Customer Reviews for

Mended (Connections Series #3)

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    4.25 stars: MENDED is the third full length storyline in Kim Kar

    4.25 stars: MENDED is the third full length storyline in Kim Karr’s contemporary, new adult Connections erotic romance series. This is Xander Wilde and Ivy Taylor’s storyline.  Xander is the band manager for The Wilde Ones’ and Ivy is the woman he loved and lost over tens years ago. While preparing for their upcoming tour the band’s lead singer will be forced to take some time off and Ivy offers herself up as the group’s new lead vocals. Told from alternating first person POV (Xander and Ivy) the novel is a combination of past, present, dream sequences and flashbacks.
    The focus of the story is a second chance at love for Xander and Ivy. High school sweethearts and lovers, Xander and Ivy’s relationship would be destroyed by a mistaken belief and family tragedy. Fast forward over a decade later and Xander’s feelings for Ivy have never faltered but Ivy is now promised to another man-one whose aim is to destroy the band and the Wilde family.
    Kim Karr pulls the reader into an emotional and tragic tale of first loves, secrets, family rivalry, and betrayal. The Connections series comes full circle with the revelations of the past, the present and possibly the future. Dark and painful secrets will be revealed that will crush a man’s heart when everything he knows to be true has been built upon a lie-a lie that will affect not only his life but the woman that he loves.
    The world building continues with the inclusion of the previous storyline characters including The Wilde Ones band members and family. River and Dahlia’s storyline continues with a heartbreaking loss; Aerie Daniels (Dazed) returns with some information that will help Xander in his struggle to save the woman that he loves; and younger sister Bell whose past will be surfacing in the next Connections novel. 
    MENDED is a story of struggle, lies, loss and guilt. It is a story about one man whose entire life has been based upon a lie and the guilt he has buried for the sins of the past. Kim Karr writes a seductive, moving and dramatic storyline where family secrets can lead to heartbreaking reality; where an idealistic young man finds himself alone without the woman that he loves; and where one moment in time can lead to years of improbable pain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2014

    Love this series ! Very well written!

    This book as well as the entire series is awesome and VERY well written ! Each book has a great plot and always leaves you wanting more..... Can't wait for the next book by Kim Kerr!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Mended by Kim Karr (Book 3 in the Connections series) In Mended

    Mended by Kim Karr (Book 3 in the Connections series)

    In Mended we get Xander and Ivy's story. When we first met him in Connected, he was a bit of a jerk to
    Dahlia but eventually warmed up and even came to love her as his sister-in-law. From the first time
    they see one another there is so much sexual tension, so much want and need between Xander and
     Ivy that I don't know how they didn't combust... wait, they did... when they finally had sex... KABOOM!  
    And holy dirty talk Batman!  Xander is soooo naughty I loved it. Hot doesn't begin to describe it. Sexy,
    loving, caring, tough as nails, and seriously hot... that's Xander. I'm glad he and Ivy found their way
    through all the obstacles that littered the path to their happily ever after... and there were many. Their
    chemistry is off the charts and their love undying. They, quite simply, are perfect together. 

    I'm looking forward to seeing what Kim Karr has in store for Ben. I love this series. Every book is a
    must read.

    4.5 stars out of 5
    Book 1 - Connected (River and Dahlia)
    Book 2 - Torn (River and Dahlia)
    Book 2.1 - Torn Epilogue (River and Dahlia, meet Jagger)
    Book 2.5 - Dazed (Jagger and Aerie)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    File didnt load correctly

    I bought this book and the file didn't load. When I click read, I scroll through blank pages. Extremely disappointed.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    Kim Karr masterfully writes another truly beautiful and heart-wr

    Kim Karr masterfully writes another truly beautiful and heart-wrenching love story that reminds us that when you love something you have to set it free and if it does not come back to you it was never yours to begin with but if it does return to you it will be yours forever.




