Customer Reviews for

The Memory of Running

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely worth reading, but...

    I found this book at times difficult to read and at times it was so good and so funny that I couldn't wait to see what happened next. It took me about half way through to really get into it. By that point I was rooting for Smithy to find happiness and whatever it was he was searching for. His immediate family, extended family, friends, and all the strangers he meets along the way were very, very interesting

    I'm not sure why I didn't give it 5 stars. It may have been the writing style - the going from one scene to another that I didn't really like at first but eventually got used to it. At times it was complicated and at times simple. Overall, I would recommend reading it. I laughed, I felt bad, I felt good, and at one point or another, almost every other emotion available.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I found this book to be depressing. Also I don't think that the

    I found this book to be depressing. Also I don't think that the behavior of Bethany's psychiatrists rang true. If you want to read a good book about individuals overcoming issues with depression, obesity, or having a schizophrenic sibling try Wally Lamb's "She's Come Undone" and "I Know this Much is True".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Sad, Sweet Story

    I very much enjoyed this book. The characters were interesting, especially Smithy and Norma. I loved hearing the story through Smithy's narration which was both funny and sad. I'm not usually a fan of books going back and forth in time by chapter, but this was an exception. A really good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Loveeeee!

    Beautiful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Stick with it!

    This book was difficult to get into. I almost quit reading it so many times but luckily I have a disease and I am physically unable to not finish a book that I have started. By the end I didn't want to put it down. The amazing journey and growth of Smithy is worth sticking throught the slow, depressing, and probably too familar to a large percentage of the American population.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Thought Provoking

    I found this book to be very entertaining, though overly depressing at points. I would recommend it to anyone in need of an uplifting story that shows no matter how far down the road of life you are you still have time to change and set things right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyable

    I found The Memory of Running to be a nice, light, summer read. I enjoyed the main character very much.

    The book is all about the journey of one man, Smithy Ide. Smithy loses both his parents and his long absent schizophrenic sister within the span of one week. Unable to cope, this overweight and alcoholic man takes off on his childhood Raleigh bicycle with just the clothing on his back. What starts out as an aimless wandering turns into an epic quest as Smithy makes his way from his New England home all the way to the Pacific Ocean. On a bicycle. He meets interesting folks along the way and has plenty of time to reminisce about his childhood and what it was like to grow up with a sister who hears voices.

    I really enjoyed Smithy Ide as a main character. He reminded me a little of Forest Gump. He seemed a bit slow and sort of innocent. Smithy is a guy the reader can care about. The Memory of Running is sad and funny with interesting characters. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book Reminds Me of Forrest Gump

    This book was lackluster at best. McLarty's writing style was choppy and it was a bit dull at times. It really took me a lot to get through this book. This book felt like it was solely based on the movie Forrest Gump. This story is about Smithson "Smithy" Ide, a middle aged alcoholic with no friends, and a dead end job at the SEAL Sam factory. The story continues, and i appears to be his crazed, schizophrenic sister, (You never really find out that she's schizoprhenic.) In the beginning both of his parents pass away, the result of a car accident when going home after a camping trip. It is then, when Smithy is going through his father's affects, does he find the whereabouts of his missing,theoretically schizophrenic, sister. It plateaus through the entire book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    great book

    good reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is a great book. Smithy is a cross between a Wally Lamb character and Bill Bryson. It's like a fictionalized version of 'A Walk in the Woods.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2006

    A work of art.

    If an alien species ever asks us what it means to be human we should just hand them this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2006

    Touching a la Forest Gump

    Poor simple Smithy...he might just have it all figured out. Quirky characters and exciting adventures make this book utterly enjoyable. All of the greats in a novel, this book made me laugh, cry, think and ultimately cheer for Smithy!! Loved this one...on my top 5 of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    Didn't want to lay it down or finish it-Terrific read

    Poor old Smithy Ide suffers thru tragedies and experiences galore as he treks cross country on his bike in search of his sisters' remains after the death of his parents. The characters he encounters and the episodes he lives thru are delightful. Would love to see this in a movie but no movie could ever beat this book. A real treasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    Sensational

    We always run, run for something, to something away from something, away from someone, to someone, for someone. Running has a purpose. It is well depicted in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2006

    Loved the Characters

    I love character-driven novels, and this is a great one. Smithey, Bethany and Norma are all very flawed, but it makes you want to wrap your arms around them just to make them feel safe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2006

    This is the one of the best

    In Memory of Running is one of the best, if not the best books I've ever read. I loved the idea of Smithy setting out cross country on his bicycle - going against the popular, negative stereotype of fat people being incapable of exercise or change. I also liked the reversal of the order of heroism - that it was the crippled woman who saved Smithy, rather than the other way around. This book crashes down stereotypes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    Great Book Club Book

    ¿Smithy¿ Ide is the kind of character who gets under your skin. At the start of the book I thought it would be so predictable that it would get boring. The author, however, has big plans for Smithy. His character descriptions are so direct and his writing so good that I felt as though Smithy was speaking to me ¿ that doesn¿t happen very often. I did feel compassion for Smithy and cheered him on. Although some of the ¿incidents¿ along the way are somewhat far-fetched, I still liked the book. Bethany, Smithy¿s dead sister, also has a persona that one can almost feel. My only fault with this book was that it sort of petered out at the end I guess I wanted a more dramatic finish. I would recommend this book for book clubs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2006

    you'll like it once you get into it

    this book caught my eye... I had to read it. The book is as complicated as Smithy's journey to gain back his innocence. Reading this, I felt like I was the one doing the pedaling. It took me longer than usual to read but I always like a challenge...It's an life learning experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2005

    One of the Best Reads Ever!

    I loved this book - what a great writer! I look forward to more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2005

    Shines Like a Winner

    THE HISTORY OF RUNNING is an extremely touching book. Much as I loved THE WONDER YEARS on television for its adult voiced reflection on the melencholly of youth, THE HISTORY OF RUNNING is an even more well voice and intricately fine story. Like any great book you can recognize the influences that pepper MEMORY OF RUNNING. Clear are touches that reflect Pat Conroy (MY LOSING SEASON), Rikki Lee Travolta (MY FRACTURED LIFE) and John Kennedy Toole (A CONFEDERACY OF DUNCES) that make this a delight. Ron McLarty has written a winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4