BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Mercy (Rose Trilogy Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Finale for The Rose Trilogy has unforgettable characters

The Mercy by Beverly Lewis is the final book in The Rose Trilogy about Rose Kauffman, a young Amish woman struggling to let go of her feelings for a man who has left the faith behind. The Kauffman family has faced many challenges over the previous books. Rose's elder si...
The Mercy by Beverly Lewis is the final book in The Rose Trilogy about Rose Kauffman, a young Amish woman struggling to let go of her feelings for a man who has left the faith behind. The Kauffman family has faced many challenges over the previous books. Rose's elder sister Hen left her Englischer husband to return to the faith she left. Just as he was about to divorce her and file for custody of their daughter, he was in a car accident that left him temporarily blind and in need of Hen's care. Emma, Rose's mother, is facing dangerous surgery to free her from the pain she's suffered for a decade. And Sol, Rose's father, is hurting at his friend Aaron Petersheim's removal as bishop of their community because his foster son, Nick, refused to be baptized into the faith. Rose has finally put her feelings for Nick behind her and seeks out a relationship with a new man, Isaac, in hopes of finally finding the life she has always dreamed of as a wife and mother. I read a lot of Amish series, and after awhile, many of the plots and characters tend to run together. The Rose Trilogy is such a powerful story, even after several months between books, I was able to fall right back into the story. Lewis does a wonderful job of creating fully fleshed characters with real flaws and emotions that readers can empathize with. The ending to the series is very satisfying and in many ways surprising.

posted by ChristysBookBlog on October 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good news:Now you could Get a free $5.00 discount code in BN Books! Get in website: xbarnesandnoble.tk

Good news:Now you could Get a free $5.00 discount code in BN Books! Get in website: xbarnesandnoble.tk

posted by joshlulu on September 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Finale for The Rose Trilogy has unforgettable characters

    The Mercy by Beverly Lewis is the final book in The Rose Trilogy about Rose Kauffman, a young Amish woman struggling to let go of her feelings for a man who has left the faith behind. The Kauffman family has faced many challenges over the previous books. Rose's elder sister Hen left her Englischer husband to return to the faith she left. Just as he was about to divorce her and file for custody of their daughter, he was in a car accident that left him temporarily blind and in need of Hen's care. Emma, Rose's mother, is facing dangerous surgery to free her from the pain she's suffered for a decade. And Sol, Rose's father, is hurting at his friend Aaron Petersheim's removal as bishop of their community because his foster son, Nick, refused to be baptized into the faith. Rose has finally put her feelings for Nick behind her and seeks out a relationship with a new man, Isaac, in hopes of finally finding the life she has always dreamed of as a wife and mother. I read a lot of Amish series, and after awhile, many of the plots and characters tend to run together. The Rose Trilogy is such a powerful story, even after several months between books, I was able to fall right back into the story. Lewis does a wonderful job of creating fully fleshed characters with real flaws and emotions that readers can empathize with. The ending to the series is very satisfying and in many ways surprising.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The final ending for the characters in the Rose Trilogy! LOVED IT!

    In Beverly Lewis' final book in The Rose Trilogy series, The Mercy, picks up just right where The Judgment left off. By the way, if you haven't read the previous two books in this series, Beverly provides a prologue that gets the reader up to speed, but trust me, you'll definitely want to go back and read the other two in the series, The Thorn and The Judgment.

    The story finishes up the stories surrounding Rose and Hen, two sisters that are at a crossroads in their life. For Hen, she struggles with the life she walked away from as she married an English man. Torn between her old ways and her new life, she wants the life of simplicity she found growing up Amish. The problem is that her husband, Brandon has no desire to live that way nor will he stay married to Hen if she insists on remaining at her parents. He will also take custody of their daughter, Mattie Sue if she won't come home. After a devastating accident that almost took, Brandon's life, he's been recovering with Hen and Mattie Sue at her parent's Amish farm. Hoping that God will work on his heart, Hen continues to pray for him and helps take care of him. But will this change of lifestyle and prayer work to heal Brandon and Hen's marriage?

