BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Merchant of Death (Pendragon Graphic Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 418 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(312)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Story

The Merchant of Death is a great beggining to a wonderful series. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes amazing, funny, absorbing stories. I am currently reading the 6th book in the series. Since I read The Merchant of Death I have not been able to put the ser...
The Merchant of Death is a great beggining to a wonderful series. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes amazing, funny, absorbing stories. I am currently reading the 6th book in the series. Since I read The Merchant of Death I have not been able to put the series down. I will be sad when the series is over. The story is brilliant. You will love the characters, along with everything else about the Merchant of Death and the rest of the series. I would highly recommend this over Stephenie Meyer's over rated Twilight series.

posted by sirfro on June 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Not Worth the Money, or the trip to the library.

This book has a cheese factor that is unparalleled by any other book I have read thus far. It is set in an overly optimistic idealist world where "Traveler" Bobby Pendragon (a horrible name) goes with his uncle Press on a series of missions to stop Saint Dane (another c...
This book has a cheese factor that is unparalleled by any other book I have read thus far. It is set in an overly optimistic idealist world where "Traveler" Bobby Pendragon (a horrible name) goes with his uncle Press on a series of missions to stop Saint Dane (another crappy name) from sending various worlds to fall into oblivion and destroy itself (the tipping point). As Bobby travels from world to world he learns that he hears words from other languages as his own, and they hear his voice and their own tounge, a detail, mainly put in place only to eliminate further, possibly interesting colflict, and as an escape route from coming up with any interesting ideas. Another problem with the series is that it is told mainly from a first person point of view, Bobby's diary, and MacHale further "cheesifies" the book by using "cool" and "hip" overused words like coolio, awesome, tight, and rad, trying to connect with his audience. This overly optimistic book has an attitude like, "We gotta save him! Yeah we did it! We can do anything because the enemy is useless! And we're yelling in every sentence! And we're so talented!" Whenever Bobby or another traveler goes through a "flume" to one of the other worlds, they find perfectly fitting clothes, and transportation, left there by "acolytes. This is another example of the obvious perfection with Bobby's condition, you always know he's going to win, and when he doesn't, it's because he's being stupid. There is no suspence and the style of writting is bad enough to but the "Cliford" to shame. This book is the worst book in the world, please don't buy this book.

posted by 10855547 on January 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 421 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Story

    The Merchant of Death is a great beggining to a wonderful series. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes amazing, funny, absorbing stories. I am currently reading the 6th book in the series. Since I read The Merchant of Death I have not been able to put the series down. I will be sad when the series is over. The story is brilliant. You will love the characters, along with everything else about the Merchant of Death and the rest of the series. I would highly recommend this over Stephenie Meyer's over rated Twilight series.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    It Takes me Away

    Pendragon: Merchant of Death, by D.J. Machale, is a book all people will absolutely love. Fourteen year old Bobby Pendragon has finally kissed his crush, Courtney Chetwynde. Then, he gets taken out of his world and lands smack in the middle of a revolution. Get this, it's not even his universe let alone his world. The beautiful Courtney Chetwynde and nerdy Mark Dimond read of his journey, while Bobby and Loor battle against the evil Saint Dane. Other mysterious things happen to Bobby while he's away, and Bobby doesn't expect it. Machale has outdone himself. This book is every thing you need to start off a series. I highly recommend this book, because you can relate to the characters. I relate to the shy, nerdy Mark Dimond. This book is a great way to spend your time.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing

    I LOVE THIS BOOK. It's amazing and the most thrilling book I've ever read. It's tied with enders game for my fav book. READ IT. I think the enders game I recomedned is the 1st if not just read the first.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2006

    AMAZING!

