Customer Reviews for

A Memory Between Us (Wings of Glory Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    This is book two in the Wings of Glory series about the Novak br

    This is book two in the Wings of Glory series about the Novak brothers who serve as bomber pilots in WWII. Most of this story takes place in England.

    In this second book we meet Major Jack Novak, pilot on a B-17 bomber plane.
    When Jack gets injured and lands in the hospital, he meets Army Nurse Lieutenant Ruth Doherty. Jack is determined to win Ruth's heart. But Ruth is not interested in men. Eventually they become friends, but Ruth cannot give more of herself to Jack, because of something awful that happened to her 8 years ago.

    Jack also has fears from his past. Both Jack and Ruth let their fears control their actions and it drives them apart.
    Can they let go of their fears and give it all in God's hands? Or will their own need to be in control keep them separated?

    Sarah writes so beautifully that I imagined myself in the B-17 together with Jack and his crew. I also went trough the training for Flying Nurse with Ruth. That was tough, I think I never would have made it!

    Although the subjects in this book were pretty tough, there was much to learn from Jack and Ruth about love, faith, and forgiveness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2010

    2nd in Wings of Glory series is epic love story

    A Memory Between Us by Sarah Sundin is the second book in the Wings of Glory series about fighter pilots in World War II. Jack Novak knows he's good at flying planes and leading his squadron of men in England; he's never faced a battle he lost, until he meets Ruth Doherty. Ruth, an army nurse, is well-known for keeping men at arm's length. Her terrible secret wars with her attraction to Jack.She keeps such a wall around her heart that the only friend she has on the base is May. May and Jack's best friend Charlie quickly hit it off, but they are separated by a terrible mistake Jack makes to save his pride. Ruth's need to financially support her younger siblings at home forces her to take a higher paying and higher risk job as a flight nurse, but the worst risk may come from those she is supposed to be working with, rather than Nazi guns. Sundin has written a beautiful and epic love story. Filled with historical detail and plenty of slang, the reader feels transported to WWII. Ruth's secret is terrible and tragic, and the scene when Jack confronts her with it brought tears to my eyes. The story has action, romance, drama, and faith- what more could a reader ask for?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2014

    Great Series

    This book is about the middle brother, who seems to be able to do just about anything with little effort. Women always seem to fall for him until he meets one who does not fall for him. He will conspire to win her over, but when he learns her secret, he is gone. You will love the story and how everything comes together. God has a plan for each of us in His own time and way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    RULES AND MORE

    <p>we are not an evil clan we are good <p>we do not bully or ignore other clanmates <p>be sure to have a signature next to your name just in case an imposter comes by <p>post and update bios <p>have fun <p>do not curse or use any foul languege <p>do not act as if we are texting example:lol omg ttyl some people will not understand you <p>be active you <p>CLAN INFORMATION <p>meetings are held every saturday and may be subject to change if by any causes <p>MAP <p>res 1 main grounds res2rules and map res3 bios res4med cat den res5warriors den res6apprentice den res7leaders den res8queens den res9elders den res10training hollow res11woods res12cave res13lake res14deep woods res15border <p>HAVE FUN AT HEAT CLAN

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Grimm

    Res three like i said

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    An amazing read

    This book was absolutely gripping. From start to finish it only took me two days, I just could not put it down. It was amazing to see how the characters developed and changed throughout the war. It was also nice to see their relationships with God through the story. It a wonderful book, just like the first one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Masterfully Told Tale of Wartime Love

    Sarah Sundin has done it again. If you thought her debut novel, A Distant Melody, was good, you'll love A Memory Between Us. It's as good or even better. Sundin's latest story is set in and above Europe at the height of WWII. Her gripping tale had my heart pounding as I turned the pages with a speed that rivaled the props on her hero's B-17. And talk about a hero. Talented bomber pilot Major Jack Novak is an awesome mix of ability, bravery, and confidence-a little too much confidence at times, which threatens to cost him dearly. Army nurse Lieutenant Ruth Dougherty is a strong heroine with a fragile core, totally likable, but a bit too self-reliant at times, until situations cause her to turn to the Lord for her protection. Sundin has created characters with incredible depth, an action-packed story, and an accurate yet tastefully portrayed depiction of war-torn Europe. I wasn't a real fan of WWII romance until I read Sundin's work, but she's changed all that. I'll read anything she writes because I'm guaranteed an emotionally satisfying experience from this gifted storyteller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WWII Excitement and Romance - Highly Recommended

    I had the privilege of interviewing Sarah Sundin, on our radio show "Kingdom Highlights", for her new book, "A Memory Between Us" Book Two in the Wings Of Glory series published by Revell.

