Customer Reviews for

The Memory Keeper's Daughter

Average Rating 3.5
( 813 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(236)

4 Star

(237)

3 Star

(174)

2 Star

(112)

1 Star

(54)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

What type of book are you looking for?

I've read a lot of people being disappointed in this book and then some who loved it. It all depends on what your looking for. The book was not what I was looking for but it was still a good book. I read to escape every day life and disappointments and this book puts ...
I've read a lot of people being disappointed in this book and then some who loved it. It all depends on what your looking for. The book was not what I was looking for but it was still a good book. I read to escape every day life and disappointments and this book puts you in real life. It was very sad and depressing to see how lies and regrets will affect your future. I was crying by the time the book was done. Don't get me wrong its a good story but very sad and depressing.

posted by Anonymous on August 7, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

I Hated It

Wow, where do I start? This book was incredibly dull, and I dreaded having to read it, but I was determined to finish it, hoping that it would finally get interesting. What a letdown. It started off very good and then as the years progressed, and Norah ke...
Wow, where do I start? This book was incredibly dull, and I dreaded having to read it, but I was determined to finish it, hoping that it would finally get interesting. What a letdown. It started off very good and then as the years progressed, and Norah kept whining about the loss of a child that she didn't even know she had, mind you - she had no clue she even had a second child until her husband told her - I could understand grieving for a little bit after the fact, but 20 years later, get over it. I felt the emotions were contrived, as if the author was trying to coax empathy from the reader, and it just wasn't happening. I hated the parents and when the book focused on them, because it just dragged and went nowhere. I did enjoy the Caroline/Phoebe story-line a bit more, but overall, this book was one major snooze-fest. The plot had so much potential to become a fantastic read, but unfortunately, Kim Edwards killed it with lame characters, and way too many metaphors. It was just awful.

posted by Anonymous on August 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 174 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    what can I say....

    okay book, TERRIBLE movie! :]

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    Unfulfilling

    This book was interesting and the characters were well developed. Unfortunately, this book left me unfulfilled in the end. I was hoping to find a character that I could get behind and cheer unto the end, but it was not to happen. This would be a good read for a book club, because it left me with too many questions and not enough answers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    Worth reading!

    In the Memory Keepers Daughter, a women gives birth to a son and also a daughter. Her husband, was the doctor that did the pregnancy. Once her husband seen the daughter he knew something was wrong. He realized that she was abnormal like his sister who passed away. He did not want his wife to go through the pain his mother went through so he decided to tell the nurse to give her away. While the nurse went to this hospital to give his daughter to, the husband told his wife that she was dead, that her daughter passed away.They still kept the name Phoebe for the daughter and Paul for the son The nurse, Caroline Gill was not able to give his daughter away after she saw the surroundings of the hospital. Caroline kept the daughter and raised her herself throughout the years, without the doctor knowing. Both the husband and wife had to different lives. They both had other signficant others besides themselves.<BR/> There are certain areas I did not like in the book. Some parts angered me. One certain part I disliked is when David the doctor gives his daughter away just because she is abnormal. So what, even if shes not a regular human being, she is still your daughter that you gave away. And it made me mad that he lied to his wife saying she died. His wife even had a funeral service for her and she was so miserable knowing that her daughter died. If he just kept her, none of this would of happened. I disliked it how Caroline saw David at one of his events, since he is a doctor. They both talked and David told Caroline to stay but she didn't. If Caroline stayed they could of talked about his daughter and hows she's doing but I could understand why Caroline left. She was scared David was going to take Phoebe away from her after so many years of taking care of her.I loved how Kim made it seem like Phoebe and Paul will never see and hear from each other and then she surprises you with letters that Caroline is sending to David saying that she was keeping the daughter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book had an intriguing and unique concept, and I felt it was well written. Some minor things about the characters bugged me a little but the story itself was moving and well-developed. I did wonder how realistic the falling-apart of the marriage was, however. That is why I think married people or parents would get the most out of this book. As a teenager, I don't think I really comprehended the complexities of marriage and childbirth and raising a family, which is really what this book is about. But it is well written, and I still think about it occasionally, so I think I'll enjoy it more when I'm older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    I only read this book to kill time

    I bought this book because the summary drew me in and I noticed it was on the bestseller's shelf for quite some time. It was quite interesting at the beginning, up until Caroline decided to keep Phoeboe, then everything went boring from there on. I can't read it for long because the author constantly breaks up the flow of the story with unnecessary imageries that bore me to sleep. For instance, 'It was very hot, the leaves of the corn shimmering against the expansive blue sky...' and 'leaves flashing their pale green undersides in a breeze that pushed the hot air without cooling it..' Can you imagine this type of writing for 400 pages? By the end of the book, I was just scanning the lines until I saw some dialogue. I couldn't concentrate on hollyhocks and sycamores anymore. (I believe these are flowers as well? )It seemed like the author spent more time coming up with nature metaphors and describing flowers than on the actual storyline itself. Honestly, I wouldn't even take the time to borrow this book from the library, let alone pay $20 for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    Evocative plot, but story seemed lacking