    I have gone threw many of the reviews now you could get turned away or hooked. But trust me you should try it. Because you could end up loving this book more then anything else! But yes I loved this book and the other 7 books (Soon to be 8) I can barely wait for the next book. So take a chance!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2006

    woah!!!!!!

    i ended up read'in this book in 2 days i think i have a fever i dont usually read books anyway you'll be hooked on for lif ewith this series of twist and surprises!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Being the first book of ten, ┬┐The Merchant of Death┬┐ was a great

    Being the first book of ten, “The Merchant of Death” was a great start to the Pendragon series. Throughout the plot, the author employs suspense and humor very wisely to craft a wonderful rhythm that lasts from start to finish. The protagonist of the story, Bobby Pendragon, starts out with exceedingly child-like qualities yet slowly matures as the plot thickens. He becomes much more adult-like in his actions, questions, and attitude towards things that occur in the story. Another important character, referred to as Press, is a much more mysterious figure. Press appears to have all the answers to the questions appearing in the book. It gets kind of frustrating whenever he is asked because he mostly gives replies that add to the readers’ questions. He is portrayed as a man who knows much more than the leading character and it is confusing at first as to why the author didn’t just make him the main character. However, if the book is compared to the famous Sherlock Holmes series and how the the stories are always told through Dr. Watson’s [never-knowing] point of view instead of Holmes’ point of view simply because the stories would be dull and uninteresting if the main character knew all the answers.




    “The Merchant of Death” takes place in one of the ‘territories’ of the universe called Denduron. The entire series appears to describe the ‘turning points’ or controversial moments that can either become good and lead a territory to prosperity or turn bad and completely annihilate a territory. Bobby Pendragon is sent there as part of a mission to help Denduron’s turning point pass successfully. For a start to what appears to be a long series, I think ‘The Merchant of Death’ is a great, action-packed, suspense-filled read that is entertaining and I would personally recommend it to anyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    PENDRAGON is a very different from other books (in a good way)

    i love this book! its sooo different from any of the other books i have read. it takes you 2 a completely diferent world and is full of comedy, adventure, suspense and some mystery! i was completely absorbed from the very beginning!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    This book was a fun read. While I couldnt put it down, it...had

    This book was a fun read. While I couldnt put it down, it...had it's faults. "The Merchant of Death" focused on a 14 year old boy named Bobby Pendragon. The novel follows his journey upon finding out he is a "Traveler" or a person who can travel to different territories, aka alternative dimensions. The aspect of the traveler concept was really interesting. I wiki'ed it before I read it and it was dangerously confusing. But once you read everything it's slowed down much simpler to understand. There were things I loved about this book. But there were many things I thought could have been left out entirely to make the story's prose much smoother. I'd rather highlight the strengths and weaknesses separately, so you can make you own decision about whether this may or may not interest you.

    What I liked: 

    I liked Bobby. Hell, I liked many of the major and supporting characters. Uncle Press, Loor and Osa were my standout favorites, but Bobby's best friend and crush Courtney were cool to. There was a certain level of diversity to the characters that made them all different and mesh well together.

    Bobby was an athlete, but he was more clever than anything. He didnt have much knowledge to what a traveler was, but he made his own talents work for him. He was relatable. He's not good at much, but he used what he was good at to make situations work for him, and he knew when to ask for help. Those were his more relatable traits. I really liked the two main female characters Loor and Courtney. At times I though they were a little too tough for their own good, but it was nice to see the girls werent the damsels in distress. Loor, who was from Zadaa, got a majority of all action scenes. Not a big deal? Uh I think so. She was a dark skinned, gorgeous, in shape black girl. She was Zadaa-n but in Bobby's territory(Which is known as Second Earth) she would have been considered Black.

    She was a little mean, but her upbringing probably didnt have time to feel sorry for the weak. She had her reason to dislike Bobby, and he recognized them. I liked their tension, and I hope to see more in the future for the duo!

    What I really liked was that she was treated like a human being. She had a lot of "strong black woman" traits, but she was still worthy of protection and defending when needed be. We need to see more of this with our women of color in books.

