Customer Reviews for

Memory's Door

Average Rating 5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 5, 2013

    Whew! Buckle your seat belt for this one! Soul's Gate was simply

    Whew! Buckle your seat belt for this one! Soul's Gate was simply a primer for the experiences that the Warriors Riding team have in store for them in Memory's Door. James L. Rubart has created a gripping tale that will delight lovers of supernatural fiction, yet it is so much more than just a good story. Deeply thought-provoking, this novel puts flesh onto the usually unseen war of the spiritual realm as the team must discern who the enemy is and engage that enemy in a combat unlike any other. Rubart's brilliantly woven plot depicts how devious and calculating demonic powers are, as well as how easily a seemingly strong believer can be deluded by their wiles and how those enemies feed off the regrets and baggage within a believer's mind and soul. I pondered this one for days after finishing it, and eagerly anticipate the series conclusion. Don't miss this important book and series!




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    James Rubart has a new book out: Memory's Door, the second inst


    James Rubart has a new book out: Memory's Door, the second installment in the Well Springs series. All the characters I came to love in the first book, Soul's Gate are back...this time with even more challenges as they press into God. The crux of this book is an allegory about how Satan will disguise himself as the angel of light and trick us into believing there are certain parts of us or our past too dangerous to bring into the light. If we just stuff them deep enough, we'll be okay. But if they ever come out...our lives as we know them are over. 
    Memory's Door is a great sequel, but it does not stand alone. This is a series that should be read in order and with a heart open to the idea of having the box we place God in stretched. My husband and I both really enjoy this series and Jim's writing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    James L. Rubart in his new book, ¿Memory¿s Door¿ Book Two in the

    James L. Rubart in his new book, “Memory’s Door” Book Two in the Well Spring series published by Thomas Nelson gives us another adventure with the four members of Warriors Riding.




    From the back cover:  The prophecy brought them together. But the Wolf has risen, and now their greatest battle begins.




    The four members of Warriors Riding have learned to wage war in the supernatural, to send their spirits inside people’s souls, to battle demonic forces, and to bring deep healing to those around them.




    But their leader Reece is struggling with the loss of his sight. Brandon is being stalked at his concerts by a man in the shadows. Dana’s career is threatening to bury her. And Marcus questions his sanity as he seems to be slipping in and out of alternate realities.




    And now the second part of the prophecy has come true. The Wolf is hunting them and has set his trap. He circles, feeding on his supernatural hate of all they stand for. And he won’t stop until he brings utter destruction to their bodies . . . and their souls.




    This means war!  The battle is on!  The battle for souls is the hardest and most vicious ever imagined and James L. Rubart has given us a story that shows just how hard and vicious it is.  Mr. Rubart gives us the warriors, those that fight for men’s souls.  They are aided by the angelic host.  Opposed to them, of course, are the demonic host.  The reason why they are after the warriors is that if you take out those that do the fighting then the ones they are fighting for are lost and the demons win.  Let us define “regret” as those things that are holding us prisoners to decisions and actions of the past.  Each one of the four Warriors Riding has an issue with regret and each one of them is individually attacked from a demon because of that regret.  These “regrets” keep us from enjoying the life that God has planned for us.  Before the Warriors Riding can really fulfill their purpose they need God to heal them of these regrets.  ”Memory’s Door” is a very exciting book.  One that will keep you flipping pages trying to find out what will happen next just as fast as you can read and flip.  Everything is Biblical and Mr. Rubart is at the top of his game with his writing.  “Memory’s Door” will keep you asking questions, once you get the answer to one question it leads you to another and then another.  This is an adrenaline laced adventure story. The characters are extraordinary and well written and you get involved with every one of them.  This is a just plain fun, exciting story that entertains as well as makes us think. Mr. Rubart has batted in a winner and I recommend this book highly.  I am so looking forward to book three in this series.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Litfuse Publicity Group.   I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Oh sweet day!  Another novel by Jim Rubart.  And not just any no

    Oh sweet day!  Another novel by Jim Rubart.  And not just any novel, this is the continuation of the great
     “Well Spring” novels.  Hang onto your hats, we’re going in!