    Rose is struggling with finding a man who will complete her life now that she has released Silas Good from his engagement to her to marry Rebekah instead. Only she is still locked to her past, with the only boy she has ever given her heart to, Nick. A boy that has now left the Amish community after the death of his brother Christian. Nick is the adopted son of Bishop Aaron Petersheim and with Nick's absence leaving so many unanswered questions, the Church board wants to silence Aaron for good, taking away his title of Bishop since he can't seem to control his own family, what good will he do for those in the community as a leader of the church. However, Nick has no desire to return home and wants to pursue a college education instead. Will Rose be able to ever forget Nick long enough to find love in her own future?

    I received The Mercy by Beverly Lewis compliments of Christian Fiction Blog Alliance for my honest review and LOVED it! I love how Beverly completed the lives of the characters she made us fall in love with in the Thorn. Through difficult times, tears and lots of prayer, these characters have become a part of our own lives. I personally felt part of this community as though I spent my life growing up Amish with them. I think that is what makes Beverly's novels so popular. This is now a permanent part of my own personal library and one I hope you'll all take the time to read and enjoy as much as I have. For that reason, this one rates a 5 out of 5 stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great

    Not only did I greatly enjoy this book, but it made me want to keep it. Wonderful story, great characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Favorite book ever

    I am a fifteen year old girl and i was having a very hard time finding approprite reading material, i found this series and loved it! I recommend it for anyone looking for Amish fiction = )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Eh......

    The first two books were neat, and l really liked Nick. I'm a bit rebellious too, and found that l can sympathise with him easily. Plus, l like men with long hair. =] Anyways, l was sooo excited to read this book, and l soon fell flat on my face. Ok, question here: why does the man ALWAYS become Amish to marry the woman? Can't the woman become secular to keep her man happy? That was about the only thing l didn't like about the plot. On the other hand, as l learned more about what the Anish think is too wordly, l took great pleasure in doing that stuff knowing that the Amish wouldn't like it. That's not what a book is supposed to do!! All in all, a sweet book with a perfectly flawed male lead, but few things that irked me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Good Read

    Very good and relaxing reading and I would definitely read another book by this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Next on my list

    Hoping this is as good read as the first 2 books

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    An absolute must read!

    Beverly Lewis is an absolutely wonderful author. She takes you there, i felt the struggles of the people. The victory of the identity battle of Nick. Felt poor mamms pain and never ending faith. Felt the joy of Hen, Brandon, and Mattie Sue. Can relate to the struggles of Rosie. Just loved this series. Will definetly read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Very good.

    I liked the part where Hen's daughter was helping her dad get to the barn when he couldn't see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Link

    Takes the shot. She remembers and runs back to sabs cabin.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Cloud

    Ask her he grabs his keyblades and leaves

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Sab

    She pauses " link take the shot....youll remeber eerything......ill bbe at my cabin"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Awesome ending!!!

    I was a bit upset after the second book, but this book offered closure!! Amazing ending! Mrs. Beverly has done it again!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    No one does romance as well as Beverly Lewis. This is a sweet an

    No one does romance as well as Beverly Lewis. This is a sweet and endearing story, filled with a touch of intrigue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    always a blessing!

    Nobody knows their stuff like beverly lewis! She keeps you captivated and you always learn new things! God bless you and keep you safe in this horrible time of wild fires around you in colorado!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Ending to a wonderful series

    I absoluetly loved these books. Everything happened the way I wanted it too, and I was very happy about that. I cried, laughed, smiled and got goosebumps throughout reading these books. I am sad that the series is only three books but I will recommend this series and will be reading more of Beverly Lewis' books in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    I would recommend this book...very enjoyable reading

    I purchased this book along with the other two books in the Rose Trilogy
    Series as a gift for a dear friend's birthday. She has told me several
    times that she really enjoyed reading them and had a hard time putting them down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    love the amish stories

    Wonderful story! Loved the series and all of the books by Beverly Lewis!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This entire series is amazing. I haven't found anything by Bever

    This entire series is amazing. I haven't found anything by Beverly Lewis that I haven't enjoyed tremendously!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Recommended to understand Amish life

    The Rose Trilogy was a good Amish story. I have read many of Beverly Lewis's novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6