    In her new book, Ms. Sundin returns us to England in 1943 where we are re-introduced to LT. Ruth Doherty (who we met briefly in the first book, which you do not need to read to enjoy this one but you should because it is equally terrific). Ruth is a nurse who has a strict policy of not dating. Major Jack Novak is an American B-17 bombers and is hit by shrapnel during a bombing run and is assigned to Ruth's ward for his convalesence.

    "A Memory Between Us" is an exciting book. Ms. Sundin takes us on bombing runs that make us feel as though we are in the cockpit with the characters and we feel the bullets hitting the plane and the roar of the engines. As exciting as the story is the romance between Ruth and Jack takes top priority as each of them has an event in their lives that has marked them and has caused a rift between them and God. Now God is trying to undo the damage that the first event caused so that their relationship with Him can be healed and then the relationship between them can truly begin. Ms. Sundin really knows how to make a scene come alive. I told her in the interview that there is one scene that is so real that you feel emotionally drained after it is finished. The supporting characters are just great you fall in love with Charlie and May and root for them as much as Jack and Ruth. Ms. Sundin has done it again and I recommend this book highly.

    If you missed the interview for "A Memory Between Us" and would like to listen to it please go to Kingdom Highlights where it is available On Demand.

    To listen to 24 Christian music please visit our internet radio station Kingdom Airwaves

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Revell. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Available September 2010 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    Perfect blend of love and war

    Sarah Sundin is one of my favorite historical fiction authors! I love this book for several reasons. The characters are well-rounded, multi-dimensional, and the author lets us see glimpses of the past which makes them who they are today. Aviation and army nursing history comes alive in this book. Even if you're not a "history buff" you will find it fascinating. The plot is well-paced. It twists and turns in all the right places, and just when you think a neat and tidy resolution is around the corner, a new development keeps you guessing and turning the pages.
    Finally, it's a World War 2 romance. That's enough for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love in the Midst of War

    A Memory Between Us by Sarah Sundin, the sequel to A Distant Melody, begins during WWII, March 3, 1943. Lt. Penelope Ruth Doherty, R.N., aka, Ruth, is tending to the wounded at 2nd Evacuation Hospital, Huntingdonshire, England. Being a beautiful redhead, she is constantly having to ignore the woof whistles from the wounded men. It's here that she meets Major Jack Novak.

    Major Jack Novak, injured in his tush by enemy flak, is different from the other men, and a touch of innocent romance begins to bud between them. However, difficult times from Ruth's past makes it hard for her to commit to a relationship, especially during the war. Yet Major Novak makes her his 'second mission' while serving.

    This is my first book by Sarah, and I was pleasantly surprised by all the intricacies of the story. Her clarity of war maneuvers, actual air battle scenes, intricate medical care, the underlying planning throughout the war, and the delicacy of romantic scenes and interactions are phenomenal. Whether following the men on their dangerous and deadly missions or dealing with romance, her book kept me engaged and captivated.

    The development of her characters build throughout the story line. We learn more and more of each one, particularly understanding the fears of both Ruth and Jack, which tend to undermine their relationship. Will Jack set aside his pride and listen to his friends? Can Ruth open her heart once more? Follow along, as Sarah discloses the secrets of both.

    Sarah's underlying message of trusting in the Lord brings out the true nature of each character in a manner that challenges you to confront your own faith. How much do you trust the Lord for your everyday circumstances, as well as eternal life?

    This book was provided by Donna from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group, in exchange for my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Memory Between Us

    A Memory Between Us is a awesome book of the redemptive power of God! I loved the first book in this series and was absolutely amazed at this story.

    A beautiful young nurse, Ruth Doherty with a no nonsense approach to life, and a no dating rule, finds herself in the sites of the great Jack Novak. He is convinced no matter what she says, he can make her fall in love with him. What he doesn't know, is that behind that frigid countenance is a young woman who is shattered and convinced she is so broken and that no one would ever want her if they knew her truly.

    Jack, a pilot/pastor is so full of himself that he cannot see that pride has taken a stronghold over his life. His friend Charlie, tries to tell him, but to no avail. Only when his pride causes him to make a call that ends up costing the lives of twenty plus, including Charlie, does Jack wake up and face the facts. Unfortunately this awakening also comes with the truth about the beautiful young nurse. His rejection and condemnation breaks her heart, but the war must go on, and so must she.