    The members of the Warriors Riding are back and preparing for an even bigger battle this time.  Reese is
     still struggling with the loss of his vision and how that will affect the warring that is taking shape against
     The Wolf.  Brandon’s singing career continues to skyrocket, but an injury to his vocal chords may spell
     trouble for his future.  Dana is enjoying a rise in her employment status at the radio station and Marcus
     is battling with personal issues at home with his teenage daughter and a new boyfriend.  If all of this isn’t
     enough, the group comes under fire from a charismatic radio personality bent on outing the Warriors
     Riding for the malicious group that they are.  When will the prophecy foretell Reese will get his vision
     back? Can Brandon get his career back on track?  Will Dana continue to climb the corporate ladder?
     Are Marcus’ personal issues an attack from The Wolf and can they be overcome? Questions, questions
     and more questions that can all be answered when you BUY THE BOOK!

    There’s nothing more exciting to me than to be able to read a book that causes me to do research.  As
     he did in “Soul’s Gate”, Jim Rubart opens my eyes to possibilities that I’ve never considered.  I love the
     descriptions that he uses as the Warriors enter a soul, such vivid details that paint such a realistic picture
     of what those battles would look like.  The battles that rage in this book showcase the battles that we
     face each day in our walk, but battles that are important to who we become.  The introduction of Carson
     as “the mainstream Christian”, sure brings a lot of great discussions to the table.  One of the main
     themes through this book is “regret” and how we need to release those things that are holding us
     prisoners to decisions and actions of the past.  These “regrets” keep us from enjoying the life that He
     has planned for us.  Once again, Jim Rubart has another great hit on his hands!

    Is this a man’s book?  This book is definitely a man’s book.  Not only for the action and pace of the book,
     but because it also has a message that we all need to hear loud and clear!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2013

    Memory¿s Door A Wellspring Novel, Book 2 James L. Rubart ©2013 T

    Memory’s Door
    A Wellspring Novel, Book 2
    James L. Rubart ©2013
    Thomas Nelson Publisher
    ISBN 978-1-4016-8607-9 (ppbk)
    353 pp. plus Reading Guide

    We meet the team of Reese, Brandon, Dana and Marcus from Soul’s Gate, the previous book, as they struggle against Christianity’s enemy. In Memory’s Door, the characters react to difficulties in fully human ways that readers will understand. Eventually the team learns who really brings victory in the never-ending battle against evil.

    Recognizing the Evil One can be difficult for the team members. Which side is Simon on? And Tristan and his two companions? Who are they?

    Reese desperately wants what he’s lost. Brandon blithely enters one of the “Wolf’s” lairs. Will be the group survive that sly attack? Will Marcus defeat the enemy’s deception to his family? And will he trust in God’s wisdom in the one he loves most? Dana grows in leadership, but will she stay true to the voice of the Spirit? And recognize a lack of forgiveness that is robbing her?

    All of Rubart’s books are outstanding, but Memory’s Door is the best story yet. Readers can relate to specific characters’ battles with temptation. Joys the characters experience will encourage them to grow closer to God.

    The book ends with excellent Readers Guide questions and a note from the author that will assure readers they are not alone in life’s ups and downs.



    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    "Memory's Door is compelling, suspenseful, a little bit of

    "Memory's Door is compelling, suspenseful, a little bit of "Twilight Zone" .. but with a deep spiritual message. The further you read the better is gets and almost impossible to put down." I can't wait for his next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    Early this year I decided "Soul's Gate" by James Rubar

    Early this year I decided "Soul's Gate" by James Rubart is my new favorite novel. Now that I've read Memory's Door, Book 2 in the Wellspring series, I can say that the series is now my favorite as well. What would be very hard would be choosing between these books. Book 1 struck me as brilliant, largely because it was so different than anything I've ever read before--closest I could describe it would be the Frank Peretti books but with a fresh, contemporary twist--but book two stands on its own and has powerful and unique qualities as well. It is an incredible follow-up to book 1, but can also be enjoyed as a stand alone novel.




