Customer Reviews for

Men Are from Mars, Women Are from Venus: The Classic Guide to Understanding the Opposite Sex

Average Rating 4
( 220 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Absolutely Right

This book helps women and men understand each other better. It helps women to understand why men do the things they do and say the things they say. It helps men understand how women feel and why we feel the way we do. The book serves as a mediator, it tells each part...
This book helps women and men understand each other better. It helps women to understand why men do the things they do and say the things they say. It helps men understand how women feel and why we feel the way we do. The book serves as a mediator, it tells each party where they went wrong as far as communicating what you have to say and interpreting what was said. This book has helped me to understand my partner better and respect his need to go into his cave. Women are capable of doing more than one thing at one time, but men aren't. So while we as women are talking, listening and thinking a man is either talking, listening or thinking.

posted by Anonymous on September 27, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I am not a Womens activist, but if someone was really being an active reader they would have caught on to the hidden cues in this book. John Gray has issues with women and wrote this book to help men negate all accountability and responsibility for their actions. Me...
I am not a Womens activist, but if someone was really being an active reader they would have caught on to the hidden cues in this book. John Gray has issues with women and wrote this book to help men negate all accountability and responsibility for their actions. Men instinctively go to their caves! They don't know they're doing it! While men are in their caves women should go talk to their friends or go shopping! How condescending. Sure, he added some flavor to help the women reading the book believe that he was really interested in helping them, and added some catch phrases to sell it , but I'm not buying this bull! Everything we say and do has meaning, right! Well, why do men go to caves? Caves make us think of cavemen who symbolize strength, and aggression. The hunter! Tell me why we are claimed to dwell in a well when we need time out. A well makes me think of something deep, dark, dirty, far beneath the earth. Is this Hell? The well is a symbol of darkness, aloneness, despair. Wow, are women pathetic in the eyes of John Gray. I refuse to read anymore of his books until he comes back from Mars and lands on planet Earth

posted by Anonymous on November 8, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2003

    Absolutely Right

    This book helps women and men understand each other better. It helps women to understand why men do the things they do and say the things they say. It helps men understand how women feel and why we feel the way we do. The book serves as a mediator, it tells each party where they went wrong as far as communicating what you have to say and interpreting what was said. This book has helped me to understand my partner better and respect his need to go into his cave. Women are capable of doing more than one thing at one time, but men aren't. So while we as women are talking, listening and thinking a man is either talking, listening or thinking.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus is an interactive self-h

    Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus is an interactive self-help/relationship book, a best selling book, and for good reason. John Gray Ph.D deserves to be a New York Times best selling author - he is a relationship guru! Gary fills 321 pages with relationship advice: from acknowledging that men and women come from different planets, studying each other’s languages, learning how to provide support through stressful times, examining how men and women score ‘points’ differently in a relationship, the actual ‘seasons of love’, and so much more! Gary shares second hand experiences he knows of from participants of his seminars and emails from his readers. Stories of success and happiness that are a product of not only attending his seminars or reading his books but utilizing his techniques. Numerous accounts were mentioned throughout the book about marriages that were not only bettered, but even saved - from divorce! When couples are knowledgable of the differences between them and their partner, they are more understanding. When this understanding of differences is mutually understood, marriages have been brought back from the dead and given a second chance. Gary also gets intimate with his readers as his entire introduction to his book is a narrative of his personal life, and the influence his own failing marriage had on his writing. He also shares his own success story of how realizing the differences he has from his wife and daughters allows him to be more understanding and has led to him being a better husband and father! This book was not necessarily a gut-wrenching love story but was certainly a page turner! I loved the way each topic seemed to connect to my life, in one way or another; my relationship, my parent’s relationship, and stories of relationships I have only been a victim to hearing about. I could not help but nod my head in agreement, and chuckle at how spot on Gary was about the way women think and act and react to men and other life situations, it was amazing! However, periodically there was a bias that the book was clearly written by a man. None the less, Gary did a wonderful job of rooting for both teams and of dissecting the thoughts, feelings and motives behind why men and women act and react the way they do. I would recommend this book to anyone in a relationship, even if things are currently going smoothly, if even to prevent or understand the rough waters that are to come. It is a good resource to come back to over and over again, to review techniques or get motivated from others’ success stories! There is no reason to not read this book, it can do no harm, but maybe open your eyes to realizations you might have been turning a blind eye to, but this text, unlike many novels is beneficial to you and those around you. A must read! Or at a must least skim, and take good notes. Two thumbs up!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2002

