Customer Reviews for

Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus: The Classic Guide to Understanding the Opposite Sex

Average Rating 4
( 221 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Right

This book helps women and men understand each other better. It helps women to understand why men do the things they do and say the things they say. It helps men understand how women feel and why we feel the way we do. The book serves as a mediator, it tells each part...
This book helps women and men understand each other better. It helps women to understand why men do the things they do and say the things they say. It helps men understand how women feel and why we feel the way we do. The book serves as a mediator, it tells each party where they went wrong as far as communicating what you have to say and interpreting what was said. This book has helped me to understand my partner better and respect his need to go into his cave. Women are capable of doing more than one thing at one time, but men aren't. So while we as women are talking, listening and thinking a man is either talking, listening or thinking.

posted by Anonymous on September 27, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I am not a Womens activist, but if someone was really being an active reader they would have caught on to the hidden cues in this book. John Gray has issues with women and wrote this book to help men negate all accountability and responsibility for their actions. Me...
I am not a Womens activist, but if someone was really being an active reader they would have caught on to the hidden cues in this book. John Gray has issues with women and wrote this book to help men negate all accountability and responsibility for their actions. Men instinctively go to their caves! They don't know they're doing it! While men are in their caves women should go talk to their friends or go shopping! How condescending. Sure, he added some flavor to help the women reading the book believe that he was really interested in helping them, and added some catch phrases to sell it , but I'm not buying this bull! Everything we say and do has meaning, right! Well, why do men go to caves? Caves make us think of cavemen who symbolize strength, and aggression. The hunter! Tell me why we are claimed to dwell in a well when we need time out. A well makes me think of something deep, dark, dirty, far beneath the earth. Is this Hell? The well is a symbol of darkness, aloneness, despair. Wow, are women pathetic in the eyes of John Gray. I refuse to read anymore of his books until he comes back from Mars and lands on planet Earth

posted by Anonymous on November 8, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    I am not a Womens activist, but if someone was really being an active reader they would have caught on to the hidden cues in this book. John Gray has issues with women and wrote this book to help men negate all accountability and responsibility for their actions. Men instinctively go to their caves! They don't know they're doing it! While men are in their caves women should go talk to their friends or go shopping! How condescending. Sure, he added some flavor to help the women reading the book believe that he was really interested in helping them, and added some catch phrases to sell it , but I'm not buying this bull! Everything we say and do has meaning, right! Well, why do men go to caves? Caves make us think of cavemen who symbolize strength, and aggression. The hunter! Tell me why we are claimed to dwell in a well when we need time out. A well makes me think of something deep, dark, dirty, far beneath the earth. Is this Hell? The well is a symbol of darkness, aloneness, despair. Wow, are women pathetic in the eyes of John Gray. I refuse to read anymore of his books until he comes back from Mars and lands on planet Earth

    15 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2003

    Absolutely Right

    This book helps women and men understand each other better. It helps women to understand why men do the things they do and say the things they say. It helps men understand how women feel and why we feel the way we do. The book serves as a mediator, it tells each party where they went wrong as far as communicating what you have to say and interpreting what was said. This book has helped me to understand my partner better and respect his need to go into his cave. Women are capable of doing more than one thing at one time, but men aren't. So while we as women are talking, listening and thinking a man is either talking, listening or thinking.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2003

    A must read for women!

    I wish I'd read this in high school, I never would have bothered dating. A woman wants two things from a relationship: someone who cares about the events of her day and listens to her, and someone who invests his time in improving her quality of life. In this book, two very important points are made clear: (1) no man wants to hear a woman talk about her day, he considers it nagging and (2) the more a woman does for a man, the less he will do for her in return. The only thing the author never explains about marriage is what's in it for women?

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    Best relationship book ever!

    This book was a great help to my husband and myself. We wouldn't be together if we didn't read it. The book doesn't tell you what to do or anything like that. It is meant to give you a deeper understanding of men or women and how they interact. It help us understand our differences and that it is ok to be different. I am deeply greatful for this book, it has helped me save my marriage.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    John Gray's Audio Book: Men Are From Mars, Women Are From Venus

    The content is excellent. However, the author's reading of the material is monotonous and therefore hard for us to remain focused on the audio. The reading needs a little more of depth of emotion to it. It sounds too much like reading instead of a conversation on a very important topic. If you want a good example of what I'm saying, I suggest listening to Dr. Bruce Lipton on "The Biology of Believe" or Antony Robbins' "Awakening the Giant Within". These authors can put emotion in their reading.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2005