    One might consider this book a spiritual allegory, but I think it would be better to explain it as a book that takes spiritual realities and puts them into words and pictures that we can understand with our limited human senses. As a person who is open to spiritual experiences, I would say that many of the descriptions accurately capture, as best as one can with our limited vocabulary, aspects of the spiritual realm.




    Jim's passion is bringing people to freedom. Book 1 in this series focused on inner healing and growing in awareness of the spiritual dimension, but book 2 takes a closer look at two specific areas: freedom from regrets and from religiosity. The religiosity aspect especially tickled me. I feel like I have found freedom in this area, and yet it still tries to sneak up on me at times, not to mention, we can all become more free in this area. Jim's depiction of religiosity actually made me giggle in delight at times, because it was such an affirmation of what I should leave behind and what it truly means to be a believer. And let me mention without spoiling anything, that I absolutely loved who "the wolf"' turned out to be.




    Jim's writing is fresh and clean and keeps you quickly turning pages. Then, when you least expect it, he hits you with a gorgeous description or unique perspective that truly causes the book to shine. This is a perfect example of what some are calling "life-changing" or "transformational" fiction. It is sure to touch your heart and effect you in a significant way. Little wonder book one took the 2013 Christy Award for visionary fiction. I can't wait for the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2013

    This is one of those books that is kind of ¿out there¿ but I lov

    This is one of those books that is kind of “out there” but I love it! When I say it’s “out there” I mean in how the author depicts the characters doing battle within a person’s soul. I do believe in spiritual warfare but not in the sense the author portrays it here. I love following these characters as they struggle through difficult situations both physically and spiritually. This book focused on Marcus which I really enjoyed. He’s an extremely intelligent man who is just starting to get his priorities straightened out. He faces some difficult decisions and situations that threaten to tear him apart. 
    This story is fast paced in regards to the action. The author does a good job drawing me into the story, I want to know what’s going to happen next. There are some twists to the story as well that I didn’t see coming. I’m looking forward to what will happen next with the Warriors Riding.
    Even though I find the story a little “out there” there are some strong messages that will applies to our own Christian walk. Including the importance of doing battle in the spiritual realm for those around us. The story also reminded me that it is easy to let priorities get skewed.
    Disclaimer: I did receive this book from the publisher but was under no obligation to give anything but my honest opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Its ah great read!

    Must read book one to understand the full meaning of prayer! Going deep into the spirit realm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Supernatural Battles, Prophetic Fulfillment, and a Quest for Fre

    Supernatural Battles, Prophetic Fulfillment, and a Quest for Freedom




    Reese, Brandon, Dana, and Marcus, key characters from the earlier Well Spring Novel, Soul’s Gate, continue in their supernatural battle against the evil forces found in the the realm of the spirit world. They are in a quest for supernatural freedom and on a mission to change the world.  




    In Memory’s Door, bestselling author, James L. Rubart captivates his readers with subterfuge, suspense, angelic beings, counterfeit spirits, as evil forces attack seeking to destroy the impact of the ministry of the band of Warriors Riding. The introduction of the Wolf leads to another prophetic fulfillment; through the unnerving effect of a stalker in the shadows, an overwhelming career, blindness, and confusion with alternate realities undermine and weaken the cause of and quest for spiritual freedom.




    The fictional nature of the novel in no way hinders the forcefulness of Rubart’s message. The novel becomes a platform for his creative gift of storytelling to attract a unique audience with the reality of spiritual warfare and the promise of freedom from its bondage. 




    In Memory’s Door Rubart warns of the devastating effect of the poison of toxic memories of looking back on the past and past failures and brings a message of hope and freedom from regret.




    Rubart’s writing is powerful, his message strong; his previous books are highly endorsed and recommended. Memory’s Door is no exception. Highly recommended.



