BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Men Who Hate Women and the Women Who Love Them

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    This book changes lives

    If you're serious about finding out why you are not picking the "right" mate, you should read this book. I read this book ~23 years ago. A friend recommended it. She read it and changed her relationship behavior and she thought I could definitely benefit from the insight in this book.

    Here is the bottom line...This book explained how my relationship with my mother turned me into a co-dependent mess. Therefore, I was looking for "men" (purposely in quotations) that were not in a good place in their own lives and I was trying to save them.

    By the time I finished this book, I was done with a three year relationship that shouldn't have lasted three months. I was struggling to get out of it and this book saved my life.

    Literally!!

    I dated a little after that relationship and then I met my husband. I've been married for twenty years. He doesn't have any dependencies and we are in a great place (Thank all that is good in life).

    Read it if you're struggling to leave someone that you know isn't right for you. Read it if you are trying to get over a relationship that you knew all along wasn't good for you anyway. AND read it if you dare to change how you think.

    Enjoy.

    Happy in Love

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    Women can be controlling too

    I read this book years ago it helped me leave a marriage that was so wrong for me. My son is now married to a woman who is a carbon copy of the men described in this book. I have recommended it to him and hope he gets a copy to read. I considered this book my Bible and carried it with me everywhere. I had so many passages highlighted it was unbelievable. I recommend this book to anyone, either man or woman, who is in this type of relationship. It saved my life!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Brilliant Book

    Don't let the title put you off. This book is for verbally and emotionally abusive relationships, those of you dealing with controlling jerks, people that want to change you and the like. It's great. It was recommended to me and I read it in like two days. It's amazing what some people think they can get away with.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2005

    Absolutely incredible

    I am just now discovering the author and her incredible insight into human relationships. This is the second book by her that I have read. A friend of mine suggested that I read it to help me out with my failing marriage of 25 years. It's as though Ms. Forward knows me and my husband. This book has allowed me to take an honest look at my marraige, my relationship with this man, and see why I love this man so much and why he treats me like garbage in return. It is a must read for any woman that needs to heal from an abusive relationship with a spouse and either repair the marriage or get out of it and move on. Coupled with counseling, this book will heal your broken heart and give you back your life. It's truly an amazing publication. Susan Forward is the best author I have ever found that truly understands a woman's broken and lost soul. Read it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Love this book. Its so helpfull

    I almost didnt get this book because i thought the title was too strong but i got it and read it without putting it down. I had just escaped my abusive husband and it felt like this book was about me. I wanted to know why he did this to me and why i put up with it. This book helped me understand. Ive given this book out 4 times to other women.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    Highly Recommended - a Must Read

    I found this book very informative. Every woman who has problems within their relationship or past relationships should read this book; I believe one will gain a strong perspective of problems. Keep in mind, the role can switch from a man being the problem to women hatred towards a man. However, men are predominantly the aggressors.

    As a man, I find this book could shed a light on behaviors, which one may not be aware they may possess. This book could save a marriage and/or prevent one from walking into a potential relationship problem. This book is a ¿must read¿ for any single woman looking to find a mate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2006

    opens your eyes

    This book gave me courage, it supported my thoughts that I wasn't going crazy living with a man that made me feel like I was worth nothing. I read the pages like I was starving, I highlighted it, carried it everywhere with me. Every page was like reading what I had gone thru for so long by myself. The author describes instances of crazy making, walking on eggshells, but better yet.. how to recognize it and take the steps to get out of that type of relationship. I have been divorced now for 9 years and still recommend this book as a life saving device for women that are now going thru similar circumstances.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2004

    a 'real' friend told about this book

    this book has help me so much, I took it to church and shared it with my 'all women class'.sometimes I find my self re-reading this book, so I can remind my self 'why I left my husband....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2000

    Important for any woman to read

    This book got me out of a terrible relationship in time to keep my 18-month old son from turning out just like his father. What I liked best about it, though, is the fact it explained how men can be this way. For a long time, I thought my husband was the Antichrist; now I realize he just needs counseling. On the other hand, it opened my eyes to the fact I can't help him. I decided I had to leave until he decides to help himself. For my son and I, though, I literally think it was a life-saver.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    I was reading about the last 18 years of my own marriage

    I had recently filed for a divorce from my husband of 18 years. I agreed to go to marriage counseling and during a private session with just myself and our therapist, he told me that my husband is a Mesogonist (sorry for the spelling) and recommended that I read this book to help me understand that personality type. I read it from cover to cover and saw myself, abused and oppressed. It helped me to open my eyes to the full truth about my marriage and has given me the strength to find myself and to go through with the divorce with my head held high understanding that I am worth more than he has allowed me to believe. It is a very insightful book that helped me understand the manipulative behavior of a man who doesn't know how to love anything but power, control, manipulation and abusing others. If you are there- read this book and find yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I read this book 20 years ago and it helped me through a very painful divorce. It gave me the power I never knew I had to take control my life and get rid of the pain. I've been very happily married for 18 years to the best man in the world because I changed how I listened. I am buying this book for a friend hoping it helps her as much as it did me. A must read for many women.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2005

    Handbook to Live By

    This book is amazing. I saw myself and my ex-husband on every page. I read it many years ago and it started me on the journey of change, which originated in unspeakable family dysfuntion. I now use it to counsel others going through the same thing. Dr. Forward has changed countless lives with this book. If you know the way you are treated is wrong, but you do not know how to stop the cycle, get this book TODAY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2000

    LIFE SAVER!!

    This book taught me to quit reacting to my partners behavior and how to choose to ACT on my own by showing me how to remove myself from the insane circle and QUIT doing my own part of this destructive cycle. It takes two - and when you are able to see your part and stop it - then it dies or your partner is forced to get helpe and rise up to your level. Good luck and FINISH the book -don't just start it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2