    The hardest thing that Xander Wilde ever did was walk away from Ivy.  Due to an unforeseen tragedy he felt that he had no choice but to let her go.  Ivy had an amazing voice and was extremely talented and Xander wanted her to go after her dream.  He would not share all of the burden he was having to carry because he loved her more than life itself.  So when she thought she saw him cheating on her, he let her believe it.




    Fast forward 12 years.  Xander and Ivy cross paths at the hotel Xander and the Wilde Ones are staying at.  One look at each other has their hearts racing and they are both made aware of an ache that no one has been able to fill since they parted from each other. Xander and Ivy have chemistry that cannot be denied.  Even though it has been 12 years it feels just like they were together just yesterday.




    You can only imagine what happens when Xander's lead singer gets sick and Ivy steps up to take the role.  She is still angry at him and wants nothing to do with him but when they are so close together it is almost impossible to deny the gravitational pull that brings their bodies crashing into each other.




    Kim takes you on a rollercoaster ride once again.  Just when everything looks like it is going to work out the rug is ripped out from under you.  She does this in a way that you know it is coming but you have no idea how it is going to happen.  Then she reveals deep dark secrets that will shock you to the core.  Bravo Kim!  I absolutely adored this story and the Connected Series just keeps getting better and better.   I can't wait for Blurred and Frayed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    When we were first introduced to Xander in Connected, I took a l

    When we were first introduced to Xander in Connected, I took a liking to him instantly and I was ready to read his story. Never did I think I would end up falling harder for him than River Wilde. 

    River’s older brother stole my heart in Mended, where his story of heartbreak and second chances is told. Ivy and Xander have so much history together and those two will have you crying, laughing and aww-ing. 
    They met in high school and fell in the deepest kind of love possible. There are certain things that push them apart and they’re forced to leave each other’s lives. 
    Now years later they both seem to be living a great life, but when they meet again, they realize just how big of a hole their lives have. 

    It goes without saying but Kim Karr knows her stuff when it comes to writing romance. This is my favorite couple by far. Their chemistry and connection was one of the strongest I’ve ever read. They have the kind of love where you have no doubt it’s true love. The sexual scenes were more than just sex oriented, they were such beautiful moments that I almost felt as if I was intruding on their special moment. 

    This book also goes beyond the romantic relationship. The bond between family and friends is also focused on. You see the past trying to tear a family apart, and that same family sticking together to make sense of it all. Friends watching out for one another and being there for comfort, even if it’s simply in silence. That was one of the reasons why this book felt so real and alive to me. It went above and beyond the definition of contemporary romance.

    If you haven’t started this series yet, what in the world are you waiting for?!?! This series is getting better and better with each book, and you don't want to miss out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2014

    ~When you believe in a lie for so long┬┐does it become the truth?

    ~When you believe in a lie for so long…does it become the truth?~

    Oh Xander… broody, control freak, sexy Xander. I knew there was more to him than the gruff he exterior he presented to the world, and I thoroughly enjoyed unwrapping that present! Mended is the story of River’s older brother and Ivy, a character we’d yet to meet. As the title states, it was a journey of healing, misguided intentions, friendship, and ultimately forgiveness. Two broken souls, beaten down by life, just trying to find their way back to happy. 

    ~I was broken. His love broke me, and music was my only refuge.~

    To say Xander and Ivy were high school sweethearts would be a gross understatement. They were each other’s first everything and their bond ran thicker than most. I loved reading the innocence between them even while there was turmoil at home. Through the storm they could always count on each other and it was heartwarming to read. Something happens and our characters don’t see each other for twelve years, and this is where our story starts. From the first minute that they were on the page together their chemistry spoke volumes. You would be a fool to try and deny it. The sexual tension between these two was palpable and at times I felt the book melting in my hands. I just wanted to crawl inside and give them both a cuddle hug.