    Will God heal Ruth's brokenness, will Jack realize that his condemnation is not of God? Will they come through this war intact, physically, emotionally and spiritually.

    A beautiful love story, Sarah Sundin truly has blessed us with the telling of this wonderful story. A book you will NOT want to miss! 432 pages US $14.99 5 stars

    Available September 2010 where your favorite Revell books are sold.

    This book was provided for review purposes only.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Read it and be blessed.

    Although this is book two of Wings of Glory each book stands alone. Sarah is a master storyteller and I was not easily able to put the book down once I started reading it. Ruth at first comes across as cold because of the shield she has built to keep from getting hurt or distracted from her duty towards her siblings. Ruth's roommate Mae knew they needed each other's friendship and she did not give up. I appreciate the thread between Ruth and Mae because I believe in the importance of friendships between women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Memory Between Us

    A Memory Between Us is set in England in 1943. Its a WWII historical fiction that is rich with detail, believable characters, and a story that gives us a glimpse of the wars aviation history.

    Jack Novak is a cocky self assured pilot, he has always loved to fly and enjoys being in the military.He has two other brothers that are military men as well, one just being sent home due to an injury. Back at home in California his dad is a preacher, and it has just been expected that Jack will become a minister as well.

    When Jack is injured during a maneuver he lands in a military hospital where he meets Lt. Ruth Doherty a nurse at the hospital. She has had a difficult life, with both parents deceased, she sends all her money home to support her younger brothers and sisters. She has problems in her past that makes her determined to keep all men at arms length, but her kind and compassionate spirit soon has Jack falling for her. Will the issues she has hidden in her past keep them apart, or can Jack find a way to win her heart?

    This was a very fast paced story rich with such details about the war that you can really envision Jack as he pilots his plane and the sheer determination he felt when he needed to get the job done, and the pain and anguish when he felt as if he let a friend down. When Jack and Charlie take Ruth and May up for their flight and show them around you feel as if your right there with them.

    I really enjoyed the secondary characters and their stories, when I read May's backstory my heart broke for her and when Ruth realized how simular their backgrounds were she finally let May in, and finally has a friend. I really enjoyed the little lessons from the bible we are given thruout this book, I particularly enjoyed Ruch comparing Jack to Boaz.
    Even though this book is the second in the Wings Of Glory series this is a totally stand alone novel, even though I didn't read the first one I had no problem getting right into this story.

    An intriguing story filled with emotion. I can't wait to read the next book in this amazing series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    A TOUCHING INSPIRATIONAL HISTORICAL ROMANCE!

    A MEMORY BETWEEN US by Sarah Sundar is a Inspirational Historical Romance set in England, 1943. It is well written with details, depth, historical accounts, and fast paced. It is the second book in the Wings of Glory series.It has an emotional romance, faith, pride,secrets, World War II, army hospitals, nurses, air pilots, love, forgiveness, sacrifice and World War II aviation history.The hero, Jack, is an ace pilot, prideful, handsome, determined,called Preach, has a loving family with two other brothers who are all in the Military, a father who is a Preacher and wants Jack who is his namesake to become one also. Jake loves military life, flying, the thrill of adventure and danger in flying over France and the enemy. When he lands in an army hospital after his plane crashes. He meets Ruth, our heroine, who has secrets, orphaned, with siblings back home she takes care of, beautiful, determined never to give her heart to any man,and has been hurt. While she tries not of fall for Jack, Jack is determined to win her heart. This is a touching story of faith, pain, healing, learning to trust and giving your heart to another. This is a powerful love story that takes you on a journey of forgiveness and trusting in God and your faith. I would highly recommend this book. This book was received for review and details can be found at Revell and My Book Addiction and More.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    Savvy and Stellar

    As I anticipated the release of Book 2 of the Wings of Glory Series, I didn't see how Sarah could possibly live up to her debut novel, A Distant Melody, but she did. She skillfully portrays Major Jack Novak as a man who is driven to succeed both in his military career as a WWII pilot and in his desire to win the heart of Lieutenant Ruth Doherty, the Army nurse who cares for him when his plane crashes. Ruth's determination to forget her past and care for her orphaned siblings, though, is her top priority, and she is not swayed by the major's relentless pursuit. The chemistry that sparks between them is authentic and tender, warm and witty.

    There is an indefinable quality to Sarah's story telling. She drew me in with her meticulous detail of the medical world Ruth inhabits, the British setting, historical context (the chapter on D-Day had me biting my nails), and Jack's life as a decorated pilot. Novels that have this sort of magical "it" are hard to find, but this one is a treasure. I give it a high recommendation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1