Customer Reviews for

Mercy

Average Rating 3.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

HelenKay Dimon brings readers a new erotic contemporary series,

HelenKay Dimon brings readers a new erotic contemporary series, titled after the first book, Mercy. Readers looking for a fast-paced whirlwind romance, will love the energy and emotion that Dimon creates in this book. The character's are gritty and intense and the actio...
HelenKay Dimon brings readers a new erotic contemporary series, titled after the first book, Mercy. Readers looking for a fast-paced whirlwind romance, will love the energy and emotion that Dimon creates in this book. The character's are gritty and intense and the action is jam packed into the story. Jarrett and Becca have a lot of history, in fact she is the reason he was put in jail. But now she's in survival mode and needs his help. With multi-layered characters and deep seeded trust issues, this is book not to be missed by erotica fans!

What I liked: 

It is not often that I enjoy a book that throws me into the middle of story, instead of the beginning. But author HelenKay Dimon makes it work in her new book, Mercy. The lead couple aren't meeting for the first time in Chapter one of this book, in fact their relationship begins eight months before the book does. Becca is a CIA operative who infiltrated Jarrett Holt's business and his bed. She was under deep cover and played the part of the adoring girlfriend so well, that he was completely in love with the woman who ultimately betrayed him.

Becca is a strong woman. A woman who is used to dangerous situations and the kind of people who get things done, no matter the cost or the circumstance. When the rest of her team ends up dead, she knows she must take drastic measures to survive. Hiding in plain sight may be the only way and protection from a man she loved but still betrayed may cost more than she is willing to pay. She was a no-nonsense kind of character. She was able to guard her emotions where most things were concerned, including killing when she needed to, but she couldn't guard her heart against Jarrett and that's what made this book so good. Her vulnerability with him is palpable and readers won't be able to help being moved by it.

Jarrett is what I would call a ruthless man. Wealthy, influential and able to make things happen that the common man couldn't even fathom, let alone accomplish. He has a darkness about him that is both scary and sexy. Readers will be drawn to him despite his nature and his form of protection. He wants Becca to suffer in some ways and he thinks having her in his bed will do that, but he doesn't account for the fact that they both had real emotions involved in their relationship and that doesn't just go away. Watching him realize that he didn't care what had done to him was amazing. Seeing him start to understand that he loved her anyway. 

What I didn't like:

This is a really intense and action packed book. Readers will probably feel a little spent after reading it. If you can suspend your belief in the fact that a CIA operative would probably never seek protection from someone they ratted on, you'll love it. I will admit that bugged me when I first started reading the book, but it all came together and it didn't matter once the emotions took over with this one.

Bottom Line:

This one has a lot going for it. Intensity, passion, some extremely hot scenes in the bedroom. But I think the best part of it, was the realization that forgiveness can come in many forms and love can conquer just about anything... including organized crime!

posted by Justpeachy1 on May 2, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

If you want to read explicit sex, including gay sex between two

If you want to read explicit sex, including gay sex between two men, then this is the book for you. It was money down the toilet...which is exactly where this book should be.
Wish I could get my money back on this Nook purchase. 
No story line to speak of; can't believe...
If you want to read explicit sex, including gay sex between two men, then this is the book for you. It was money down the toilet...which is exactly where this book should be.
Wish I could get my money back on this Nook purchase. 
No story line to speak of; can't believe this was a recommendation based on other books I've purchased. This is trash.

posted by DHall1 on May 10, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 10, 2014

    If you want to read explicit sex, including gay sex between two

    If you want to read explicit sex, including gay sex between two men, then this is the book for you. It was money down the toilet...which is exactly where this book should be.
    Wish I could get my money back on this Nook purchase. 
    No story line to speak of; can't believe this was a recommendation based on other books I've purchased. This is trash.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    HelenKay Dimon brings readers a new erotic contemporary series,

    HelenKay Dimon brings readers a new erotic contemporary series, titled after the first book, Mercy. Readers looking for a fast-paced whirlwind romance, will love the energy and emotion that Dimon creates in this book. The character's are gritty and intense and the action is jam packed into the story. Jarrett and Becca have a lot of history, in fact she is the reason he was put in jail. But now she's in survival mode and needs his help. With multi-layered characters and deep seeded trust issues, this is book not to be missed by erotica fans!

    What I liked: 

    It is not often that I enjoy a book that throws me into the middle of story, instead of the beginning. But author HelenKay Dimon makes it work in her new book, Mercy. The lead couple aren't meeting for the first time in Chapter one of this book, in fact their relationship begins eight months before the book does. Becca is a CIA operative who infiltrated Jarrett Holt's business and his bed. She was under deep cover and played the part of the adoring girlfriend so well, that he was completely in love with the woman who ultimately betrayed him.

