BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Men and Dogs

Average Rating 3.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Family Relationship Effects

    The defining moment of Hannah's life was the disappearance of her father. Her father, a hero whose medical skills saved the life of a child in front of her. Her father, who disdained convention and made life interesting. Her father, who went out in a boat when Hannah was eleven and never returned.

    Everyone agreed that he must have drowned, but without a body, Hannah refuses to believe this is true. She grows up and becomes successful, but still checks out older men on the street of every town she goes to, hoping against hope that she will see the face of her father. She refuses to believe that any other man won't also leave her so she spends her time leaving them first, or making them leave her by her bad behavior.

    John, her husband, has just reached his limit with Hannah and her drinking and infidelity. Hannah goes home to Charleston to try to put her life back together. She spends her days talking with her brother Palmer, her mother and stepfather and her high school boyfriend. Can she solve the mystery of why her father left her behind?

    Katie Crouch has written a compelling tale of how women's lives are shaped by their experiences with their fathers. Hannah cannot heal and have a successful relationship until she puts her first relationship into focus. Women readers will see themselves in Hannah's longing for her father, and men will discover how important they are in creating strong, independent women. This book is recommended for readers of modern fiction and who are interested in family relationships and how secrets can tie up lives for many years.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    AWESOME!!!!!

    I think this book is totally worth it! It was nothing i expected, it was even better than what i expected! Though its not really appropriate for 11 or 12 year olds. Thats the downside of it. Overall, its reaaally good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2011

    LOVE it!!!!

    such a real life book. A must read. My daughter loved it to and finished it in one night

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Nice Beach Read.

    Kept my interest the entire time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    Fabulous read!

    I loved this book - I didn't want to put it down or want it to end. Great characters, storyline. This is not your typical run of the mill novel. Very original - great characters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2014

    Ehh

    I'm only 50 pages through the book, but it hasn't caught my attention yet. So far, it's boring and doesn't seem to be written as well as it should. I'm going to give it a bit more of a chance by reading a few more chapters, but if it doesn't get any better soon, I'm giving up on this book. As of right now, I do not recommend it to teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    I usually don't do book reviews because most of the time I am ve

    I usually don't do book reviews because most of the time I am very happy with the stories. And I was very happy with this story up untill I find out the ending of the book. I feel like the supporting characters all have learned a life lesson and also grown in their personalities. But I feel the main character did not learn anything from the circumstances that her actions put her in, and I feel that there was no personal growth within herself or her choices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    Overall Good Read

    In typical Crouch style, this book is a bit dark and hard to begin but as you keep reading you also find yourself unable to put it down, wanting to know more. The main character's unfailing faith in her father causes a rift within the family but also keeps them connected. What she learns about the relationships within her family and with those close to her spins her world around and helps her to finally come to an understanding about her father.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great novel by Katie Crouch!

    I've read another Katie Crouch book, and I really liked it. This one did not disappoint.

    It took a little for me to get used to the narrator's voice. But once I got used to her voice I really got into the book.

    Hanna was so messed up, but she really was a great character. I went from feeling bad for her to being so angry at her, and back again. She had some great grounding forces in her life though. Her brother Palmer (who also has some issues) and her mother Daisy were great characters also. They had dealt with what Hanna was so unwilling to really deal with, and while they understood her issues I think they were ready for her just get on with things.

    The ending was really touching. I think I like the audiobooks more because it's harder for me to guess what is going to happen, and so the endings are always a surprise for me. I really liked the ending of this one. While it was a "happy" ending it wasn't what I would have expected to happen.

    Crouch writes with so much humor in her books. Given the depressing topics she writes about the humor is a much needed relief. I think without the humor this would have been a very sad book. Not having dealt with what Hanna is going through I still was able to understand her because Crouch's writing makes it so easy to relate to the characters.

    Again Crouch has written a great novel!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Good entertainment

    ..... Crouch has a good feel for the city of Charleston and seems to enjoy the characters she has created. This is the story of a woman with many, many issues. After destroying her marriage once again, she heads home to her family. Here she faces the problem that is the lynch-pin to all the others; the disappearance of her father when she was quite young. Ms. Crouch moves the story along at a good readable pace and does not get overly melodramatic. A controlling mother, a wishy-washy ex-boyfriend, a brother with his own issues and a stepfather who does not come close to the stereotype round out the players in this good, quick read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Men and Dogs is a dysfunctional delight.

    Hannah is a lovable mess of a main character. Her immediate family and friends are a close second. The mysterious disappearance of the town doctor, her father, has affected the making and keeping of their relationships for nearly 25 years. Hannah decides that the key to putting her life back together is in solving her father's disappearance. Where others see a tragic boating accident with no body recovered, Hannah sees a small town puzzle complete with lies and hidden agendas. You will root for Hannah while also wanting to put a muzzle on her. Crouch has a fresh, quirky style that keeps pace with her dynamic characters. This will be a quick read with equal parts chuckles and exasperation.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3