    ~The boy who made love to me over and over is now a man that I don’t think I can ever get enough of.~

    I flew through these pages like the book was on fire; I simply couldn’t stop reading their story. Like a fine wine, Kim’s books just keep getting better and better and no matter what else I’m reading I find myself anticipating her next release. The heart and soul that she pours into her characters is something you don’t find too often. You cannot help but fall instantly in love with them and be invested in their lives. You don’t simply meet them; they become part of your life and they will stick with you long after you’ve turned the last page. Kim doesn’t write books you move on from; she pens tales that you keep coming back to. If you thought you loved River, you haven’t seen anything yet! The strength that these characters exhibit when they’ve basically been crapped on by the world brought tears to my eyes. This is one you don’t want to miss!

    ~“I loved you when I was fourteen. I loved you when I was eighteen and had to let  you go. I’ve loved you for the last twelve years. And I love you now.”~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Mended is the third book in The Connected Series by Kim Karr and

    Mended is the third book in The Connected Series by Kim Karr and is a story I have been dying to read.  I fell in love with River Wilder and Dahlia in Connected and Torn, in which we first meet Xander, River Wilde's brother, whose story is told is Mended.  When I first met Xander he was a bit of a jerk, but by the end of Torn I knew I was going to love him, and couldn't wait to read his story.  True to form, Kim Karr has delivered yet another hot, sexy Wilde man that I am absolutely wild about.  
       
      Mended's prologue gives you insight into a young Xander Wilde, introducing you to Ivy Taylor, giving you background on them, their history, and where they are now.  As you read the story, you see how the arrogant, hard, and gruff Xander Wilde we met in Connected and Torn became the way he is, and as the story unfolds, you see the sexy, hot, hot-tempered bad boy who also has a soft side and is fiercely protective and passionate about those he loves.  I really liked Ivy's character also.  Despite all she had been through, the way she had been hurt, the misunderstandings, she has not been corrupted by it, and though hurt, she still has the ability to forgive and loves just as fiercely as she is loved, willing to do whatever it takes to protect the man she loves.  




     The story itself is captivating and had me turning the pages way into the night, not wanting to put it down.  It is mainly told from Xander's point of view, but there are also chapters from Ivy's point of view also, which I really enjoyed.  I also loved the secondary characters.  We not only get to see River and Dahlia, but also get a glimpse of Aerie and Jagger, as well as Bell, and I really liked Nix and Leif in this book also.  The romance is hot and beautifully done.  As far as the sex is concerned, I am one of those people who would rather have quality over quantity, i.e., rather than a multitude of sex scenes on every other page, a few really good scenes that are unforgettable, and that is exactly what Kim Karr provides her readers with in Mended.  It has the perfect blend of hot sexy scenes combined with a romantic story that has that intense edge that leaves you satisfied, yet wanting more as the book progresses.




     Mended is an excellently done addition to this addictive series and something that contemporary romance fans will definitely not want to miss out on.  I absolutely loved it and cannot wait for the next installments, Blurred and Frayed.  Mended is easily read as a standalone, but I definitely recommend reading the entire series simply because it is so good and you won't want to miss meeting all these wonderful characters and read their stories, all of which are awesome.  I hope you enjoy Mended and the entire Connection series as much as I have.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Another hit

    Another hit...cant wait for bens story...thanks for updating all the other characters...great series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    What can I possibly say about the latest installment in The Conn

    What can I possibly say about the latest installment in The Connection Series that hasn't already been said? Kim Karr has given us another sexy Wilde boy to drool over. Xander Wilde, older brother to River and manager of The Wilde Ones, is nothing short of being, well...perfect, really! (Sorry, I couldn't resist!)

    Honestly, in the previous books I wasn't so hot for Zander. He had his moments here and there but could be quite annoying and downright maddening at times. However, Kim successfully managed to change my mind about him once I was able to take a closer look. (A much closer look!) And while River still holds the key to my heart as my first Wilde love, Zander has certainly earned his place in my heart.