    The world building is cool. I loved it, but the narration is a little off. Being a traveler is a really interesting thing to be. To be able to travel to different worlds reminds me a little of Kingdom Hearts. This is a compliment, as Kingdom Hearts is my favorite video game series of all times. Travelers have a certain obligation to the territories to help the worlds at their peak of suffering to get a better idea of what they do.

    The pacing works for the story, but again, while i'll go into better detail on the cons of this review, the narration is off. The backstory is well formatting into the story so not to get lost. The traveler aspect is unique :) And there's a lot of conflict, in and out of worlds.

    At first I wasnt sure about the title, but about 300 pages in, the title wholeheartedly matched the plot of the book. I loved the unique names going around though Loor was my favorite!

    What I didnt connect with:

    THE PROSE!  Bobby's entire narration were journal entries as he told the events of his journey to his friends. It was absolutely terrible!Even though his point of view is clear and he spoke how I imagine most 14 year olds to talk, it came off as juvenile. Narration is supposed to, at best, give a level of maturity to the protagonist. Bobby always came off as too excited. There were too many exclamation points here, to many there, that it made him come off as happy, when he may not have been.

    There is a 3rd person narrative when it is not being told from him narrative, which was a bit more polished, but the writing style was horrendous. This not an insult to to author. In fact, upon researching him, he created and penned for many of the tv shows that shaped my childhood. But I cant believe an editor came to the conclusion this was an acceptable way to tell the story. I didnt slow down at all, as it isnt confusing, it just comes off as "telling" versus "showing."

    The fat shaming. That has to go. There was a female monarch named Kagan who had her own faulty reputation. But the way Bobby fat shamed her was unacceptable. I cant imagine being an overweight kid and reading this. I would have no self confidence. There were times when the author empowered Black girls, but shamed girls who werent exactly size 2's. So Im not sure how to feel about that.

    While I did mention I got a decent description of many of the main characters, the only character I didnt get was the one telling them story. What the hell did Bobby look like? If I have to guess from the cover, maybe strawberry blond hair and blue-green eyes? This is confusing because on future covers his hair is very dark. Huh? The only sense of his appearance I got was his height. He was significantly shorter than his party. But that was about it.

    I dont know what research was necessary because it seems rather low to mid-level fantasy. So Im not sure what to say about that.

    I loved this book. My score may or may not reflect that, but I just bought the sequel! 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    FAN-FLIPPING-TASTIC

    This series is in my top 5 favorite book series. D.J. Machale has done a fantastic job with all 10 books. I got so excited when i found the last 2 books at my library, finally being able to finish the series after 5 years. Its compleletly out of this world. Literally. Its definitly worth the money and the 5 years wait i had. I cannot suggest a better book to read than this one. Whether youre in middle school, high school or out of school, this will keep your interest all the way to the end of the series. Its perfect for all ages, if a elementary schooler can read Harry Potter, then they can read this.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    I am amazed. I honestly never thought that a book would have so

    I am amazed. I honestly never thought that a book would have so much detail in it. I'm not a giant fan of reading, but after I read the first book I couldn't stop. The book has so much detail to the point where you feel like you are in the story and you are apart of the action. I would highly recomend reading it and the story is so good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    Great Book! (SPOILER ALERT)

    This was an amazing book about a 15 year old Bobby Pendragon who is chosen to be a Traveler for no certain reason. In this first adventure Bobby and his Uncle Press take, they travel to Denduron, a village that is separated by poor and rich. The Milago (poor) have to mine up tons of glaze for the Bedoowan. Eventually, a war brakes out, but never even starts because Bobby and Loor (a fellow traveler from Zadaa) blow up the tak mine. The traveler from Denduron is Adler, a Bedoowan knight who is good friend's with Loor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Not Worth the Money, or the trip to the library.

