Customer Reviews for

Men of the Otherworld (Women of the Otherworld Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(131)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 211 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love the Men's Viewpoints

    I cannot tell you how much I wish that most books had the leading male's point of views. When it's the guys' point of view, it makes me understand the book and the character itself. Twilight did that with Jacob in the 4th book, and I hope Stephanie decides to keep writing Midnight Sun because I would LOVE to learn Edwards side. Then this book...it does exactly that. It makes you understand Clay's character A LOT, shows just how strong Jeremy is and why he is so patient. You learn about Jeremy's father which is big. You also get to learn the why's on some stuff that has been brought up in the Women of the Otherworld series about Jeremy. Why he's different than other Alpha's, why he can contact and sense everyone in the pack by his abilities....oh, and you can sense what he's like in love too :-)

    I loved this book. Definitely a book that I will read over and over again, I HIGHLY recommend it.

    Kelley Armstrong has become one of my favorite authors that I just happened to stumble across by walking around a book store one day and I'm definitely not disappointed. You'll love this book and any book by her.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Women of the Otherword from a Male Perspective

    These are four connected stories rather than a novel set in Armstrong's Women of the Otherworld series. As that title for the series suggests, those books, almost a dozen to date, are almost all told from a female perspective, and usually first person at that--and though connected through different protagonists, although each novel generally following the earlier one's events. This book is different. The four stories are not just written from a male perspective and third person, but within and about a all-male werewolf pack--the one Elena, in Bitten, would come to be the first female member. Bitten is the first of the series, but I could make a case for starting here. The werewolves are generally at the heart of the series but I found Clay in Bitten problematic. This was the first book to really gain my sympathy and liking for him, rather than tolerating him when he showed up in a series I otherwise loved. It does that without pulling its punches about the scary parts of his character either. Jeremy on the other hand *is* a character I always liked, and it made for a good read to have a lot of his background fleshed out here. I also found Armstrong's take on werewolves and their pack dynamics engrossing.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An excellent read!

    To say that this book was not disappointing would be an understatement. The stories let you take a look into the past of some of the male characters that you already love. I have read all of the Women of the Otherworld series and have loved them. I added this title to my collection as soon as it came out, and will no doubt be picking up her next title as soon as it hits the shelves.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    Thanks for this wonderful series

    Thank you Kelly Armstrong for the insight into Jeremy's background and how ruthless his father Malcolm Danvers was. It was a pleasure to find out about the super natural half of his lineage. I enjoyed finding out how and when Clayton was turned, as well as how Jeremy came to find and raise him. I'm now engrossed in Women of the Otherworld, finding out how Clayton and Elena met and fall in love. All of the Women of the Otherworld books are hard to put down. Now the wait is on for the next installment in this series after Waking the Witch. Thank goodness there's a lot of unfinished business with each character to continue this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    wonderful book

    I love her characters. This book fills in alot of good information. Clay as a child is to cute. You get a feel for how he really is, he is so much more than just a killing machine. If you love Kelley Armstrong's werewolfs this book is a must have. I had to make myself put down this book, i could have read it through in one day if i didn't.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Brought the previous books together!

    I have been a fan of Kelley Armstrong for several years. I recenlty re-read all her Women of the Underworld series and picked this up after I was finished. I was a amazed at how well the author set the previous books up and that she could come up with the Men of the Otherworld and tell thier stories. This was escpecially astounding when I read that her first novel, Bitten, was meant to be the only book. I really enjoyed getting Jeremy and Clay's back story and how they came to be how and what they are.

    I recommend this book to anyone who is a Kelley Armstrong fan and has read any of her Women of the Underworld series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    should read this first,

    I am totally in love with Jeremy and Clayton. This is a very good book, it helps me to understand Jeremy and Clayton a lot better, from the other series that I have read. I would recommend this book to any one who likes to read about werewolves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    loved it

    1 of the first books i bought for my nook. wonderful read. i couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Good

    Nice....&....<....>....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    Left Me Wanting MORE!

    I was so disappointed that the chapters were so short, it was a tease. You just start learning a little something that makes your favorite character tick and boom your moved onto the next one. It was really great getting the new info, that extra layer into their past but she really could have made a book for each one. I suppose that is the mark of a good writer though, to leave her readers clutching the book both happy to have gotten something but sad because it wasn't enough. I'm just glad that this book help to redeem her after that flatline book that focused on Robyn, Hope Adams friend (YAWN) man that book sucked. So I would definately recommend this Men of the Otherworld series and hope for many more about the guys to continue.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    Great book, Great story, Great Everything.

    This book gives a new erspective to the time place and happenings of the later otherworld books. It is great to finally see what happened to cause the events of the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great rainy day read

    Clayton asked for the bite but surviving as a lone child werewolf was more than he could manage. Jeremy gave him a home, introduced him to the pack, and taught him how to straddle the human-werewolf worlds. As the wild child grows to a clever teen he learns to not only to control his animal instincts but to navigate pack politics and battle his arch nemesis Malcolm, Jeremy's father and the werewolf that originally bit him. Malcolm disdains his half-bred son of a demigod race which seems to have taken out the raging ferocity associated with alpha males. When the pack alpha dies, Malcolm claims the position but Jeremy's wit prevails over brawn with the help of his strong body guard Clayton.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Good rainy day read

    Clayton asked for the bite but surviving as a lone child werewolf was more than he could manage. Jeremy gave him a home, introduced him to the pack, and taught him how to straddle the human-werewolf worlds. As the wild child grows to a clever teen he learns to not only to control his animal instincts but to navigate pack politics and battle his arch nemesis Malcolm, Jeremy's father and the werewolf that originally bit him. Malcolm disdains his half-bred son of a demigod race which seems to have taken out the raging ferocity associated with alpha males. When the pack alpha dies, Malcolm claims the position but Jeremy's wit prevails over brawn with the help of his strong body guard Clayton.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great addition to the Otherworld series

    This prequel answers many of the questions raised in earlier books. Men of the Otherworld flows well and offers great suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best book

    Loved this book read it in 2 days !!!! Hope there are more to come!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Enjoyed the Men of the Otherworld

    I loved getting to know the men behind the women, knowing their stories increases the depths of all the characters. Amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Clayton my second love

    This truly gave me a deeper understanding of Clayton and Jeremy Danvers. Excellent read. Can't wait to read more!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    men of the otherworld/ kelly armstrong

    Ok folks I am odd man out on this book. It appears to be the lastest in an on going series. I havent read those not sure in truth if I would. Its a good read not sure it is worth hard back sticker price. In truth the preview in the back for the next book seemed more interesting. In this , we meet her fantasy of the wolf/were world. I believe this book was intended more as a fill in story back lines that maybe were missed in the others. I didnt find this book to be a yawner.. but I wasnt on the edge of the seat either.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Success for Armstrong

    Kelley Armstrong is one of my favorite authors, so it probably comes as no surprised that I loved this book. It was a surprised to me, however, because there's no romance, few women, no romantic love and it's a compilation of a few different occurrences, which is something I usually shy away from. This book is comprised of a number of novellas Armstrong wrote for her fan website. In this compilation, they flow together seamlessly and give that much needed background to Jeremy and Clay Danvers. I wish I'd read this one first so that I'd had a better understanding of Clay before I read "Bitten" and a better understanding of Jeremy before I read "No Humans Involved." Most of all, though, I hope this isn't the last book in this captivating series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    Armstrong always good

    you might think Kelly Armstrong is not quite human herself from the effortless way she makes us believe in her characters and world. Another good one for Armstrong fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 211 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11