Customer Reviews for

Mercy

Average Rating 4
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Jodi Picoult at her best

Jodi Picoult never disappoints.....her storylines are timely and thought-provoking. I usually go into her books with a set opinion on the topic, and always end up either changing my mind or at least admitting that life in rarely black and white. I love the way she tac...
Jodi Picoult never disappoints.....her storylines are timely and thought-provoking. I usually go into her books with a set opinion on the topic, and always end up either changing my mind or at least admitting that life in rarely black and white. I love the way she tackles her subjects and characters. From Page 1, I am involved and I care. In my opinion, she is one of our best current authors. I am in the process of reading ALL of her books.

posted by Marlene8888 on August 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Slow reading...Not happy

This is the second of Jodi Picoult's books that I had to force myself through. (The Tenth Circle being the first) Most of her books are wonderful stories that you can't put down because you come to love the characters and feel as if you know them. Mercy, however, was ...
This is the second of Jodi Picoult's books that I had to force myself through. (The Tenth Circle being the first) Most of her books are wonderful stories that you can't put down because you come to love the characters and feel as if you know them. Mercy, however, was a completely different story. The book is supposed to be about Maggie and Jamie, but instead over half of the book is dedicated to Cam's philandering with Mia...I wanted to slap Cam and Mia and tell them to get it together. I also wanted to slap Allie for being so naive. The concept of a mercy killing should have made for a great novel, but I think Picoult's ambitions got in her way with this book. I wouldn't recommend wasting your time on this one...

posted by AshleyLC on March 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Slow reading...Not happy

    This is the second of Jodi Picoult's books that I had to force myself through. (The Tenth Circle being the first) Most of her books are wonderful stories that you can't put down because you come to love the characters and feel as if you know them. Mercy, however, was a completely different story. The book is supposed to be about Maggie and Jamie, but instead over half of the book is dedicated to Cam's philandering with Mia...I wanted to slap Cam and Mia and tell them to get it together. I also wanted to slap Allie for being so naive. The concept of a mercy killing should have made for a great novel, but I think Picoult's ambitions got in her way with this book. I wouldn't recommend wasting your time on this one...

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    This is deffinitly Picoult's worst book. it was boring at the beggining and didnt catch my attention. Don't be discouraged try reading The Pact, or Salem Falls

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    Not one of her best

    I've read several of her books and this one was not what I expected. The book focused a lot on Cam's affair with that sorry excuse of an assistant. I only finished reading because I wanted to know how it all turned out. I agree with some of the other readers that Jodi usually has a really great twist at the end. I was left dumbfounded and completely upset with the characters in this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2005

    Not impressed

    Forced my way through it hoping that at some point I would be unable to tear myself away. Instead I found myself pushing through to the very predictable end.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Well written but a serious downer

    Beautiful words, intiguing premise, brave perspective; however, not the most uplifting read--not really my typical read but i also couldnt put it down. I needed to know how it ends--even though there really could be no happy ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Part 1: I have mixed feelings about this book.

    Where to begin? I am a fan of reading Jodi Picoult books except this one. From when Cameron started cheating on his wife and continued.Plus the fact when Mia knew Cameron is married but continues to have a relationship with a married man. I don't know who's worse Cameron or Mia. They are both discusting pigs and in the end deserve what they get. I am not even sure if I want to finish reading this book because even though Allie-Cam's wife leaves him,he's still furious at her for leaving him but wonders if Mia is thinking about him.When he was first caught by his mother,his mother wasn't going to tell his wife even though she felt she should call Allie.Cam's thoughts were that he wasn't going to give up Mia either.For some reason he enjoyed being married and having his affair. Mia's thoughts were that she wanted the life Cam's wife had. She didn't want Cam to leave Wheelock.

    Part 11:

    I finally finished reading the end of " Mercy ". I can't believe Allie came back and forgave her husband after what he did to her yet Cam still thought of what Mia was doing or if she thought of him. Allie may have forgave but didn't forget. She actually accepted him to sleep back in their once marital bed before Mia came into their lives. Also, where Cam and Mia had once used the same bed to endure their sinful ways. Allie had asked if they had slept in the bed and made love in it and yet he denied the fact he did so. I can't believe she took him back. What was she thinking? What's wrong with her? She's an educated woman with a life she could of did without Cam. 95% is on Cam and Mia affair and the other 5% was on James murder trial. Hey, at least James was not guilty.

    Part 111:

    Another part I disliked reading this book was all the profanity and sexual inuendos in the book. I much disliked all the cursing and the sexual sayings and doings. Oh my goodness, the "F" bomb was used so much. Did Jodi get her mouth washed with soap from all the profanity she used in her book?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Heartbreaking - the lead is a JERK

    I'm used to Jodi Picoult's books being sadly true-to-life, but it disgusted me to have this book going on and on, ad nauseum and in detail, about this illicit affair that has struck up. I know these things happen, but they shouldn't be discussed in public forum. Call me aiive, but I like it that way. My final opinion of Cam is that he's an ***.
    The final straw for me was when he left his wife for the weekend, and haphazardly gets her an early V-Day card that is addressed to a "Dad", but he has all the time in the world to work out this elaborate trip away with his fling. Perhaps he should invest as much time with his wife as he did his girlfriend. I would NOT recommend this book, it's too heartwrenching.
    I read a Picoult book, and end up disappointed and sad, swear to never read another one, but them come back to her again in a year or two. But this book may be the last forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Not one of her best.

    Very slow and hard to stay interested. I read this after House Rules (Great Book) so it was a let down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    An okay Jodi book.

    I love Jodi as an author! I thought this was not one of her best books, it was predictable and very slow to start! This is the story of a police chief in a small town has to arrest his cousin when he confesses that he killed his terminally ill wife out of mercy. A murder trial follows. The police chief is cheating on his wife and having a huge affair with a woman named Mia. This book was slow to start, hard to get into. I hated that the police chief was cheating on his wife- ick! The story got interesting but was very predictable.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Could not even finish it!

    I don't understand how one Jodi Piccoult book can be so great (The Pact) and the next so weird and boring. This book sounded good and then you start reading it and you get bored almost immediately. She tried to throw some romance into it and it was unbelievable and odd (for lack of a better word)

    I ALWAYS try to finish a book, but this one may never get picked back up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1