Customer Reviews for

Mer de Noms

Average Rating 5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    one of the best

    This is one of the best works of art I've ever heard. It's like stepping into a warm, low-lit study and opening up one of your favorite classics over coffee, or wine. Instead of inspiring emotion, Mer de Noms will dig for your emotion and take hold of it until the disc of finished. I can't explain it any other way. That is what makes it such a true work of art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    We don't hear Billy the guitar player sing with his bad voice here, so the music sounds great. This is one of the great CDs from A Perfect Circle before Billy was allowed to sing. Maynard is singing. Most of the songs are also great. "Judith" is the best song, but there are others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good, but not "the thirteenth step"

    eventhough this is one of my favorite bands, i have to say that i didnt enjoy this album that much. although "3 libras", "judith", and "thinking of you" all rock, the rest of the album is pretty bland, and unamusing. the next album they put out in 2003, "the thirteenth step" is a much better way to go.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST ALBUM YET

    This is by far the best album, If your a tool/alice in chains fan, you must buy this album. Ive bought THIRTEENTH STEP, and then decided to buy this, So if youve got any of the albums from tool, you are guaranteed to love this. The meanings within the sings are so much more than just the title or beats. The lyrics and everything from this band is what is so perplexed and fascinating. LOVE THIS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    one of the best albums ever

    I was always a big fan of Tool for the simple reason, that Maynard's got the most amazing voice. It is it's own instrument. His voice is right up there with the great Layne Staley from Alice in Chains. When I heard 3 Libras, I fell in love. This song has so much depth, and Maynard's voice stands out more in this song than any other.All the songs are good, but I find it hard to pay too much attention to those when all I usually do is play 3 Libras over and over again. If you have'nt heard this song, a perfect circle's website plays the song in it's entirety, and it's well worth the time to listen to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An apex of rock

    This is perhaps the greatest rock album I've every heard. While each song is an experience unto itself, within each song there are myriad musical discoveries, (from the guitar's hanging note that explodes into fury in "Judith" to the way Maynard's voice becomes an instrument unto itself in "3 Libras"). And I would contend that "Orestes" might be the single greatest rock song (with its overwhelming combination of rage and regret). This album is the penultimate experience in Rock.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful!

    I'm not a Tool fan, like most fans of A Perfect Circle, but this cd blew me away! Maynard's voice finally reached it's full potential! From start to finish, this cd is captivating! It catches your attention with the hard rock drive of "the hallow" to the hushed whisper of "over"! I recomend it to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good, but the second half doesn't measure up to the awesomeness of the first

    Just because Maynard's the singer, don't think this album will be exactly like the Tool CDs you have - the songs are much shorter (and not progressive) than most of Tool's, and seem a tad less cynical. Also, while there are some hard rock tracks on here (The Hollow, Magdalena, Judith, Sleeping Beauty) there are also some more mellow, sadder tracks (Orestes, 3 Libras). Anyway, this album is definitely worth picking up - my only gripe is that the second half, while good, isn't quite as good as the first (besides Rose, on which I think the bass sounds awful and just don't really like the song.) The Hollow, Magdalena, Judith, and 3 Libras are this album's best songs. 3 Libras is, simply put, a beautiful, while the other 3 have excellent, emotional vocals and great guitar and bass playing as well. Orestes is great too, though not so much as the other 4. Then, in the 2nd half...Sleeping Beauty...well, it's GOOD, but I often find myself replaying a song like 3 Libras or Judith because they are just so much better. Ditto for Thomas. Renholder is an instrumental that makes me go ''eh,'' definitely not a highlight of the album. Thinking of You is probably the best track in the second half, Brena is fairly good, and Over, well, it's OK, though I think they definitely could've done a better closer song. But due to the sheer coolness of all the first half besides Rose, it would pain me to give this CD less than a 4. Definitely worth your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Is It

    This is the far best album I've ever heard. It expresses alot of emotions and thoughts by singer Keenan. And the straning vocals are perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow

