BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Memory Keeper's Daughter

Average Rating 3.5
( 815 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(237)

4 Star

(238)

3 Star

(174)

2 Star

(112)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

What type of book are you looking for?

I've read a lot of people being disappointed in this book and then some who loved it. It all depends on what your looking for. The book was not what I was looking for but it was still a good book. I read to escape every day life and disappointments and this book puts ...
I've read a lot of people being disappointed in this book and then some who loved it. It all depends on what your looking for. The book was not what I was looking for but it was still a good book. I read to escape every day life and disappointments and this book puts you in real life. It was very sad and depressing to see how lies and regrets will affect your future. I was crying by the time the book was done. Don't get me wrong its a good story but very sad and depressing.

posted by Anonymous on August 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

I Hated It

Wow, where do I start? This book was incredibly dull, and I dreaded having to read it, but I was determined to finish it, hoping that it would finally get interesting. What a letdown. It started off very good and then as the years progressed, and Norah ke...
Wow, where do I start? This book was incredibly dull, and I dreaded having to read it, but I was determined to finish it, hoping that it would finally get interesting. What a letdown. It started off very good and then as the years progressed, and Norah kept whining about the loss of a child that she didn't even know she had, mind you - she had no clue she even had a second child until her husband told her - I could understand grieving for a little bit after the fact, but 20 years later, get over it. I felt the emotions were contrived, as if the author was trying to coax empathy from the reader, and it just wasn't happening. I hated the parents and when the book focused on them, because it just dragged and went nowhere. I did enjoy the Caroline/Phoebe story-line a bit more, but overall, this book was one major snooze-fest. The plot had so much potential to become a fantastic read, but unfortunately, Kim Edwards killed it with lame characters, and way too many metaphors. It was just awful.

posted by Anonymous on August 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 815 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    What type of book are you looking for?

    I've read a lot of people being disappointed in this book and then some who loved it. It all depends on what your looking for. The book was not what I was looking for but it was still a good book. I read to escape every day life and disappointments and this book puts you in real life. It was very sad and depressing to see how lies and regrets will affect your future. I was crying by the time the book was done. Don't get me wrong its a good story but very sad and depressing.

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2008

    I Hated It

    Wow, where do I start? This book was incredibly dull, and I dreaded having to read it, but I was determined to finish it, hoping that it would finally get interesting. What a letdown. It started off very good and then as the years progressed, and Norah kept whining about the loss of a child that she didn't even know she had, mind you - she had no clue she even had a second child until her husband told her - I could understand grieving for a little bit after the fact, but 20 years later, get over it. I felt the emotions were contrived, as if the author was trying to coax empathy from the reader, and it just wasn't happening. I hated the parents and when the book focused on them, because it just dragged and went nowhere. I did enjoy the Caroline/Phoebe story-line a bit more, but overall, this book was one major snooze-fest. The plot had so much potential to become a fantastic read, but unfortunately, Kim Edwards killed it with lame characters, and way too many metaphors. It was just awful.

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    WORTH THE READ

    The Memory Keeper's Daughter is a book that should be savored. Each paragraph is awash in beautiful imagery and the phrasing is glorious. I found myself rereading paragraphs to fully appreciate the imagery.
    The story is heart-wrenching. I have found myself with a new insight into people suffering from Down's Syndrome. I will never look at them in the same way again.
    The characters are real, and the reader can feel the anguish, joy, heartache and struggles that can be the result of one decision made on one night. At any moment, we can experience a moment that can change our lives forever.
    A must read!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent book! If you're looking for a heart-tugging novel which pulls you into the emotional whirlwind of the character's lives, this is the book for you.

