Customer Reviews for

Men Are Better Than Women

Average Rating 3.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

'Man Humor' at it's finest. Humor. Jokes. Get it?

This book is hilarious on multiple levels. I found myself laughing uncontrollably countless times, and that's the way I love reading. Yes, we all know that it's man-piggish and egotistical, but that's the point. IT'S A JOKE. I myself am a man, and I'm humanist (not femi...
This book is hilarious on multiple levels. I found myself laughing uncontrollably countless times, and that's the way I love reading. Yes, we all know that it's man-piggish and egotistical, but that's the point. IT'S A JOKE. I myself am a man, and I'm humanist (not feminist. I believe equal rights have truly been bestowed, and time will take care of the rest. Women are capable of great things, and society no longer is holding them down.) and I think this is one of the most comical works that I've ever read. A proper approach to reading this book and not getting irritated, I've found, is to treat it like Stephen Colbert's Book (or TV show, likewise). And, lastly, if you need proof that it's all in humor, check out the identity he goes by on the book. 'Dick Masterson.' It's man humor. If women don't think it's funny, they don't have to read it.

posted by Anonymous on July 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I honestly tried...but this book fails

Short and to the point, this book is a pointless waste of time, money, effort, and attention. If you read this book, your IQ will drop, you will be offended (male or female readers) and you'll wonder how in the world this book justifies a price over a few pennies.

W...
Short and to the point, this book is a pointless waste of time, money, effort, and attention. If you read this book, your IQ will drop, you will be offended (male or female readers) and you'll wonder how in the world this book justifies a price over a few pennies.

While I'm sure the author is somehow attempting to match other authors in the "fratire" genre, this book just comes across as degrading. Look, I'm a guy, I enjoy drunken frat boy stories and sex-capades as much as the next male reader but this book crosses the line.

No point, no story, just pages of insults.

posted by JR_Bookreader on September 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I honestly tried...but this book fails

    Short and to the point, this book is a pointless waste of time, money, effort, and attention. If you read this book, your IQ will drop, you will be offended (male or female readers) and you'll wonder how in the world this book justifies a price over a few pennies.

    While I'm sure the author is somehow attempting to match other authors in the "fratire" genre, this book just comes across as degrading. Look, I'm a guy, I enjoy drunken frat boy stories and sex-capades as much as the next male reader but this book crosses the line.

    No point, no story, just pages of insults.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2010

    wow. Really this Disgusting.

    If this is so called 'man humor' then men have no humor at all. I truly believe that this guy is only writing this piece of crep book because he has had a hard time finding a women who would ever want to be with him because he is too busy being a male chauvanist PIG!! Really guys GET A LIFE!

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    This is truly sick

    This is a really sick book. That pretty much sums it up. I can't believe anyone published this and I'm equally disgusted by anyone who enjoys it. It's horrifying hate material. I actually started crying when I read just a few excerpts. It makes me physically ill.

    5 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    Men at their finest?

    Mr. (and I use that term lightly) Masterson, 40+ years ago would be jumping on the band wagon attacking African-Americans. However based on the present climate, he is a coward and writes about things he fears, women. Why anyone would purchase this piece of trash? It just shows the continued prejudice against women - the caveman ideal. I have no idea what stinky swamp he crawled out, since no bio seems to exist (what is he afraid of, exposing his ignorance). I assume he has no formal education and am unsure if he finished high school, no evidence to the contrary. Other reviews have found his rhetoric "humorous", but that is no excuse for being a closet bigot, who is afraid to admit it. I did not find this humorous. It is demeaning, arrogant, and just plain crap. I hope no one else contributes to his filth spewing. Unfortunately there are not negative stars to give to books like this. As an attorney, I understand freedom of speech, but as the saying goes, an opinion is like an -------, everyone has one.

    4 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book is flat-out awful. Disguising itself as a humorous comparison of the sexes, it is really nothing more than a vicious, unfunny, and poorly-written rant about how stupid women supposedly are. The author claims, among other things, that women don't love their boyfriends, their brains are biologically inferior than men's, and that all women are either nagging shrews or sex objects. Um, ok...where's the punchline? Is the joke supposed to be that everything in the book is so offensive, the author couldn't possibly really mean it? It's hard to say, since there's no subtext, irony, or any other creative devises used that would make the contents appear more than pure misogynistic bile spewed by a man who clearly has issues with women and relationships and desperately needs to reclaim his ego by venting this garbage. Oh, and by the way, the symbol does not mean 'better than', which is a subjective comparison. It means 'greater than', which refers to quantity. What exactly is the title supposed to be?

    4 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    A waste of money!

    Reading his book was similar to reading a thirteen year old's blog, except that what a thirteen year old produces would be a better read. It was like listening a drunken fool; He drones on and on about what he considers a problem, while other factors are to blame. So, if you're not an uneducated, backwards, chauvinistic, basement dweller who most likely came from a broken home environment like the author is, this book is not for you.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2010

    I wanted to see the humor in this

    Let me tell you what's wrong with this book. There will be men, as proven in the reviews, that will read this book and totally miss it's intended "humor". They will say "Yes, women are inferior stupid beings that are only good for sex and doing what I want." They will grow to hate the women who will reject them because of this attitude that has been instilled in them and confirmed by this book and they will dehumanize women to the point that they no longer see them as equals and they will feel no shame in raping, hurting, or harassing women in society. This book is not only sexist, it's dangerous.

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Terrible!

    DONT READ THIS PIECE OF CRAP WRITTEN BY A SEXIST PIG NAMED DICK (IRONIC HUH?) WHO PROBABLY CANT GET A GIRL BECAUSE HE IS TOO BUSY SHOVING HIS HEAD UP HIS A$$!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    WOW

    Just, ugg. This guy seems like he was born in, like, ancient times. I mean, my guy buds make a few "anti" women jokes around girls, but nothing like WRITING A FRIGGEN BOOK full of insults.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Wrong

    Girls are way better than stupid boys (long live girls!!!!!!!)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Worst thing ever

    Oh how i wish i could get back the time it took me to read the 16 page sample, seriously dont read this

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1