Customer Reviews for

The Memory of Running

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    Loveeeee!

    Beautiful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    great book

    good reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2006

    A work of art.

    If an alien species ever asks us what it means to be human we should just hand them this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2006

    Didn't want to lay it down or finish it-Terrific read

    Poor old Smithy Ide suffers thru tragedies and experiences galore as he treks cross country on his bike in search of his sisters' remains after the death of his parents. The characters he encounters and the episodes he lives thru are delightful. Would love to see this in a movie but no movie could ever beat this book. A real treasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2006

    Sensational

    We always run, run for something, to something away from something, away from someone, to someone, for someone. Running has a purpose. It is well depicted in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2006

    Loved the Characters

    I love character-driven novels, and this is a great one. Smithey, Bethany and Norma are all very flawed, but it makes you want to wrap your arms around them just to make them feel safe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2006

    This is the one of the best

    In Memory of Running is one of the best, if not the best books I've ever read. I loved the idea of Smithy setting out cross country on his bicycle - going against the popular, negative stereotype of fat people being incapable of exercise or change. I also liked the reversal of the order of heroism - that it was the crippled woman who saved Smithy, rather than the other way around. This book crashes down stereotypes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2005

    One of the Best Reads Ever!

    I loved this book - what a great writer! I look forward to more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2005

    Shines Like a Winner

    THE HISTORY OF RUNNING is an extremely touching book. Much as I loved THE WONDER YEARS on television for its adult voiced reflection on the melencholly of youth, THE HISTORY OF RUNNING is an even more well voice and intricately fine story. Like any great book you can recognize the influences that pepper MEMORY OF RUNNING. Clear are touches that reflect Pat Conroy (MY LOSING SEASON), Rikki Lee Travolta (MY FRACTURED LIFE) and John Kennedy Toole (A CONFEDERACY OF DUNCES) that make this a delight. Ron McLarty has written a winner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2005

    a great moving story

    I loved this book! I felt just like I knew smithy and his family. The minute i picked up the book i got nothing else done. it was so easy to be drawn into the story. great humor and very touching. i hope there will be another book by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    A taut story with memorable characters.

    This novel held me like few others have. The plot is actually quite conventional; the characters are what make this novel fly. Smithy is a wonderful antihero. Bethany Ide may be viewed as another Daisy Miller fifty years from now. Even the minor characters (Uncle Count, Phillip Wosley, Bill Butler, Georgina Glass) will stay with you after you've read the last page. When I finished the final chapter, I actually felt sad to be parting company with some of these folks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    Wow, what a journey.

    This book took you on a journey in to life that you didn't expect and would never beleive if you didn't experience it. And that's what it felt like, you were there with him. I couldn't beleive the things that happend to Smithy. He fell into freezing cold water, was snowed in over night with a small child in a tent. He got shot for helping someone, he got hit by a truck by a dying man with AIDS and became his hero. He touched people in ways that he didn't even know, with out trying, but most of all this trip changed his life, for good, for the better. I want to take my bike across country, loose weight and find myself. I loved the way Ron McLarty writes, he cracks me up. I would to see more books by Ron.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2005

    A great book for ANYONE!

    This is such an easy read, that grabs you so quickly, I would recommend this book to anyone. Two great storys in alternating chapters that make you want to finish each chapter just so you can get back to the other story. I learned alot from Smithy and Norma about how I treat people. Read this book and I think you will too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    A MUST READ!!

    This is by far, the best novel I have had the pleasure of reading in a long, long time. Smithy is the most engrossing and enjoyable narrator to come along since Holden Caulfield. Please, please read this book!! You will not regret it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    The quest

    I started reading this book and then we switched to the audio. We listened every day on our daily runs and on one long trip. There is nothing like audio as far as I am concerned and this book is exceptional. I loved the characters - I feel like I could pick them out on the street. I identified with Smithy because a lot of us in this world stuff our pain - sadness and/or anger -down with alcohol or food or gambling or spending - something. I knew how he felt and I wanted him to find himself on the other side of all of it. Every character in this story was rich. Even the ones with the small parts, like the truckdriver. McLarty built them into people I could see in my mind. The story is amazing and I did not want it to end, yet I wanted him to get to where I wanted him to go...and he did. McLarty brought such a richness to the story, too, with his voice and his ability to make each of those characters take on a face and a body in my mind. That is what amazes me about a really good audio. I read somewhere that not everyone could do it and I see that - you would have to be a good actor to pull it off - he is and he does. I hope he has more out there soon because I want to read them. I am in search of the plays now. I have read thousands of books - it is my great escape - but only a few stay with me my whole life and this will be one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    Read this book

    This is a terrific novel about Smitty, an everyman, someone you think you know. His nowhere life takes a turn around, and you, the reader are taken along for the ride. The characters throughout the book are rich, well developed, and familiar. A book for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2005

    I'm from Italy

    I think that this book is really a treasure..It's so easy to fall in love with Smithy.This book shows that you can rebirth from a difficult life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2005

    Smithy Ide, It Doesn't Get Better

    Amazing. This wonderful trip through life, love, and pain will keep you hooked from the very first page. Smithy Ide is the quintessential protagonist and you root for him from the beginning. Ron McLarty has done a tremendous job capturing a life that we can all relate to on some level. I would also like to recognize his VERY realistic portrayl of a schizophrenic. Amazing is the only word to desribe this work of art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2005

    Its one of those stories you search and sift for..the ones that own you once you start.

    Once you join Smithy in his world, you can't abandon him, and you can't stop,(like Smithy) trying to understand how to survive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2005

    Recommend this book highly

    I read this book through the blizzard of 2005. A great read, I was touched and amazed at the writing style. The book took a brief Stephen Kingish twist with the Wiggy story, it seemed somewhat out of character for McLarty's Bethany. But wow, what a wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3