    The ink spilling out of an author's pen, spreading on a blank piece of paper, fresh, spontaneous, like the accidental pattern footprints make on the clean slate that is a sandy shore. Each individual pairs up words with their own finesse, secretly wishing a successful outcome. American author Kim Edwards excels in her first novel "The memory keeper's daughter" in more ways than one. With the intriguing plot, mesmerizing descriptiveness and as a whole the heartwarming message the story leaves behind.
    David Henry, a work-driven doctor has the miraculous ability and luck to deliver his own twins from the love of his life, Norah. When the second baby, a girl, is delivered, due to his lucid knowledge on medicine, he instantly realizes the peculiar features which make her fit into the category of a baby with down syndrome. With the intention of sparing her wife the pain, he gives it to the nurse Caroline and tells her to take her to an institute for mentally challenged children, planning to tell Norah the baby girl was a still birth. When Caroline arrives to the institute, she makes the decision of keeping the baby, Phoebe, due to the pitiful conditions of the institute. This turn Caroline takes leads to every possible problem that could have ever been thought of.
    From the very first page of this best selling novel, I was captured by the story, feeling and anticipating what each character was going through. With the plot revolving around such a delicate subject, children with Down syndrome, the powerful, emotional blizzard the author strikes us with is inevitable. Another key element that propels this book is the change in character perspective the author lets us perceive. With the conflict having two completely different angles, through perspective alternation we get to live beside different characters struggling with different aspects of one same problem. This novel also helps us as the readers, get the flexibility of supporting whichever side of the conflict we best relate with, not only with what the usual one-voice narrator or speaker is expressing.
    I also praise Kim Edwards greatly for her incredible vocabulary. The way she uses words to drown the reader in her story is impressive and not very common in novels. While reading the back of my book before actually starting to read it, I noticed how all the reviews from the most acknowledged sources esteemed Edward's way of describing to the finest detail each aspect, character, setting and situation of her story. She proved them right, and satisfied my expectations.
    Last but not least I can't ignore the deep message this novel conveys. From beginning to end the story circles around this one innocent little girl, tagged by society as a mongoloid, or a child suffering from Down syndrome. With David, the main character and her father, giving her away, various conflicts appear as a domino effect, deceit, affairs, redemption, secrets and more. The resolution to all this conflict leads to the simple lesson of love before interest.
    In conclusion, I recommend this phenomenal piece of work to all in search of a thrilling novel full of emotion, description and intriguing moments. Kim Edwards' way of writing is hypnotic. I assure anyone who succumbs to reading it will not be disappointed.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2009

    Disappointed

    I found this to be a very slow read. Too many metaphors, far too many detailed and superfluous descriptions, in my opinion. The characters were OK, but my favorites who seemed to have the most life, were Caroline and Phoebe. Also, in a few instances, I had a sense of what was going to happen. After awhile it became a drudgery and I wanted to finish it just to finish it!

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2011

    Why so many mixed reviews?

    It's a New York Times Bestseller and yet I'm seeing people give it four starts and some only one star. If it's a bestseller you should trust that it's good. It's at least worth giving a try.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    Great book

    I really liked the way this read. She is a very descriptive author.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    A Picture of The Heart by Emilie

    The Memory Keeper¿s Daughter by Kim Edwards is a book that will keep you in suspense the whole time you read it. By the end you will be left with a satisfying feeling.<BR/> It starts out with a birth and rejection. Dr. David Henry delivers his on baby. Then he realizes that there is another baby coming. After the second child is born Dr. Henry sends her with his nurse Caroline to an institution. But here¿s the kicker. Caroline doesn¿t leave her there. She names her Phoebe and takes her to live in Lexington. All the while Norah doesn¿t even have a clue that her daughter is alive and somewhat well. Phoebe was sent away due to her having Downs Syndrome. It¿s a sad, sad world. Norah was told that she died at birth.<BR/> Now I know what you¿re thinking. Why in the world would a father do that to his child, his wife, his home? He better have a reason or something right. Well, this is going to sound bad, but he did. He had a sister who died when she was 12 years old. He didn¿t want his family to go through that again after knowing the child to watch her suffer. It sounds so cruel. I could not imagine doing that or having someone do that to me. <BR/> David never tells his wife about it until the relationship is over. They are no longer talking to each other. Norah has many affairs with other men and David takes up photography as a hobby. He takes lots of pictures all the time.<BR/> When reading this novel a saw the monster David was. But as it went along I saw that he was only doing what he thought was right. It¿s weird to admit that but I did. He just went about it the wrong way. I also saw how much Caroline loved Phoebe. There is doubt about that. And later Al loves the two girls also. David¿s son Paul wants his dad to suffer. Why else would he go against his wishes and go into music.<BR/> The Memory Keeper¿s Daughter has different themes. There is the whole don¿t lie it comes back to haunt you thing. But there are so many more. There is do what¿s right when you don¿t know what to do. There is be you and not what others think or want you to be. Don¿t just try to find one and only one in everything you read. It¿s too hard to do.<BR/> The only problem I had with reading this book was the absence of dialogue. David and Norah talked but it was difficult to figure it out. Otherwise the narrator just told us what was going on in their minds and not what they say.<BR/> The title was a mystery to me when I started to read. I thought at first it was an old wise man telling the story about his daughter. Boy was I wrong. I realized it was David and the tale of his inner struggle of his daughter that he hasn¿t been around. That doesn¿t make it The Memory Keeper¿s Daughter. But if you recall the Valentines Day dinner that Norah had made for David and the gift that she bought. It was a camera. A Memory Keeper to be exact. The same camera that David took all of his pictures.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2008