    Becca is a strong woman. A woman who is used to dangerous situations and the kind of people who get things done, no matter the cost or the circumstance. When the rest of her team ends up dead, she knows she must take drastic measures to survive. Hiding in plain sight may be the only way and protection from a man she loved but still betrayed may cost more than she is willing to pay. She was a no-nonsense kind of character. She was able to guard her emotions where most things were concerned, including killing when she needed to, but she couldn't guard her heart against Jarrett and that's what made this book so good. Her vulnerability with him is palpable and readers won't be able to help being moved by it.

    Jarrett is what I would call a ruthless man. Wealthy, influential and able to make things happen that the common man couldn't even fathom, let alone accomplish. He has a darkness about him that is both scary and sexy. Readers will be drawn to him despite his nature and his form of protection. He wants Becca to suffer in some ways and he thinks having her in his bed will do that, but he doesn't account for the fact that they both had real emotions involved in their relationship and that doesn't just go away. Watching him realize that he didn't care what had done to him was amazing. Seeing him start to understand that he loved her anyway. 

    What I didn't like:

    This is a really intense and action packed book. Readers will probably feel a little spent after reading it. If you can suspend your belief in the fact that a CIA operative would probably never seek protection from someone they ratted on, you'll love it. I will admit that bugged me when I first started reading the book, but it all came together and it didn't matter once the emotions took over with this one.

    Bottom Line:

    This one has a lot going for it. Intensity, passion, some extremely hot scenes in the bedroom. But I think the best part of it, was the realization that forgiveness can come in many forms and love can conquer just about anything... including organized crime!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2014

    Hush

    Sun?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Good read

    A good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2014

    boring

    In order to rate and review this book I had to go and look it up on my Nook to even remember what it was about...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Good writing, plot a little thin.

    I would like to have read about the beginning of the relationship between the two main characters, and how they ended up so unsure of each other rather than being in the middle of their break up.
    The writer does well but there is no depth to her characters, none at
    all. Good read if you like a lot of make up sex.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    *****This book contains a lot of graphic sexual encounters and s

    *****This book contains a lot of graphic sexual encounters and some of them are M/M*****

    The synopsis sounded so exciting but I ended up skipping pages because the pacing felt slow to me. I also couldn’t connect with the characters. There was obvious passion between Becca and Jarrett but I felt their back and forth “it’s revenge sex” to “I love you” moments made me a little nauseous. I thought there was a lot of angst in Becca and Jarrett’s relationship and I felt that it took away from the suspenseful parts of the story line. The writing was good but I just wasn’t able to enjoy the book as much as I’d have liked to.

    ***I was gifted an eBook copy from the publisher via Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. All conclusions reached are my own***

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    Mercy, HelenKay Dimon Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews I

    Mercy, HelenKay Dimon
    Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews
    I do enjoy erotic romance but I need a solid story backing the sexual side. Sadly for me though the sex was sensual and erotic here – and very, very frequent, almost too frequent...I didn't feel the story itself was strong enough. I realise that Becca was necessarily confined to the club, but with all the action taking place there it seemed a bit dull at times. There was such a drama about the black ops team she'd worked with, and the past history between her and Jarrett that I just couldn't see things working out the way they did. The sex scenes definitely overtook the story, and it felt as though they were just binding to fit together lots of racy and sexual intervals. Wrong way round for me though.
    Still, if what you want is well written and sensually hot, risque sex scenes this is your read :-) as there's plenty of those, along with some m/m action too. I've no quibbles about how that side was written, sometimes writers just don't get the sex scenes right but Helen has them spot on, the right mix of sensuality, conversation and eroticism. I was pleased at the ending – though in a way it was a bit of an anti climax, felt for Wade and Eli, and overall it was a fun read but not one I’d re read.
    Stars: three. Long on sex but short on story.
    ARC provided via Netgalley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2014

    I don't usually read suspense and crime romance novels. But, whe

    I don't usually read suspense and crime romance novels. But, when Mercy showed up on a list from Berkley, there was something about it that piqued my interest. And, in the end, I decided that all the subterfuge and cloak and dagger stuff was really pretty cool and an exciting backdrop for a romance to grow.

    Becca is an undercover CIA agent whose target had been Jarrett Holt and his super secret club. Eight months earlier, he was taken down, but talked his way out of prison. Now, Becca's team is being murdered one by one, and the only place she can hide is Jarrett's place. He takes her in, but under his very strict terms. Becca doesn't really mind so much, but she does want to get to the bottom of who's trying to kill her. And, maybe she can make some amends along the way.

