Customer Reviews for

Mercy

Average Rating 4
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Jodi Picoult at her best

Jodi Picoult never disappoints.....her storylines are timely and thought-provoking. I usually go into her books with a set opinion on the topic, and always end up either changing my mind or at least admitting that life in rarely black and white. I love the way she tac...
Jodi Picoult never disappoints.....her storylines are timely and thought-provoking. I usually go into her books with a set opinion on the topic, and always end up either changing my mind or at least admitting that life in rarely black and white. I love the way she tackles her subjects and characters. From Page 1, I am involved and I care. In my opinion, she is one of our best current authors. I am in the process of reading ALL of her books.

posted by Marlene8888 on August 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Slow reading...Not happy

This is the second of Jodi Picoult's books that I had to force myself through. (The Tenth Circle being the first) Most of her books are wonderful stories that you can't put down because you come to love the characters and feel as if you know them. Mercy, however, was ...
This is the second of Jodi Picoult's books that I had to force myself through. (The Tenth Circle being the first) Most of her books are wonderful stories that you can't put down because you come to love the characters and feel as if you know them. Mercy, however, was a completely different story. The book is supposed to be about Maggie and Jamie, but instead over half of the book is dedicated to Cam's philandering with Mia...I wanted to slap Cam and Mia and tell them to get it together. I also wanted to slap Allie for being so naive. The concept of a mercy killing should have made for a great novel, but I think Picoult's ambitions got in her way with this book. I wouldn't recommend wasting your time on this one...

posted by AshleyLC on March 18, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    Not her best

    This book was interesting enough at first but then when i started to get into it i just became so disgusted with Cam and Mia that I almost didn't finish it.I was soo upset that he knew it was wrong and he just kept doing what he was doing, and Mia was so incredibly fake that I just wanted to slap her. I don't care if they were "soulmates" as some people implied, they could've handled the situation differently instead of hurting Allie when all she tried to do was be the perfect wife for Cam. I really loved Allie and Jamie, I was kind of hoping that Allie would leave Cam and find someone just like Jamie because she deserves better than the lying cheating excuse for a man Cam is.<BR/>I've read 6 of Jodi's books and consider her one of my favorite authors, I always recommend her books to people but not this one. Although I liked the mercy killing plot I wouldnt really recommend it because the affair made me so upset with the characters that the whole book was ruined for me.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    weird how i feel about this

    I love Jodi Picoult! But this book was not one of her best. I hated Cam, was irritated with Alli, and annoyed with Mia. The only characters I liked, Jamie and Maggie, weren't in it enough. This book wasn't what I expected. The end was slightly redeeming but still left way too much unsolved and up in the air.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    Not one of her best

    I was propelled through this 'different' Picoult book because I was sure things would somehow tie together at the end and come together. When I realized that this wasn't going to happen, it was a bit of a struggle to finish. I kept waiting for it to become clear that Cam and the woman he was having an affair with were reincarnated loves from hundreds of years ago, as I thought was implied in some of the things the uncle and other characters were saying. That was one of the many stories that ended up going nowhere. Because of this assumption I had that they were meant to be together, I was OK with their affair, but then I felt bad when I realized that that wasn't it at all. I still love her books, though! Looking forward to the next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    Okay

    I agree with the other reveiwers- this was not one of Jodi Picoult's best books. Some parts of the book were confusing, and the snippets of a letter at the beginning of each chapter made very little sense- if fact, I still don't know who wrote it. Cam's character was deplorable, and if I was Allie I would get rid of him right away. Also, both adulterers seemed to have no moral qualms at all, instead focusing on their 'love.' Usually Picoult includes a good twist at the end, but everything about this book was unsuprising, and the phenomenons, such as ghosts and unexplained burns were just silly.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not Piccoult's Best

    Interesting plot for a story, one I was anxious to read, but it seemed that the outcome of the book was revealed on page 20! I kept wondering why I was reading the book because it was so predictable and I knew what was going to happen at the end. I also found some sections of the book just plain boring, not filled with character insights and action like her other novels. Piccoult is a great author, but I would definately choose one of her others: Salmen Falls, My Sister's Keeper, Nineteen Minutes, or The Pact.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Ech!

    Hard to make myself read the whole thing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2012

    oka

    haven't yet read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Cloud

    Walks to orgnination result 13

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    The only thing that makes me feel better about this story is that I know it's fiction.

    Well, I'm glad that I'm not the only person who thought that this was one of my least favorite Jodi Picoult books. The only reason why I gave it a 3-star rating was the fact that the Cam/Mia aspect of the story fired up so many emotions in me that I could barely contain my hurt/frustration/anger. Isn't that what a good author should be able to do? Spark emotion?

    I just couldn't believe the gall that Cam and Mia had. The affair seemed so mystical and rare to Cam and Mia, but when it all came down to making their relationship a reality, they realized that the consequences of the affair would only leave them in a position that would make their relationship less desirable. Give me a break! "I love you more passionately than my wife, but not enough to deal with the sticky situation of breaking up a marriage and destroying my public image." They should have thought about that before they crossed that line. The selfishness in this story irritated me so much. Allie will have to deal with the hurt and pain of these memories and the broken trust for her lifetime all becauase of two incredibly selfish people. To feel like your spouse is just settling when they decide to spend the rest of their lives with you, is gut wrenching. It makes me ill. The only thing that makes me feel better about this story is that I know it's fiction.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    Eh. Could have been better if the ending was actually good.

    Eh. This book was okay. I started reading it and was really excited with the whole mystery of what went on this Jamie and Maggie. But they kept repeating what happened over and over and over again to the point where it just got annoying. The ending was really terrible. I could have made a better ending to this. Jamie was the only good character in the whole book, he represented kindness and he had a good heart. He was just so in love with his wife. Maggie was so selfish it was ridiculous. I couldn't stand her. Obviously she didn't love Jamie as much as he loved her. Oh! and CAM! Cam was ridiculous. I can't believe he would have an affair with Mia when he was the perfect wife at home. Mia was quite skanky and didn't know what to do with herself. She was quite a home wrecker. She should have stayed away from Cam. Allie was a kind of good character. She did whatever for Cam and even though she saw that he didn't appreciate any of it (until she stopped doing stuff for him then he realized) she kept doing stuff for him. Overall. This book wasn't the best. I hated Mia and Cam and Maggie and the ending was really bad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Disappointing

    Everyone has an off-day. This book is Ms Picoult's. While the main question of the book (is mercy-killing ever justified?)is indeed thought-provoking and causes one to examine his own deeply-held convictions, either pro or con, the sub-plot (Cam's affair) is unnecessary.

    Continuity was broken in the beginning, when Jamie's vehicle switched from truck to car and back to truck in two paragraphs. Also, I found myself wondering how on earth Jamie managed to get Maggie's dead body out of the inn room, down the steps, out the door, and stuffed into the front seat of the vehicle in mid-day without anyone noticing.

    Cam is not a sterling example of manhood. Allie developed some kind of backbone. Mia is a mysterious character who comes from nowhere, returns to nowhere, no resolutions or reformations made in her character.

    Well, all will be forgiven with Ms Picoult's next book, which I expect to see shortly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    It was different

    This was definately a different book then I was use to from Jodi Picoult but it was still a really good story once you got into the plot. I did have a harder time getting into the story because weird dreams from the uncle. I didn't neccasarily understanding all of the Clan issues but I got the jist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    Not My Favorite JP Book

    I've read many Jodi Picoult books and this was my least favorite. I found the book to be very difficult to get through and found the book to be making me wonder when it was going to end. This book, along with her Keeping Faith book was a disappointment to me.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2