    A very good book

    I know that I am still in high school and I know that kids don't understand true love yet, but this is a wonderful book that changed my views about men. It helped me understand my boyfriend more. I'm glad I read it while I was still in high school.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus is an interactive self-h

    Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus is an interactive self-help/relationship book, a best selling book, and for good reason. John Gray Ph.D deserves to be a New York Times best selling author - he is a relationship guru! Gary fills 321 pages with relationship advice: from acknowledging that men and women come from different planets, studying each other’s languages, learning how to provide support through stressful times, examining how men and women score ‘points’ differently in a relationship, the actual ‘seasons of love’, and so much more! Gary shares second hand experiences he knows of from participants of his seminars and emails from his readers. Stories of success and happiness that are a product of not only attending his seminars or reading his books but utilizing his techniques. Numerous accounts were mentioned throughout the book about marriages that were not only bettered, but even saved - from divorce! When couples are knowledgable of the differences between them and their partner, they are more understanding. When this understanding of differences is mutually understood, marriages have been brought back from the dead and given a second chance. Gary also gets intimate with his readers as his entire introduction to his book is a narrative of his personal life, and the influence his own failing marriage had on his writing. He also shares his own success story of how realizing the differences he has from his wife and daughters allows him to be more understanding and has led to him being a better husband and father! This book was not necessarily a gut-wrenching love story but was certainly a page turner! I loved the way each topic seemed to connect to my life, in one way or another; my relationship, my parent’s relationship, and stories of relationships I have only been a victim to hearing about. I could not help but nod my head in agreement, and chuckle at how spot on Gary was about the way women think and act and react to men and other life situations, it was amazing! However, periodically there was a bias that the book was clearly written by a man. None the less, Gary did a wonderful job of rooting for both teams and of dissecting the thoughts, feelings and motives behind why men and women act and react the way they do. I would recommend this book to anyone in a relationship, even if things are currently going smoothly, if even to prevent or understand the rough waters that are to come. It is a good resource to come back to over and over again, to review techniques or get motivated from others’ success stories! There is no reason to not read this book, it can do no harm, but maybe open your eyes to realizations you might have been turning a blind eye to, but this text, unlike many novels is beneficial to you and those around you. A must read! Or at a must least skim, and take good notes. Two thumbs up!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2006

    informational!

    my friend recommended me to read this book when i was 20. that was the time i realized a lot of things between me and the opposite sex. i find most of the information in book true, and it was really a great help. i understood the opposite sex more, and it gave me a smoother kind of relationship. my boyfriend once told me that nobody understands him better than i do. that made me say 'thanks to Mars and Venus'. since then, i recommended this book to most of my friends so they will understand their partners better. we just can't judge people based on their actions. there are a lot of things that we have to take in consideration. First is that they think differently and they were raised differently. i got that from the book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2006

    1955 revisited?

    This book has some valuable insights. Having said that, I find the authors style to be condescending and irritating. Within the first chapter I found myself thinking of the widely spread 'Good wife's guide' published in 1955 by Housekeeping Monthly. He suggests that it is a woman's duty to restrain from bothering her partner while he is locked away (literatlly) in his private 'cave' space for WEEKS AT A TIME. Give me a break! (And this is okay because great lions too sit in silence as they look out over their kingdom!) How disappointing.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    Avoiding The Drama

    I wish I had read this book earlier in my life. I just went through a hard breakup that is non-repairable. I had several friends who recommend that I read this book. All I can say is I truly believe if I had read it earlier, I probably could have avoided the drama I have been going through. My relationship had gone through almost everything in that book and I just didn't understand how to handle the emotional part, the cave, the well, the childhood issues, etc. If you haven't read this book, you might continue to make the same mistakes like I was doing. I'm much more confident going forward.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Classic relationship manual

    The best advice resonates deep inside you, causing you to think "of course, I knew that." As you read this classic by relationship guru John Gray, you'll find yourself smiling, nodding your head in agreement, and marveling at the simplicity and truth of his advice. Groundbreaking when first published, this manual details the differences between how men and women process emotions, handle stress, and communicate needs and feelings. It also explains how they want their partner to love them. Gray points out how men and women often overlook these essential differences when dealing with each other in relationships. getAbstract predicts that once you read Gray's guide, you'll understand why people often refer to it as "the book," and why it has helped millions of couples everywhere.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Learned so much..