    I love a good mystery, and trying to figure out who is trying to kill Becca was fun. Likewise was reading about how Jarrett felt about the whole situation. Eight months earlier, he had been very much in love with her when he found out she was an undercover agent looking for any reason to take him and his club down. He seriously had every reason to hate her after that. But, she got under his skin. I loved that. Jarrett is this big, tough, hard businessman with a questionable background, and he is literally brought to his knees by this woman.

    And, as much as he wants to hate her, he can't. And, that really pisses him off. Jarrett tries to force the issue. He treats her like crap at first and has to remind himself that Becca violated his trust. He thinks he can get away with using her for really awesome sex. Silly man.

    We soon see that there is a lot more to the situation than what either Becca or Jarrett thought. Someone was pulling both their strings, and once Jarrett gets over his anger and Becca gets over her suspicion, they actually work pretty well together.

    I did have a hard time connecting with the characters, though for some reason. Although I wanted Becca and Jarrett to find their HEA, I didn't feel as invested in them as I would've liked. And I was kinda bummed that the entire book took place in one building. There was never a change of scenery, and although the reason for that is given within the context of the book, it still got old after awhile.

    Also, I kept thinking that perhaps I missed a book prior to this one that told the story of Becca and Jarrett eight months earlier. We did flash back to the events of that time through inner musings and retellings by both Becca and Jarrett. But, there were times when I was a bit confused by what happened when.

    There was a second romance within the book between Jarrett's second in command, Wade, and a member of Becca's team, Elijah, who also happens to be hiding out at Jarrett's place. The focus of the story remains on Becca and Jarrett, though, as it should, and the addition of Wade's and Elijah's involvement added an interesting layer.

    Mercy was told in dual POV. In this case, I'm SO glad, because Jarrett's and Becca's takes on the situation at hand and eight months prior, was very different. And, since they weren't exactly communicating with each other, getting inside their heads was interesting and kinda fun.

    Although I had a hard time connecting with the characters and was a bit confused at times, the romance and the sex between Becca and Jarrett was so super hot and fulfilling.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    MERCY is the latest adult, contemporary, erotic romance storylin

    MERCY is the latest adult, contemporary, erotic romance storyline from author HelenKay Dimon. I am unsure as to whether MERCY will be part of a continuing series, but there are so many more stories to tell-the secondary characters are colorful, intriguing and play a major role in the premise and buildup of MERCY. This is billionaire nightclub owner Jarrett Holt and former CIA operative Becca Ford’s storyline.
    The focus of the story is a second chance at love following Becca’s heartbreaking betrayal and the subsequent imprisonment of Jarrett eight months earlier. As a CIA operative, Becca’s last assignment was to infiltrate Jarrett’s business but in doing so she found herself falling in love with the CIA’s target. Fast forward eight months and Becca is on the run-trying to stay one step ahead of the people trying to take her down-and her only option is the man she sent away months before.
    The continuing relationship between Becca and Jarrett is sensual, sexual and emotionally heartbreaking. Jarrett lost his heart to Becca only to discover Becca’s love was all a ruse-a ruse to take down Jarrett and expose him for the drug dealing/international terrorist that she was told to believe. With a second chance to right the wrong, Becca will become Jarrett’s ‘temporary prisoner’ as part of a bargain to keep her safe. Meanwhile, Jarrett and those closest to him will begin to uncover the truth behind the set up, the fall and the on-going investigation that pits the CIA against everyone he knows and loves.
    HelenKay Dimon has written an erotic storyline of mystery, romance and second chances that will keep the reader in suspense until the final page. The reader is pulled into a story where heartbreak and pain continue to follow two people who love one another but are caught in a web of lies, deceit and betrayal.
    There are three interconnecting storylines in MERCY including the explosive and sensual relationship between Eli and Wade. Wade is Jarrett’s right hand man and best friend and, Eli is another CIA agent whose involvement in Jarrett’s take down eight months earlier has placed him on the same hit list as Becca and her former team.
    HelenKay will capture your interest as the storyline builds. She weaves a tale using background information, the history between the characters and their emotional connection and, pulls everything together into a story of government betrayal, lies and uncovering the truth. Helen has done a fantastic job blending the past with the present so that the reader is pulled into a story that feels like part of an on going series but is only the first in what I hope will be many more. The characters are believable, captivating and seductive.
    MERCY is a compelling story where eroticism is seductive; the romance is provocative; and the history between our leading couple is intense, intimate and passionate. If you are a fan of erotic romance storylines with a focus on suspense and a second chance at love then MERCY by HelenKay Dimon is the perfect read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1