    This book has a cheese factor that is unparalleled by any other book I have read thus far. It is set in an overly optimistic idealist world where "Traveler" Bobby Pendragon (a horrible name) goes with his uncle Press on a series of missions to stop Saint Dane (another crappy name) from sending various worlds to fall into oblivion and destroy itself (the tipping point). As Bobby travels from world to world he learns that he hears words from other languages as his own, and they hear his voice and their own tounge, a detail, mainly put in place only to eliminate further, possibly interesting colflict, and as an escape route from coming up with any interesting ideas. Another problem with the series is that it is told mainly from a first person point of view, Bobby's diary, and MacHale further "cheesifies" the book by using "cool" and "hip" overused words like coolio, awesome, tight, and rad, trying to connect with his audience. This overly optimistic book has an attitude like, "We gotta save him! Yeah we did it! We can do anything because the enemy is useless! And we're yelling in every sentence! And we're so talented!" Whenever Bobby or another traveler goes through a "flume" to one of the other worlds, they find perfectly fitting clothes, and transportation, left there by "acolytes. This is another example of the obvious perfection with Bobby's condition, you always know he's going to win, and when he doesn't, it's because he's being stupid. There is no suspence and the style of writting is bad enough to but the "Cliford" to shame. This book is the worst book in the world, please don't buy this book.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disgusting

    These books sound very good, but I can never get past the first little bit of it! Come on D.J. Michael, this is supposed to be a children's book! Hello, come on, can't you get a better beginning than that!?! Well anyway, because of the disgusting beginning of these books I will never read them!

    2 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    A book that will keep you reading all day long!

    an extrordinary book that always has a thrill right around the corner and that keeps you on the edge of your seat. it is such a wonderful book full of adventure. i loved how he was a normal boy and then his life was turned upside down. it is a well written book that makes you want to read the other books in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    Angel to summer

    Hey Girl :)

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Tiny

    Tiny is a nick name.)) She strolls in. "Life is BOOOOORING!!!!"

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    SINGLE 16 YEAR OLD GIRL AT.....

    301 RESULT FIVE!!!!!! NAME: CLAIRE AGE: 16 FOR MORE INFO GO 301 RESULT 5!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great action and adventure

    I can most definitely see how this book caters to boys. It's practically filled with action from cover to cover, and Bobby as the main narrator does a good job to keep you interested. I still have to say, I find him hard to like. He's a bit arrogant and cocky, and at times stupidity seems to come into his head and he makes the wrong decisions when the right ones are necessary (and life saving). However I can't help but also be caught up in the story. I suppose the way he narrates it was good and engaging enough to keep my attention.

    I do like the concept and the idea of this book. It was interesting and very different from what I'm used to reading. The concept actually reminds me of the television show Sliders (of course with obvious differences) which is one of the main reasons why I thought this book was good. Some chapters also take place on "Second Earth" (supposedly where we live) and features Courtney (Bobby's girlfriend) and Mark (Bobby's nerdy but very reliable friend). They're two typical sidekicks to the story but it adds more substance to the plot and goes to show you how the fantasy element works in the book. It's also a nice secondary storyline and gives you an insight on what happens when Bobby is away from home. Life goes on on Second Earth but I'm sure questions will be raised when Bobby and his family have extended their absence for a very long time.

    Although I like the action in the book, there just seems to be something missing. I liked it but felt that I did not enjoy it as much. Although the characters are well thought out they just did not have any "feel" to them and were like wooden puppets. Except for Bobby (obviously, as he's the main character). It would help if there's more substance and depth to the supporting cast as well.

    I'd say give this book a go if you want an action packed read without anything too complex. The worlds are well written, the fantasy element is different, and I'm going to be picking up the second one for sure. There's lots of unanswered questions (like the whereabouts of Bobby's parents) that I want to know the answers to.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    A captivating story that definitely leaves the reader thirsting for the sequels.

    A story for a child, young adult, or anyone with an active imagination to get swept up in. It didn't take more than a second from putting down the first book to pick up the second. A great premise with memorable characters; if you have a place in your life for your own fantasy world, then read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 421 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 22