    Too long and drawn out!

    I don't know why all novels these days have to be between 350 and 400 pages long. This story definitely could've been told in fewer pages. I almost didn't finish it because I was getting bored. The ending was disappointing, not worth the wait.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    If youre in a honors english class as a freshman!

    Im on the fourth chapter right now. And so far im really enjoying this book! I really recommend, especially if you have an honors english class as a freshman!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    I have aquestion for the people that have already read this book ... also a review.

    Does anyone know who Rosemary and Laura are? I'm very confused between the two. I really do think that this book is interesting. Althouh, it gets pretty confusing in some parts. But, on the other hand, some of these paragraphs, phrases, pages, shoild be framed. I found myself rereading some and locking the images in my mind, because of how beautiful the descriptions are. I hope u give this book a try and for those that have already read this book, please responde(((((: God bless <3

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    Loved it

    If you want a light read, this isn't for you. Kim Edwards ability to weave motif and develop characters is well done in this debut novel. It isn't a beach read, but the writing is excellent. Edwards' tale draws in readers who are interested in writer's craft.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I though this was a very good read. Well worth the time. We read it for a book club choice.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2010

    Just okay

    All in all, I didn't like this book nor dislike it. It was just okay. I feel like it never really reached a climax, that it just ran on and on about the Henry-characters day to day lives and the horrible events that happened to them. I ended up very much disliking Norah. On the other hand, I did like the parts of the book that were about Caroline, Phoebe, and Al; however, I suppose it was unrealistic how well their lives turned out. I might recommend this book to a friend who enjoys reading anything, but not someone who's just looking for a good, simple read as it can get boring.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2010

    I loved this book

    I really enjoyed this book. The characters were well developed and the story line really drew me in. I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a good read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Just Be Truthful

    When I read there were such rave reviews from other authors, plus the interesting story plot, I found myself interested but greatly disappointed by the same uniqueness. It was an absolute chore to read, although Edwards definitely made her point through the unhappiness portrayed at every turn. I felt the contrasted family other than "The Henry's" was too unrealistic, and sometimes pained me on how "perfect" things worked out for them. I didn't feel pity for any of the characters and absolutely hated Mrs. Henry throughout the book. The walk-away message: "just be truthful with each other & oneself". I can foresee how different people can maybe look through different eyes at every situation presented in this book though, so I do recommend it as a book club book, (and it luckily has a guide in the back). Why it's called "The Memory Keepers Daughter" is beside me as her role was more passive than focal. As you can see, what you see is NOT what you get from this book. If you're between reading this book and another: choose the other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    Best book ever!!!

    I like this book. Especially is the author' s profound writing to describe the difference in the twin's life. The book leaps from that moment to other parallel moments in the lives of Paul and his sister,Phoebe who has Down's Syndrome, and those involved in the choices that made those lives so very different.It can be a true story about the family that has the Down's Syndrome member, and it also talk about the discrimination with the Down's Syndrome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Rather Disappointed

    The plot seemed promising and interesting, but after completing this novel I felt utterly depressed. I do enjoy a novel with realistic tones about life, however this one seemed to go nowhere.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2009

    the most moving book i have read

    The idea of this book was astonishing. I could not imagine such a thing until I picked it up. Once in my hands, I was unable to put it down. By far, one of the best things I have ever read (and I am an avid reader). Sad and touching, this is a must read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    Memorable Story

    Recently, I read this book.I really liked the story.Some places are a bit boring but its a pretty good book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 815 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41