    A complimentary copy of this book was provided for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Taking a line from James L. Rubart's latest novel, "That wa

    Taking a line from James L. Rubart's latest novel, "That was a ride on the far side of extreme." Memory's Door had me pinned to my seat as I flew through the novel.


    The sequel to Soul's Gate, Memory's Door is a journey into battling the spirit of religion that reigns in today's society. But that isn't where it ends. Underneath is the story of forgiveness. And this is the part that touched me the deepest.

    I'm a self-proclaimed perfectionist. I like to do things right. I like it when others do things right. And I grit my teeth when I make mistakes or fail. When my sin nature rules, my flesh strong and spirit weak. Which brings me to my personal struggle with forgiving. Sure, I can easily forgive another. It's myself I have the hard time forgiving. Because I know I could have done it better. Because I know the hurt or inconvenience my mistakes have caused others. Because I want to be better than I am. I don't want to accept my human flaws. I want to be more like Jesus.

    Page 300 of Memory's Door is my favorite.

    "It didn't make sense. Why wasn't Jesus showing him? There was nothing to see. Nothing to see. Nothing."

    Marcus is realizing that God wipes away our sin. Forgiven. Nothing remains. Only Jesus. I cried as I read this on an airplane, stuck between two passengers. Nowhere to hide as I wiped my cheeks with the cuff of my sweatshirt sleeve. It takes a good writer to make me cry while I'm reading a book. I think this is only the second time it's happened to me.

    Memory's Door isn't just a novel. It's a call to live free. Free from the condemnation of the enemy, who would have us bound tight and unable to fight for the kingdom of God if he could. It's a call to free ourselves from the mistakes of our past, to have no regrets, and to learn to forgive ourselves as Jesus Christ has forgiven us.

    I highly recommend Jim's novels. Every one of them has something significant to say about our spiritual well-being, about the choices we make every day. Memory's Door is now my second favorite. Please read it. It won't disappoint you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    After reading the first novel to this series, I was immediately

    After reading the first novel to this series, I was immediately interested in reading Memory's Door. Speculative fiction, unusual circumstances, and the like are often favorite reads. These strange events happened on two levels. One: extending the main theme of the novels, and the second: providing a bit of variety with alternate realities. To be fair, the second didn't extend far enough to have much variety, but instead accomplished the same goal as the main theme: restoration. (restoration and a deeper relationship with the Spirit was the theme in the first novel, and likely will be for the series as a whole)




    Partly because of this, I feel as if I'd read Soul's Gate over again. Another reason is that the characters don't seem to have progressed far beyond their state at the end of the first novel. Most problems were both introduced and remedied in this book alone. The cast had a developed base, but didn't register easily this time.




    There were a few scenes where the suspense was fairly heavy, and I didn't expect much suspense in Memory's Door, so props to Rubart for that.




    Overall, I didn't find much that hadn't been explored in the first book, apart from the suspense. Here's hoping that this was largely an interim novel, and that the next shows us more variety.




    *This book was provided free by the author. I was not required to write a positive review, and the opinions expressed here are my own.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Memory¿s Door was another incredible story by James L. Rubart! I

    Memory’s Door was another incredible story by James L. Rubart! I thought this continuation of the Well Spring saga


