Customer Reviews for

The Memorist (Reincarnationist Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 8, 2010

    Glad this is a series

    Having not read any of the previous series, I was pleased I could jump right in and not spend half of my time being reintroduced to the characters. Quirky, exciting and fun it is a great escape read and I found myself involved with most of the characters.
    The plot was original and a nice break from the usual mystery/thriller books available. I look forward to reading the entire series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Very well written

    Absolutely love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Well Paced and Interesting

    "The Mem­o­rist" by M.J. Rose is the sec­ond in fic­tional "The Rein­car­na­tion­ist" series. As in the first book, this one also deals with past lives and the mys­tery behind them.

    Meers Logan is haunted by night­mares which seem vivid and real. She can smell, see and hear faint music which she can't put her fin­ger on. When an enve­lope addressed to the Phoenix Foun­da­tion, which is ded­i­cated to recov­ery of past life mem­o­ries, Meers rec­og­nize the box which she spent years imagining.

    Meers is deter­mained to unlock the mys­tery and trav­els to Vienna to recover the lost mem­ory Flute linked to the great com­poser Lud­wig van Beethoven.

    I liked "The Rein­car­na­tion­ist" and "The Mem­o­rist" by M. J. Rose didn't dis­ap­point either. When I saw that the book starts out quot­ing the Zohar I imme­di­ately knew that the author has done her research.

    While "The Mem­o­rist" is a bit slower than the pre­vi­ous novel, I thought the story was more inter­est­ing, the char­ac­ters are more fleshed out and Vienna comes alive. Some of the char­ac­ters from the first novel make an appear­ance, and even have an impor­tant role, how­ever one need not read the first book to enjoy this one (even tough I would rec­om­mend it).

    Ms. Rose com­plied a bunch of beliefs about rein­car­na­tion from sev­eral reli­gions and reli­gious texts and did a great job com­bin­ing them and explain­ing some com­plex the­ol­ogy in sim­ple terms.

    On a side note: I loved that Ms. Rose incor­po­rated Beethoven's Immor­tal Beloved into this book. From some rea­son I just got a kick out of it when it "clicked".

    If you fol­low my blog you know that I enjoy a diverse range of books and am not afraid to tackle dif­fi­cult and long books. One of the main rea­sons I enjoy these books is because they intro­duce me to a con­cept that is con­tro­ver­sial and not part of the main­stream. While I don't know if I believe in rein­car­na­tion (though it sure would be nice) I still find it inter­est­ing to read about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Enjoyed it More Than the First Book

    This book is the second in a series partially about a society of researchers studying and exploring reincarnation. I enjoyed both, but liked this one more than the first. The historical sections seemed more real to me in this sequel. The stories in three time periods are woven together well and relate in a way that cleverly shows how souls might truly be bound to each other throughout time in order to learn life's lessons. Karma, justice, and love eventually (though often painfully) prevail in the end.
    Michael Travis Jasper, Author of the Novel "To Be Chosen"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    Excellent Read - Reminds Me of Dan Brown

    I enjoyed the complexity and suspense of this book and would recommend it to Dan Brown fans. M.J. Rose obviously did a tremendous amount of research to make this book so enjoyable. I look forward to reading the others in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Enjoyable

    Read her first book and it makes this one much better. Fun read the two books make a great gift for readers who like the reincarnation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great follow up

    This is the second in the sries and doesn't disappoint. I had never heard of M.J. Rose until a friend gave me The Reincarnationist. I had never been interested in reincarnation but the history aspect sounded good. I'm glad I gave it a shot and was thrilled when the new book came out. The story of both books is intriging and fast-paced. The characters are fully developed and real. Give this series a shot and you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Makes you think

    The author did it again, another amazing book. The memorist follows another set of individuals who again are highly believable and make you care about what happens to them. The basis for the book, again, is reincarnation. Written in such an elegant manner that it leaves you wondering about the basis for the ideas and philosophy behind reincarnation. I picked the book up just 4 days ago and finished all 107 chapters of it. It was such a good book that I just couldn't put it down. I would recommend this and The Reincarnationist as a holiday gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Haunting Tale

    The Memorist is Ms. Rose's second novel in her Reincarnationist series. It follows the Reincarnationist as secret societies search for the elusive memory tools. Meer Logan is a woman who has been haunted by broken memories since being a small child, while on a job in Vienna she is enfolded into a mystery that along with her father and renowned reincarnationist Malachai Samuels (The Reincarnationist) she will try to solve. Enter David an Israeli journalist with more on his agenda than writing a story. With the help of a multitude of characters this story comes to life as Meer risks her life to solve this mystery that could possibly end the memories that still haunt her.<BR/>In her unique style Ms. Rose gives us an unforgettable story with characters that will stay with you as she takes us through the twists and turns of this exciting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2008

    superb thriller

    As a youngster, Meer Logan only drew pictures of what looked like a treasure chest. Her family obviously noticing the pattern asked her why she insisted on drawing only this object. Meer explained that she had seen it before although no one including her could figure out when her parents assumed it was youthful imagination though they were somewhat concerned with her seemingly compulsive behavior disorder. Now an adult, Meer¿s sixty-five year old dad Jeremy, known as the ¿Jewish Indiana Jones¿ and who works in a Vienna auction house found the box listed in an auction catalogue. Inside the box is a letter that leads Jeremy to conclude that the artifact once was owned by Beethoven's beloved. Meer heads to Austria where memories flood her mind starting with the same flute tune that makes her wonder if she was Beethoven¿s lover in a previous life. As father and daughter seek a mystical flute, a murder and the stealing of the box and its letter makers both of them fear someone has a different fate in store for them. --- THE MEMORIST is much more complex than the exhilarating THE REINCARNATIONIST, as M.J. Rose provides a superb thriller. There are several subplots that converge on Meer who like her dad begins to believe in her previous life. Meer, her dad and several other support players are fully developed so that the audience believes in all the seemingly paranormal nuances. Set aside plenty of time as this is not a fast read, but worth the time as THE MEMORIST is memorable. --- Harriet Klausner

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2