    I adore Kim's writing because it feels so good and so bad.  We journey with Zander and his former high school sweetheart, Ivy on an emotional roller coaster ride through their past and present, which is both heartwarming and heartbreaking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    MY THOUGHTS The book starts 12 years ago with Xander and how

    MY THOUGHTS

    The book starts 12 years ago with Xander and how he's soooo madly in love with his girl Ivy.
    They're both just 18 and about to graduate high school - they plan on leaving LA to go to Chicago - to get away from their families. Other than his drunk of a father, Xander's family is not really bad, but Ivy's mother is depending too much on her - she pressures Ivy to become a famous actress and make lots of money. But Ivy and Xander's real passion is MUSIC.

    Xander dreams of Ivy one day winning a Grammy - she's that talented.

    But things happen - bad things - and Xander has to end his relation-ship with Ivy.

    We don't find out what and how and why all at once - we go back in time a few times and piece by piece we find out what happened back then.

    The present day story is set 12 years later - Xander is managing his brother River's ex-band The Wilde Ones, but their new lead singer has some medical problems that's why it looks like the planned tour has to be cancelled.

    That's when Ivy shows up. She just split from her manager/fiancé Damon - and she's looking for something new - a new kind of music - not the pop-sound that Damon kind of forced on her.

    Xander is not really sure if he's happy about the new development - he still has feelings for her. He never loved anyone the way he loved her. He never loved anyone else at all.

    And because it means seeing more of Ivy, he lets her join the Wilde Ones and we find ourselves on a tour bus with the band and Ivy & Xander ¿¿¿

    And even though Ivy still hates him for what happened 12 years ago - she still has all those feelings buried deep inside of her. She just doesn't know if she can ever forgive him...

    They spend a lot of time together on the bus, but Ivy only wants to be his friend.
    But Xander wants more - he wants everything, because his live isn't all that perfect.

    He finally wants more. He wants what he wanted 12 years ago - and now it could finally happen...

    And little by little he manages to gain Ivy's trust again - and her wanting him like crazy is really helping him too ¿

    Lots of things happen - bad things - sad things .....

    WILL THE TWO OF THEM GET THEIR HEA???

    I'm not telling you that of course!! GO READ IT!¿¿¿
    ________________________________

    I LOVED THE BOOK!!!!!

    Even though Xander is not a Rock-Star, the whole book still has this rock-star-feeling and I REALLY LOVE THAT...

    The book was soo cute and moving - the way Kim describes the young Xander and what he had to go through....and then everything that happens in the present...

    I laughed, I cried...

    But most of all I just ENJOYED the time I had with Xander & Ivy!

    I was so happy when they finally got back together and then BAM!!! They're forced apart again...

    The book had sooo much emotion and story, I couldn't stop reading!
    So many interesting twists and new Information about not only Xander and his past, but also about everybody else....

    IT REALLY WAS THE PERFECT SEXY ROCK-STAR ROMANCE WITHOUT THE ROCK-STAR!!

    Well, ok - Ivy is a star - but a rock-star Romance - for me - has to have a male Rock-Star ¿

    THANK YOU KIM!!!!

    And thank you for giving us a little bit of River & Dahlia again.... have I mentioned that I cried a lot while reading this book??? ♥

    and now PLEASE HURRY - I need to read the next book ASAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    In Mended we finally get to dive into Xander's head and get to k

    In Mended we finally get to dive into Xander's head and get to know what he is like and view the world from his point of view.  I have been a fan of the Connections series from the beginning, River and Dahlia hold a special place in my book loving heart, and Kim Karr does and excellent job of interweaving all the characters we meet in the first two books into these new break away stories.  

    One of my favorite things about Kim Karr's writing is the emotion she puts into all of her characters, the story and the overall vibe of the book.  I love a story about high school sweethearts reconnecting and Xander and Ivy's story does this well.  Kim Karr tells stories that can break your heart, piece it back together and then make it sing.  I really enjoyed getting to know Xander!  Getting this story from mostly his point of view was a fantastic treat, you get inside his head and you get to keep the connections to the characters from the previous books along this journey.