    Read this book carefully

    I thought the most interesting relationship suggestion John Gray gave was in releasing negativity through the love letter technique. He suggested composing a letter to your partner, to write out your feelings, including five parts: anger, sadness, fear, regret and love. In doing this, you can understand your feelings, allowing you to open up to your partner and let the negative feelings go, so you can reach the love. Sharing your love letters in an appropriate way leads to a better understanding of your needs. Your partner will respect your feelings and respond in a loving, safe way. This is one way to communicate your love to your partner. If you only read one section of this book, don¿t miss Chapter 9 because it explains how to deal with differences and disagreements in couples. When couples disagree, their discussions can easily turn into arguments and then intensify even more. The best thing to do is to avoid an argument, take a time out, trying to understand why you are upset. To prevent arguments, it helps to develop good communication skills with each other, learning to communicate with love, validation and approval. Understand and remember what our partner¿s needs are and try to give it to them. Life will be easier and more fulfilling for both. I think the most intriguing quote John Gray said in the entire book is, ¿Men and women generally are unaware that they have different emotional needs¿. Men need trust, acceptance and encouragement. Women need caring, understanding and respect. When trying to improve a relationship, you must understand the primary kind of love our partner needs. One way a man can take care of a woman¿s needs is through communication. Just to listen to her feelings without trying to solve her problems can be a truly wonderful gift.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Relationship saver

    This book can help you understand how your partner thinks and why they react the way they do. It can also help you to see your own problems and give you ways to better the communication in your marriage

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2000

    Good insight

    Despite painting the sexes with a wide brush, Gray does an admirable job of helping us get to know how the other sex thinks. All too often we try to use the golden rule on each other but women don't want to be treated like a guy might treat himself and vice versa

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Gjgjy .

    Bmbmbmgvnyi byibm .yi .gjgjhj
    Yi

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This book has become one of the popular books for its topic. Tho

    This book has become one of the popular books for its topic. Though still some cannot agree with this book, the opinions in this book are generally true. But I still firmly believe that men and women are actually two different types of human but always complement each other so understanding each should not be a problem. This book tells the both sides' traits and behaviors and it's up to the readers on how to adjust to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Awesome :)

    I havnt finished this book yet but what iv read has made my relationship make so much more since! I recommend this book to anyone who cant figure out what goes on inside a man or womans head!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2012

    This was a very good book! It helped me with understanding the

    This was a very good book! It helped me with understanding the mans end
    and put me in check with my expectations for my next relationship:)
    Very insightful and highly recommended! Also, read Mars and Venus
    Starting Over, that book helped me SO much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    This book makes all the sense in the world. I had no idea what I

    This book makes all the sense in the world. I had no idea what I was "saying" to my husband verses what he was "hearing". The author goes back and forth between chapters focused on women and then men. It was a quick and entertaining read and I enjoyed it greatly. My favorite part was the way he points out the difference between how to ask for support/help. What a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    GOOD BOOK - GRADE B

    There is a lot of good stuff in this book. Helped me understand women better. But it seems to be more for married people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Helpful regardless of the age of the boy

    Not only did I learn a lot about why I do some of the things I do, I was also able to apply some of those lessons to my relationships with my children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2010

    A great book that both me and my husband read.

    This is a great book for understanding how your partners mind works. I found some of the insights interesting. My husband also read this book and liked it. The book is full of examples that help understanding. One small negative point is that we both thought there was too much repetition in the book. Saying this I would still recommend this to anyone who wants to better understand the other sex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    Men are from Mars...right on

    After reading this book and finding it completely true and delightfull to read I set it in plain sight where my husband would be sure to pick it up and flip through it. Sure enough he did and a couple of days later I saw him sitting there reading it. He said this stuff is right on the mark. The author really has men down pat...you should read this...I replied that I had and told him to read about the women too because it was right there too. We have a great marriage of 30 years but you know when you might read something that will make it even better. Great for the single bunch too so you know what you are getting into before you pop the question. Why it could even stamp out divorce.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    Informative

    I enjoyed the book. It was very easy to read. However the only thing that bothered me was the book seemed to repeat itself throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Good Book But..........

    I was very interested in this book because I wanted to like all people understand the opposite sex a little better. This book had very good points, but, the author stated the same thing over and over again too many times and in different words. I ended up reading another book at the same time so when I got BORED of reading the same thing over and over again that I could just pick up the other one to keep me from falling asleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2006

    Cave Man

    I appreciate the way Grey sees relationships from the man's side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2006

    I have always heard about this book...

    Soooo, I read it and found that there are a few points that are relevant. I wouldn't say that it is the cure all for everything, but entertaining. The depth isn't really that deep. I think depth can only be manifested when speaking on a spiritual level of understanding the opposite sex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2005

    So that's why!

    I had heard about this book for awhile and thought it was more of a comedy on relationships than for self improvement. As I began to read it, I found myself completely engaged in what the author had to say. I had a hard time putting it down. So many things started to make sense. I started putting some of the advise into action and it works! This book really started to shed some light for me. I would recommend this to anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2006

    Informative

    Dr. John Gray teaches about the differences in men and women and how we need to accept each other because that was the way that we were made to be. This book gives information that will not only help in your relationship, but with interacting people of all walks of life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3