    Absolutely incredible. I listened to ''Hollow'' about 7 times before I realized there was more of the CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Perfect Circle - beautiful escape from modern rock

    A Perfect Circle has broken free from the shallow songs of trendy music and shown us a deep, dark mysterious sound that brings you to a higher state of mind. Maynar's emotional vocals and lyrics are mind-blowing, and the overall sound is amazing. They are ahead of the industry in every way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this is the best cd on the market

    it has every thing u need n a real rock and alternative bands not like the posers limp bizkit and other trl artists

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sadistically Happy Music!

    Maynard delivers edgy, raw, and uncensored vocal prowess in APC's first album. It's really rather rare to find a voice like his. His physical appearance also adds to the verge-of-suicide atmosphere of the band--long, uncombed hair, and a piercing glare that can melt even the most experienced rocker. At their show, it was like being in a theatre, only with good music, for once. People, this's music you can fall asleep listening to [not that you'd wanna fall asleep; you might miss a song]. ''Rose'' [deceiving name, no?], for some reason or other, really reminded me of the part in The Hobbit where Bilbo is trying to steal something from Smaug's lair [don't ask me why]. Mer de Noms [Sea of Names, for those who don't know] is the Perfect album! Even the cover art looks amazing! Combining ancient rune scriptures and modern paganistic idles--along with the occasional glimpse of nudity-- if that isn't the most original and creative thing I've ever seen, I don't know what is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It's Different...oh wait, I mean Perfect.

    Until this cd appeared, obviously from some sacred birthplace of rock, I was seriously doubting the abilities of today's musicians. But here we have it, an intelligent, beautiful, emotional, awe-inspiring alternitive to the ego-boosting, hate-spewing, money-loving ''musicians'' that try and sell us 'music' without a meaning. There may be no such thing as a perfect circle but this band comes so close to perfect that it is frightening. Finally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best I have heard yet

    This CD belonged to a friend of mine and I really didn't know anything about the band until I borrowed the CD. I was blown away. I was amazed by the variety of the music on this CD. All of it fascinating. All of it soul gripping. I was deeply moved by this album. I bought the CD the nest day that the record store was open. I recomend this CD with all the praise I can give.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the best ever!

    I saw a perfect circle in concert w/ NIN before the cd came out and nin is my favorite band. I was so overcome with a perfect circle's opening act that i almost lost myself. I bought the cd the day it came out and i think i would die if it were ever scratched. by far the best cd ever. Maynard will be known as an amazing singer years after tool and a perfect circle have faded and our children and grandchildren will know him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Maynards Peak

    Beautiful...Tool started the ectasy of sound in which I have enjoyed intensely. A perfect circle has given Maynard favourable time to share with us his distinctive and powerful voice...he's used it profoundly beyond that of which I've heard previously.Grab this one immediatley it will sit in your cassette or CD player calling for you to spin it constantly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this cd kicks ass

    Every song is very good. Exept for over. That song is kind of boring. You never know you might like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Talent

    It sickens me these days to see bands like Kid Rock, Korn, Limp Bizkit, Papa Roach, etc..taking over the alternative music/metal scene. I have nothing against these bands, I even like some of em..but what they bring to the table is just the same old stuff. It's not nearly as powerful as what APC brings. I am a new school metaler, I just got into metal about a year ago, and I don't have any Tool cds. I have listened to em quite a bit though, and I can say from what I've heard is that Tool and APC are 2 different bands, which is good. Maynard brings so much to this cd, but he's definatly not the only one. Everyone who threw in to make this album deserves equal credit and praise. This album is just amazing. I would reccomend it to anyone who is looking for some music with some real talent to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disappointed Tool Fan

    I bought the album on the strength of Keenan, from Tool, and the song Judith. What a mistake that was! The other songs are all pretty mellow. Had they varied the tempo and mood more I probably would have loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3