    was just as brilliant as Soul’s Gate. By now, I was very familiar with the main characters of the story, having bonded with them and their quest in Soul’s Gate. Although several individual storylines are interwoven, I was so impressed that I never felt lost or missed any details. James L. Rubart did a masterful job of keeping every episode with every character firmly anchored to his main plot, which is not an easy task. It is so easy to become thoroughly engrossed in the world of Reese, Dana, Marcus, and Brandon that it will begin to feel like your world.
    This whole theme of fighting to obtain total freedom from bondage and regret is very near and dear to my heart, and as Soul’s Gate opened the door to a whole realm of reality that I had never stopped to really consider, Memory’s Door just took me deeper inside. I am stirred by the thought that, even though the spiritual reality is invisible to our natural eyes, in truth it is even more real than the physical realm. Through reading this great story, I began to focus more intentionally on what was happening in and around me in the spiritual realm at various moments throughout the day, much more aware of subtle attacks and deception that would come my way, and taking care that I responded appropriately instead of ignoring them. Not only that, but I also saw how the enemy tries to convince us to play the game by his rules, where unfortunately, he doesn’t play fair and will always win. Just like Marcus discovers, we think we must choose one of the options he presents because that is all we can see at the moment. The truth is that we are called to live at a higher level with the authority and perspective that God has given us. We don’t have to play by the enemy’s rules or choose a lesser path—we are positioned for overwhelming triumph, and it’s a beautiful thing to discover that God’s choice for us is Win-Win! The story of Memory’s Door is not only a captivating one that will keep you turning the pages until you lose track of time, but it is also a lesson of broken hearts being healed, enslaved souls set free, and greater purpose being discovered. Many great novels have touched my mind, but Memory’s Door has the coveted accomplishment of touching my heart. I am sure it will do the same for every reader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    An expertly spun tale gets me bouncing in my chair. Richly defin

    An expertly spun tale gets me bouncing in my chair. Richly defined characters and spiritually innovative plots make me smile.
    I just finished Soul's Gate! Im exhausted and my cheeks hurt. I can't ask for anything more that that. I'm a big fan of this Rubart fellow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2013

    I happen to really enjoy Christian fantasy, as I call this style

    I happen to really enjoy Christian fantasy, as I call this style of writing, thus I was drawn to James Rubart's novels. I also thoroughly enjoy a fast pace with twists and turns and high stakes. Memory's Door delivered in every area to the point I was literally exhausted at times by the end of a chapter. Unfortunately for me, his hooks are so excellent that I had to do battle with myself as to whether or not I really could spare the time to keep reading.

    I had read the first book in the series, Soul's Gate, so I was eager to read the sequel and discover not only what happens to the four main characters, but also, what theme Rubart would address in this novel. Freedom in Christ continues to be Rubart's battle cry (yeah!) but Freedom from Regret also rings loud and clear (Amen!).

    Regret is a formidable opponent in most people's lives. How Rubart handled this theme is fantastic: alternate realities (clever), tragic disappointments (tremendous stumbling block for so many), the possibility of future regrets if... (doesn't that plague so many of us?), and being completely blind to future regrets by the lure of today...("all that glitters isn't gold" isn't a popular phrase for nothing.) If you're sensing that this novel is not one-dimensional, you're right!

    I've read some reviews that address their concerns about doctrine. I believe the key here is that this is Christian fantasy, not biblical teaching on exactly how the spiritual world works. Just as Christ told parables that were not actual historical events but were designed to give biblical instruction, you should enjoy this novel for its message of freedom from regret through freedom in Christ, not as a teaching on biblical doctrine on the spirit world.

    I'm also a big fan of Rubart's writing: how he paints a scene, brings in tension, hooks you around every turn, and can make you laugh even at unexpected moments. He made me cheer for the heroes and hate the villains. His character Simon is classic!!! Simon adds much, including the following line, which I loved because I could actually feel his pain. Ha!: "Did you know in some realities they don't have crème brûlée creamer? How crazy is that? Very challenging to deal with."

    To Rubart's credit, this novel is filled with challenging thoughts beyond crème brûlée creamer, such as: "Reece, I do have a few thoughts. While we must be aware of the enemy's schemes, do not let your full concentration be on him. He is not the goal. He is not our focus. Do not give him more power than he has. Jesus is setting captives free, and those captives are stepping out of their chains. That is what we will celebrate and keep at the forefront of our minds."

    Bottom line...if you like Christian fantasy with a powerful message, this is a home run.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    Great 2nd Book

    This is a great 2nd book to the Wellspring Series. You get to know the characters better, which makes you look at your own life a little more. Definitely makes you think.