    Like another reviewer, I wanted to like this book. The plot was compelling, but the book didn't leave you feeling satisfied. It seemed like there were large gaps of story or character development, especially with regard to the Henry family, in particular with the backstory of the Henry's son. I agree with another reviewer that the story was more interesting following the Henry's daughter. This book was recently made into a cable tv movie and received some pretty good reviews. However, I was not impressed by the book and consequently was not interested in seeing how it was translated into film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2008

    Not terribly memorable . . .

    I'll admit - while I was reading it, I was engaged in the plot and wanted to know what happened next. However, the writing is terrible. Run on sentences and shallow dialogue abound. All in all - it's a good beach read, but doesn't live up to the hype.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2008

    Nice but not so great...

    It started off pretty good but it was a struggle to finish off...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    can't finish it soon enough...

    It had such a strong beginning and stands on a promising plot, however I'm barely 70 pages from the end and kind of 'half-mindedly' reading it so that I can move on to the next thing. I hate to say it because I wanted it to be a great book, but I'll be happy to put it past me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    Good but discouraging ending

    I really enjoyed this book and the way the characters were written until I got to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2007

    too maudlin for me

    I found this to be too long on sentiment and too short on story line. It clearly reflects gut-wrenching emotions, I felt they were just overdone. If you like watching women's movies on the Lifetime channel, you would probably think this was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2007

    Too Much Drama, Too Little Action

    I was really looking forward to reading this novel it had been highly recommended and had topped the New York Times Bestseller list. However, I was very disappointed. While the concept of the story is very interesting and SHOULD provide a good read, there's really no action in the book. It's mostly a mental struggle for the main character between his obligation to his family and the choices he made in his past. The story moves slowly yet jumps throughout the years. I was not particularly motivated to continue reading this book. The only thing that pushed me to, was knowing that once it was over, I could read something that was a bit more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2007

    A compelling premise, marred by a heavy touch

    I found the premise of this novel very compelling -- how a decision, made in a split instant of crisis, can unravel an otherwise valuable life -- and thought the first chapters were breathtaking and intense. But soon I felt the story sink into repetitive melodrama, never to recover. For a more inventive and exciting take on this same theme, I'd recommend readers try Ian McEwan's ATONEMENT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2007

    Started off strong

    This book could have been better with tighter plot lines in the end. The first half of the book kept my attention and the pages turning. The second half of the book was a bit disappointing and unbelievable. For a sad read I would recommend it. However, for a book club book - there are many more worthy books out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2007

    Just Okay

    This was a good storyline but it felt so long. I thought the book had a little too much detail. The ending wasn't bad but it was missing something.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2007

    Good storyline, but...

    I wish there was some closure with all characters...kind of felt open ended. Didn't enjoy the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2007

    couldn't put it down then it dragged

    Well I fall in the middle of loving it, but not quite. The first 250 pgs I couldn't put it down and then it just rambled with long winded descriptions of things that I didn't care about and didn't further the plot. The author did a great job showing how protecting those that we love from hardships can create other unexpected disappointments and sadness in life. I felt it was a very pro-life book that showed the parrell lives of the down syndrome child bringing such happiness and the sorrow that is left in her birth family. I did enjoy the book, but I felt it was about 100 pages too long. It was redundant and could have been summed up earlier. I was also disappointed in the direction the author took the mother of the twins. I felt sorry for the Dr. in the end instead of his wife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2007

    This book

    This book was okay but, I read it for my 50 book challenge.I got the idea from Caris Blog. I thought the plot was promising but, It could have ended faster and It was depressing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2007

    History of disorder accurate, book boring

    I have a sister with Down Syndrome about ten years older than the character in the book. I think the author captured a moment in time very well in the attitude of the medical profession and society in general towards those with this disorder. That said, the book had so many repetitive phrases, a lack of real focus on the problem, a drama queen's emphasis on crisis, a desire to chronicle chaos that I was tired of the whole clan before it was over. It spent too much time on the Henrys' life and too little on the daughters. Disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2007

    predictable

    This book just didn't give me the 'great book' vibe once i was done reading it. Altogether the plot wasn't overly dull, but i expected a more complicated twist. I also didn't like the fact that although I hated the father for doing what he did, near the end I almost began to pity him, which is NOT what I like in a book- keep me hating or loving, don't make me switch! The ending made the book feel completed which is one of it's good points and the characters were very well developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 174 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9