    This was one book that I know helped inspire me to go into psychology. The simple terms used, and the way it was presented made deep ideas reachable, and goals obtainable with regards to men!


    Thank you for writing this! I have friends that read it, and it literally saved their marriages!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2004

    The lightbulb came on!

    Faced with a conflict with my husband that began quite small but became rather large is what led me to this classic. Because I gained a better understanding of what a man's basic needs are, I was able to accept my part in the conflict. From this book, we both have gained essential tools that we can use to deepen our relationship, help us grow in love and even avoid future potential conflicts. Thank God for this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2002

    Read this book carefully

    I thought the most interesting relationship suggestion John Gray gave was in releasing negativity through the love letter technique. He suggested composing a letter to your partner, to write out your feelings, including five parts: anger, sadness, fear, regret and love. In doing this, you can understand your feelings, allowing you to open up to your partner and let the negative feelings go, so you can reach the love. Sharing your love letters in an appropriate way leads to a better understanding of your needs. Your partner will respect your feelings and respond in a loving, safe way. This is one way to communicate your love to your partner. If you only read one section of this book, don¿t miss Chapter 9 because it explains how to deal with differences and disagreements in couples. When couples disagree, their discussions can easily turn into arguments and then intensify even more. The best thing to do is to avoid an argument, take a time out, trying to understand why you are upset. To prevent arguments, it helps to develop good communication skills with each other, learning to communicate with love, validation and approval. Understand and remember what our partner¿s needs are and try to give it to them. Life will be easier and more fulfilling for both. I think the most intriguing quote John Gray said in the entire book is, ¿Men and women generally are unaware that they have different emotional needs¿. Men need trust, acceptance and encouragement. Women need caring, understanding and respect. When trying to improve a relationship, you must understand the primary kind of love our partner needs. One way a man can take care of a woman¿s needs is through communication. Just to listen to her feelings without trying to solve her problems can be a truly wonderful gift.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2001

    Guide to perfecting your relationship

    I have read this book three (3) times! Along with his other books and tapes, John Gray leads us down the path of outstanding enlightenment. I love his books. I realized that I was going about dealing with 'martians' all wrong and now I am confident that I will find lasting love. We truly are different beings from different planets and once we learn how to deal with the opposite sex, everything else in our lives becomes more enriching. I highly recommend his books tapes videos - whatever you prefer- to both men and women - his information is truly worthwhile.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    I read this book many years ago to try to fix a bad relationship

    I read this book many years ago to try to fix a bad relationship. Although the relationship fell apart, I had a better understanding as to why it didn't work. Now that I am in a new relationship, I am reading it again to refresh my memory.
    There are a lot of good points in this book. It forces you to think and evaluate your role in a relationship. As with most things in life, this is not a perfect fit for everyone. Read it and take away what applies to you. The bad reviews on this
    book amazes me. It is not meant to make excuses for the behavior of our partner. If people would read with an open mind they would get more out of the book.  It is a given fact that men and women think and act differently. Dr. Gray gives 
    the reader insight on how to deal with those differences. Some things in life 'just are'. This book is all about understanding, perception, and acceptance.

     If you are a headstrong, stubborn person who believes that you are perfect, or if you believe that you can change your partner then this book is not for you. If you accept the fact that
     men and women are different and you want to understand those differences a little better then I highly recommend this book. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2002

    One of My Favorite Books

    This is by far one of my favorite books, never before has anyone been so dead on when it comes to relationships. I found myself laughing while reading, due to its description of my very own relationship. Of course I made my boyfriend read it but I think we've both benefited from it. I personally think this book should be made mandatory to get a marriage license!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2002

    This is a WONDERFUL BOOK!

    I love this book! It helps me understand men better than before and I now know the reasons why men may act the way they do sometimes. I also know what to say and what not to say to men. I would read it a 2nd time! Gray is a wonderful author! Feel free to e-mail me and we can talk about the book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2000

    Most Helpful Information Out There

    This book may seem a little tiedious at first because you'll know what he's talking about. After you get into the book it teaches you a lot about the different sexes. You'll learn more from this book than you can from any other and any expieriences you'll ever have. John Gray Ph D. knows what he is talking about. This book has helped me in many ways of dealing with relationships. It will help even more if you and your partner read the book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Relationship saver

    This book can help you understand how your partner thinks and why they react the way they do. It can also help you to see your own problems and give you ways to better the communication in your marriage

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 221 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12