Customer Reviews for

The Mercedes Coffin (Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus Series #17)

Average Rating 3.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Mercedes Coffin by Faye Kellerman (Decker and Lazarus series) is another great read about LA crimes and how Decker and his fellow detectives (with some insight from Rena) solve the crimes.

Peter Decker gets a nudge from his boss to solve a cold case involving the execution style killing of a much loved school counselor, Dr. Ben who was stuffed in the trunk of a Mercedes. Meanwhile a former geek student that Dr. Ben encouraged while in high school has mad...
Peter Decker gets a nudge from his boss to solve a cold case involving the execution style killing of a much loved school counselor, Dr. Ben who was stuffed in the trunk of a Mercedes. Meanwhile a former geek student that Dr. Ben encouraged while in high school has made it big. After reading about a similar slaying, she decides to see if the original case could be related and solved. She will give the financially strapped LAPD a 7 figure financial incentive to solve Dr. Ben's case, Decker who has enough to do, assigns most of the work to associates, Scott and Marge. Who had motive to kill this great guy who seemingly had not an enemy in the world is a real challenge for the detectives. He does get some help from his daughter Cindy who is also in police work. This, like all of Faye Kellerman's books is a tight, page turning read. If you like crime stories, you're going to love Faye Kellerman. She has written some twenty plus books, many of the Decker Lazarus series, and I recommend that you start with her first the Ritual Bath and read all of them.

posted by Nose_In_A_Book_Grandma on March 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

so confusing

This was my first time reading a book by this author. I'm going to read
another book by this author even though this book was very diffucult to follow. I like the concept , however there were so many characters i kept finding myself going backwards in the book to keep ...
This was my first time reading a book by this author. I'm going to read
another book by this author even though this book was very diffucult to follow. I like the concept , however there were so many characters i kept finding myself going backwards in the book to keep it all together. the plot was creative but way too complicated. I am a fan of book series and repeat characters, im sure other books in this series will be great as Idid enjoy the main cast of characters.

posted by tj3720 on August 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    The Mercedes Coffin by Faye Kellerman (Decker and Lazarus series) is another great read about LA crimes and how Decker and his fellow detectives (with some insight from Rena) solve the crimes.

    Peter Decker gets a nudge from his boss to solve a cold case involving the execution style killing of a much loved school counselor, Dr. Ben who was stuffed in the trunk of a Mercedes. Meanwhile a former geek student that Dr. Ben encouraged while in high school has made it big. After reading about a similar slaying, she decides to see if the original case could be related and solved. She will give the financially strapped LAPD a 7 figure financial incentive to solve Dr. Ben's case, Decker who has enough to do, assigns most of the work to associates, Scott and Marge. Who had motive to kill this great guy who seemingly had not an enemy in the world is a real challenge for the detectives. He does get some help from his daughter Cindy who is also in police work. This, like all of Faye Kellerman's books is a tight, page turning read. If you like crime stories, you're going to love Faye Kellerman. She has written some twenty plus books, many of the Decker Lazarus series, and I recommend that you start with her first the Ritual Bath and read all of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    READ ME

    Billionaire Genoa Greeves believes that the LAPD should solve the fifteen year old excution style murder of her favorite teacher Bennett Little-especialy now that Hollywood music producer Primo Ekerling has been slain in an eerily similar manner:shot and stuffed in the trunk of his Mercedes-Benz


    Lieutenant Peter Decker resents having to commit valuable manpower to a cold case simply because a rich women says "jump!" But when a primary investigator in the Little case, now retired, suspiciously commits sucide hours after he and Decker talk, the dective realizes something evil's connecting the dots in two murders separated by a decade and a half. Wife Rina Lazarus offers a cool, rational outlook, as always, despite her growing concern for her husbands welfare- as past and present collide with a vengence, catapulting Decker ever closer to the edge of an infinate dark abyss

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    Faye Kellerman is my favorite author

    Each book is a entity unto itself--no two are alike. I love that!!! I will be purchasing more of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    A good read

    I liked the book a lot. It is a thoughtful mystery and the characters are very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    I never tire of this series - A must read

    In The Mercedes Coffin Ms. Kellerman gives us her 17th installment in the lives and times of Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus. The story is a very inventive and thrilling who done it with all of our favorite cast of characters from her previous novels. There are many twists and turns and two deaths to solve one current and one from 15 years ago. Those of you who love this series like I do will like catching up with our old friends, and those of you who haven't read the series never fear this book stands on it's own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    This is an engaging police procedural

    Wealthy computer guru Genoa Greeves reads in the paper that someone murdered music producer Primo Ekerling. The description is what shakes Genoa. Someone executed Ekerling with three bullets to the head before leaving him in the trunk of his car. Fifteen years ago when Genoa was a high school geek her favorite teacher, Dr. Ben Little was murdered in the same manner his case was never solved but the influential Genoa feels strongly she can ¿bribe¿ LAPD with opening he cold case with a seven digit ¿donation¿.---------------- That type of money is taken seriously so the brass assigns Lieutenant Peter Decker to investigate the homicide of the history teacher as well as the current homicide to see if there is a link. After a review of the official police file, Decker and his associates, police detectives Marge Dunn and Scott Oliver, arrange to interview the cops on the older case. However, to their shock one detective still on the force commits suicide. They struggle to solve either murder, especially the one fifteen years old as memories have faded.------------------ This is an engaging police procedural as the investigation into the two similar murders is fun to follow especially the nebulous older case. The scenes in which Decker spends with his Orthodox Jewish wife Rina and their children are fun to follow as they bring him needed respites from the difficult cases though those interludes do not go as deep into her beliefs and their efforts to find common ground as earlier tales did. Still the whodunit is well written and exciting to follow team Decker investigate.------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1