    I've really enjoyed this author since his first book. This series is easy to read, but definitely thought provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "There will come a day when you will train them - they will

    "There will come a day when you will train them - they will be four. The Song, the Teacher, the Leader, the Temple. Keep your eyes open to see, your ears open to listen, you heart open to feel, and your mind open to discern.

    When the time comes, the Spirit will reveal each of them to you. You will teach them the wonders of my power they can't yet imagine. And instruct these warriors how to go far inside the soul and marrow.

    They will rise up and fight for the hearts of others. They will demolish strongholds in the heavens and grind their enemies to dust. Their victories will spread across the nations. You will pour out your life for them and lead them to freedom, and they will turn and bring healing to the broken and set the hearts of others free.

    And then the Wolf rises, the four must war against him and bring about his destruction.

    Only they have hope of victory.

    And for one, their vision will grow clear,

    And for one, the darkness of choice will rain on them,

    And for one, the other world will become more real than this one,

    And for one, death will come before the appointed time."

    For Reece, Brandon, Marcus and Dana, they are the chosen four spoken of in the prophecy about to be fulfilled in the second Well Spring Novel from best selling author James L. Rubart in Memory's Door. When we left the foursome in Soul's Gate, the first novel in the series, they had ventured into the souls of those people who have been held in bondage by their sin and their pasts as a way to begin the training that they will now have to utilize to war against what is known as the Wolf. They just have to figure out who or what the Wolf is before it's too late.

    Now that the four have mastered the ability to travel within the souls of those needing healing and freedom from their sin that has held them in bondage, they are about to go head to head in an epic spiritual battle that I've only found in novels by Frank Peretti but this one will leave you shaking your head and wondering what is real and what is part of the spiritual deception played out by the demon they fought against in Soul's Gate, Zennon who has already robbed Reece of his sight. Will they be able to find a way to work together despite all the outside issues that are working against them being successful as the Warriors Riding or are these merely just another ploy of the enemy to cause division among the group?

    This series combines some of the best genres together to create something that almost defies a clear explanation of what you are to immerse yourself in. Take Science Fiction, Supernatural Spiritual Warfare, Fantasy and add in the element of Suspense and you have briefly looked into the remarkable creation that only James L. Rubart can create. I received Memory's Door by James L. Rubart compliments of Thomas Nelson Publishers and Litfuse Publicity for my honest review. I have not received any monetary compensation for a favorable review. It took me much longer than I anticipated to finish Memory's Door, partly because it had been awhile since reading Soul's Gate that I had to spend some time refreshing myself with what had happened in the first book to be able to move forward in this one. This is definitely not meant to be a stand alone novel and I recommend reading Soul's Gate before picking this one up.

    The other issue is that there is so much happening in this novel. It is packed with action and mystery with each of the four characters not only having to deal with their personal issues, Dana with her career, Marcus with his past decision that could destroy his marriage and family, Reece coming to terms that his vision might not ever be restored like he believes, and Brandon struggling with his music career. They must each find their personal freedom with what God has in store for each of them and be willing to let things go that they are grasping so tightly in this world before they can hope to master what awaits them in the spiritual realm. If not, it might just be the end of one or all of them.

    I easily rate this one a 4.5 out of 5 stars and it's meant to take some time to gain a full grasp of what the meaning is behind this book. I found myself constantly looking at characters with fresh perspective because just when you think you might have someone's motives figured out, you realize you were so wrong. I believe James accomplishes his purpose by the time you get to the end and you find yourself reflecting on some of your own issues that may be hindering your own spiritual walk in growing closer to God. Ultimately the message is that Jesus is the only way to have freedom from sin that keeps you believing the lies of the enemy. That you can never change, you can never be forgiven, and there is no hope for a better life. Jesus can free you from all those lies and give you the freedom you seek.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    The author does a fantastic job of weaving together this story a

    The author does a fantastic job of weaving together this story and letting it grow into what it is, bringing you smack into the middle of this supernatural battle. It is a fast paced, action packed Christian story that is hard to put down, especially if you enjoy this genre of fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1