Customer Reviews for

Merciless (Kevin Byrne & Jessica Balzano Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A psychological thriller. . .

    This is my third book by Richard Montanari that I have read. He is clearly not a 'one book fluke,' because Merciless is just as good his other work. Montanari reminds me of Thomas Harris, both are master storytellers. Merciless is an excellent police procedural with great characters throughout the book. The gore and brutality in this book is not for the squeamish. If you enjoy a suspenseful thriller then you should take a chance on Merciless. Richard Monatanari is an author who I will be buying more from in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW!!! WOW!!! WOW!!!

    I have read everything from Mr. Montanari (except Badlands which is next on my list). This one may be the best of them all, and that's saying something. This may very well be one of the best books I have ever read of any genre (up there with Jurassic Park and The Cabinet of Curiosities). Mr. Montanari has quickly become one of my favorite authors ever!!! Keep them coming!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Two Thumbs Up

    I am SO happy that I discovered this author a couple of months ago. I only wish I had come across his books sooner. I read The Rosary Girls first, then The Skin Gods and just finished Merciless tonight. Each one has been better than the last, and I can't wait to read another of his works. Fast-paced, great characters, mysteries that keep me guessing. Little bit of ooh-ick nastiness here and there. What more can a gal ask for? If you haven't read anything of his yet, do it. Now. Right now. What are you waiting for? Get to the bookstore and buy the darn books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    Can't miss

    Any book by Richard MONTANARI is going to be fantastic, the man knows how to deliver....every page begs to be read and savoured, never really wantede any of his many books to end, there is just too much there to like...Another steller read....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    Great continuation of the series

    Read this whole series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    Mystery reader

    Fantastic book. I wish Richard wrote more books. He writes as though you are there, walking through the lives of his characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    Yes, the book is brilliant, only I had already read it as 'Broken Angels'. I'd have been less surprised if it were a re-issue of one of the older titles, but this was the last book I had read, in hardcover! Montanari is an excellent writer, the book won't let you go to sleep but if you already know Broken Angels - be aware that Merciless is the same book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2007

    Didn't meet expectations

    This book was a disappointment. It fell short of the action and suspense of the other 2 books in this series. The storyline was not interesting and there was very little interaction with the personal lives of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    WOW! That is the one word I can easily use to describe this book very accurately. The author says this book is ¿A Novel of Suspense¿ and I couldn¿t agree more. From page one to the end there is non-stop suspense, adventure, action, and lots of decidedly great police involvement. ¿Merciless¿ takes place in the city of Philadelphia and surrounding areas. Moon is a believer of magic of the Fairy Tale type. Moon researches his victims by finding people thought of as bad people from deeds in their earlier lives. He then selects his victims, gruesomely dresses them, kills them, and then poses them in various locations. Most of the story takes place around the Christmas holiday time of the year when the police figure crime usually slows down. Not for Moon. Philadelphia Detectives Kevin Francis Byrne and Jessica Balzano are the partners that begin the search for this demon. Jessica is married to a Philadelphia detective who works Narcotics, while his wife and Byrne are homicide detectives. Byrne and Balzano are called to the scenes several times regarding bodies found grotesquely murdered and they find virtually no clues to the killer. The Schuylkill River seemed to be the main areas where the bodies are found. As bodies piled up the task force was enlarged. Since it was holiday time it stretched the limits of the Philadelphia detectives. One of the strange detectives teamed with Byrne and Balzano was a young eager Amish cop, Josh Bontrager, who was not afraid to get his hands dirty. He dug in and used even his off time to research for this horrible ever-expanding ruthless killer. Roland Hannah was a pastor who helped those that were down on their luck and needed food, clothes, and help of many types. Roland had a brother, Charles, who was not completely mentally with the world. He was with Roland much of the time. They met and tried to help these people. Roland listened to them and did research on his own to try to guide their lives past their problems from a past life or their present existence. Most had been victims of a violent crime. They were all ages. Most of the victims had a moon shaped ¿painting¿ on their stomachs made from semen and blood. What kind of a vicious killer did they have running around the city leaving bodies on the banks of the Schuylkill River or in some other desolate place? The detectives expanded their search out of the immediate Philadelphia area as they tried to find someone, anyone that could give them some hint as to who and where the killer or killers were. When a newly retired cop was found dead, apparently killed by the same killer, the entire police department jumped on the case. Some had to handle their own regular assignments but their minds and eyes were on the lookout. Byrne and Balzano traveled from the worst areas in the city to some rural searches that took them quite a distance form Philly. Strip joints, dancing parlors, garages and mechanics, restaurants, motels, most of which were seedy in appearance, parking lots and garages, private homes, public institutions, hospitals, up and down rivers, under and around bridges, anywhere there was hope in getting a lead. You will travel with all the characters in this book, good and bad, with you not knowing who was the good and who might be the bad! ¿Merciless¿ is one of the best suspense stories I have read, and I have read hundreds of them. You will know who the culprit is several times¿or so you think! Think again! You will have a very hard time placing this book down and doing some chores. The chores might not get done. You might not be able to close your eyes and sleep either. Enjoy it as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1