his characters-good and evil. Best reading yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    awesome series, best book so far

    The Malazan World is so deep and rich, you'll get lost in it. in this book a lot of the past is revealed. this book as with all in the series introduced a couple new characters that you grow to love and, will make you love some old characters even more. the mix of plot and characters made Memories of Ice the most fun to read out of the series. but its only the 3rd book in many books to go! =D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    Excellent

    This book weaves new and old threads from the previous books together into a very enjoyable, meaty, and well managed set of story lines. Steven Erikson manages to overcome the intrinsic feeling of discontinuity that most books with multiple story lines suffer by giving the reader a good sense of their interconnectedness. The richness of texture that each convey results to some extent from well thought out and crafted 'behind the scenes' action of which the reader is given tantalizing glimpses. To get the most from this book, read the first two. This is the best Fantasy/Soldier series since Glen Cook's The Black Company.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    Staggering

    I've been a fan of the fantasy genre for a long time and I've read most of the big names and important books out there and so this book came as a major shock to me. Memories of Ice is a book for adults. The characters are detailed and memorable and each one seems to come to life as the story progresses. The world is beautifuly created and feels as real as our own. The story is gripping, the action breathtaking and the deaths of some characters is painful. The only drawback to this book is that it can make you realise just how two-dimensional and childish many of the other 'Great' books in my collection really are. The only essential book I've read in the last five years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2004

    Book #3 is better than 1 & 2 combined

    I've read fantasy for over 20 years. From Tolkien to Brooks...from Moorcock to Guy Gavriel Kay...from Jordan to Keyes. This series, which does owe a bit to Glen Cook's series (but not a ripoff at all like Goodkind to Jordan's series)...this book starts where Gardens of the Moon (book 1) leaves off. Paran, the Bridgeburners, Quick Ben, Kruppe, Anomander Rake, Whiskeyjack...they all play big parts as they begin to set off to the new threat of the Pannion Seer. New allies come onboard...the Grey Swords...the Barghast White Faces....but with much cost and their own issues. This is not your grandfather's fairy tale...these are adults with issues and flaws which affect others. This is not a happy tale. This is a tale of war, battles, victories, defeats, mayhem, and honor. This is Platoon meeting Fantasy. Told from the warriors. Gods are humanlike and falliable...playing their games, but also very flawed and power-hungry, themselves. In a time where we are in a place of uncertainity with terrorism and a world at large that is out of control, this series carries great power, insight and a realism that most fantasy books lack, or can't even touch. These are complex characters, with complex thoughts, and not always laid out for you like a connect-the-dots. And BOOK 3 is a fantastic over 1000 pg. tome that simply redefines the genre itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2003

    Wow

    I have read all three and I must saym, anthropolgy (sp?) must be a great field to do this from because these books are stellar. If you like any kind of Fantasy check out these three books and hope that more of the same caliber follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3