    Ivy and Xander were an interesting couple and Kim Karr named this book perfectly: Mended.  Mended, is exactly what needs to happen for Ivy and Xander to get over the past mistakes and realize that what they had together never really went away.  Watching these characters reconnect was a treat to read, the balance of drama and emotion was on point and Kim Karr gives the reader just what we are looking for when we slide into a romance story.  However, this is a Kim Karr book so you know the journey to love isn't an easy path and there are a few twists in this book that will leave you surprised, heartbroken and shocked. 

    Kim Karr is an author that not only gives you a great story about Xander and Ivy, she also blends other characters together into Mended that we have fallen in love with in the first two and a half books.  I loved getting to see River and Dahlia and peek in on how their lives are going, as well as getting snippets of Aerie and Jagger.  This series is a series that never disappoints and leaves you craving more.  I can't wait to see how all of the "Connections" keep weaving in future stories!

    If you are a fan of the Connections series then Mended is a wonderful treat for you to add to your collection and you will finish this book with a smile and a wish for future books to come out faster.  However, fear not, if you haven't read any of this series before you can still read and enjoy Mended, but be warned, after finishing Xander's story you will want to go back and read this series from the beginning!  I say 1-click Mended on June 3rd!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2014

    Xander Wilde the boy may have broken my heart once upon a time .

    Xander Wilde the boy may have broken my heart once upon a time ...but Xander Wilde the man, is the one who mended it.

    I've mentioned a couple of times, in my reviews for Connected and Torn, that I wasn't a big fan of Xander Wilde. He was overbearing and rude, always trying to push River in a direction he didn't want to go. Towards the end of Torn, more of the Wilde family's past comes to light, and I began to understand why Xander was as bossy and driven, nearly desperate, as he was. I was beginning to be excited for Xander's story.

    I love when a character is more than he/she seems.

    Mended opens with a prologue set twelve years in the past, with an eighteen-year old Xander set to graduate high school and leave for Chicago with the girl he loves, Ivy Taylor. Now, we all know that something happened to break Xander and Ivy up, but why? I was hoping this wouldn't be one of those "I'm not good enough for the girl I love, so I'm going to drive her away." scenarios. And it wasn't, really. As it turns out, Xander's sense of obligation to be there for his family, no matter what it costs him personally, was born at a tragic moment we learn about in Torn. I was surprised by how much I truly liked Xander. It turns out River is not the only terrific Wilde man.

    Mended is largely Xander's story, and mostly comes from his points of-view. When we start getting Ivy's point-of-view as well, I was relieved. I liked feeling that connection to her, learning why she's gone off her once chosen path, how deeply Xander's actions affected her, knowing she's still in love with him. Ivy had a troubled past in her own right, with a demanding, greedy mother and a manipulative boyfriend. I didn't always like Ivy's actions, but I understood them.

    When Ivy comes back into Xander's life, I was so.so ready for this to happen. I was hoping to get an emotionally powerful story, a love that I could believe in. Happily, I got all that and more. And while
    Mended stands on it's own, it is still largely connected to the Connections series as a whole. River and Dahlia have very significant moments in the story, Aerie plays a small but powerful role (with Jagger being mentioned, as well). Even Ben Covington -whom I hated, now pity- is useful! I'm beginning to hope that guy gets his own happy ending. The Wilde family's long-time issues revolving their father continue to be explored, and once again, we get another Connections story with with very powerful revelations. I continue to be impressed by how deftly Kim Karr has held to a "big picture" concept regarding this series.

    I went into Mended with a "hope for the best" attitude. I wanted to love it, but given Xander, I wasn't sure I could. The story met and exceeded my expectations. This story, in addition to the entire series, is one I fully recommend. Now...bring on Frayed!


    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1