Customer Reviews for

Mensa Sudoku

Average Rating 2.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    terrible

    There is no part of this book that is remotely hard. It goes from easy to easy. Wasted my money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2007

    Need a challenge

    Having completed Frank Longo's Absolutely Nasty Sudoku book (Level 4), I was looking for another challenging book. This isn't it, but I'd say it's just another Sudoku book less the easy section.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    Recommended

    I am recommending this puzzle book, even though, the word Mensa on the cover is a little misleading. This book is not as challenging as I thought it would be. I have bought other sudoku books from B&N that were more difficult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Way too easy. No challenge. Easier than Rios' Black belt.

    Way too easy. No challenge. Easier than Rios' Black belt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    I bought this book to give as a gift to my daughter.

    Actually, I bought this book as well as "The Panter" by De Mille to give as gifts at Christmas time. I have not read either one myself. Thank you for the opportunity to review books I have read.
    Bookworm1FG

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    The title to this puzzle book is misleading. I did all of the p

    The title to this puzzle book is misleading. I did all of the puzzles in my head with no notes. That is not what I call Mensa level. I had high hopes and was again disappointed. Why can't all of the Puzzlers agree on a rating scale so we eager consumers will be able to buy on line and receive the level of challenge we want. The alternative is for each book page to come with a sample of the level of difficulty the book contains. How about just the last puzzle in the book. I know that the creators want to sell their books but do they not also want satisfied customers who will come back to them again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    love this Sudoku book!

    I have bought this book several times....it has over 500 puzzles, of varying levels, so it's not like you will remember any of the puzzles. This is what I like to do to wind down at night. I want challenging, but not exasperating, and this fits the bill.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Mensa, it ain't.

    Disappointing. I had hoped for a book of hard to evil sudokus. This wasn't one. They are mostly average.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    Good enough

    Could be more challenging and why are there answers in the back when the puzzles can only be solved in one way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    Mensa - really?

    The puzzles are not as hard as I expected for a Mensa item (and I'm not really a pro at these). Not unbearably easy, but could be more challenging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    Doesn't live up to it's name.

    I was disappointed as I was looking for a challenge. These puzzles are in the easy to medium category and are easily worked in pen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    Habit forming

    I have purchased 5 of these books and will purchase more. I don't think it is Mensa level and should be able to be fairly challenging for true enthusiasts. I use pen and remove finished pages, It is great to get the mind activated every morning before work and relax the mind every night before bed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    too easy

    way too easy for a "Mensa" level

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2009

    Mensa?

    I found the sudokus in this volume to have a difficulty rating of 3 in a scale of 1 to 5. The title inclusion of Mensa might be a bit overstated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Best Sudoku Book

    I have used many Sudoku books but I like this one the best. The puzzles are challenging. I also like the size of the book, the paper and having two puzzles per page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Boringly easy

    Way too easy...no progression of difficulty from puzzles in front of book to back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good challenge, squares are big enough

    My husband loves this Sudoku book, it's challenging enough and the squares are big enough so he can make notes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    Not for mensa

    These are not difficult enough. very disappointed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Disappointed !!!

    W-a-a-a-y too easy ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    Not mensa quality

    This book has easy puzzles that do not require Mensa ability to solve. It was a huge dissappointment as I was looking forward to challenging/improving my abilities. Even the solving tricks were standard. I don't consider myself a genius, but these were a snap compared to other puzzles in the newspaper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2