Customer Reviews for

Mercy Burns (Myth and Magic Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

an engaging investigative romantic urban fantasy

Mercy Reynolds trusts few people as she knows firsthand how treacherous others are especially towards a "Draman". Recently, the half air dragon's single digits were reduced by one when her best friend purebred sea dragon Rainey was murdered in a car incident in which M...
Mercy Reynolds trusts few people as she knows firsthand how treacherous others are especially towards a "Draman". Recently, the half air dragon's single digits were reduced by one when her best friend purebred sea dragon Rainey was murdered in a car incident in which Mercy was a passenger. Her BFF's homicide is hard enough for Mercy to accept, but the death precluded the rituals needed to enable Rainey to move on as dragons dead at sunrise without the ritual cannot. Mercy knows that if she can find and bring the killers to justice she can perform the rituals for Rainey to pass; five days left and counting to achieve the impossible San Francisco mission.

Damon Ray is trying to do his job of killing rogue purebreds and dramon dragons who break the law. His current assignment has humiliatingly a draman helping him. However, worse is he is attracted to the half-breed while she refuses to back off as she is on a mercy mission for her beloved late buddy.

While Riley Jenson takes a deserved respite, Keri Arthur writes an engaging investigative romantic urban fantasy. Mercy is a terrific heroine whose objective is not vengeance but the purity of enabling her friend to move beyond this realm. Damon is more hard boiled even with his attraction as the audience will relish this paranormal tour of the streets of San Francisco in the second Myth and Magic thriller (see Destiny Kills).

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on March 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

plot inconsistencies with 1st novel

I really enjoyed "Destiny Kills," the first book in this series. Prior to reading the 2nd installment, I reread "Destiny Kills," big mistake. Although I very much liked Mercy and Damon, there were so many plot inconsistencies between the two novels. Spoilers: In the ...
I really enjoyed "Destiny Kills," the first book in this series. Prior to reading the 2nd installment, I reread "Destiny Kills," big mistake. Although I very much liked Mercy and Damon, there were so many plot inconsistencies between the two novels. Spoilers: In the 2nd book, they make a huge point of the fact that relatives know when someone dies; however Trae couldn't tell when Egan died in the 1st book. In the 1st book, Trae is searching for Mercy but claims she is not in mortal danger; however in the 2nd book Mercy's life is repeatedly threatened. In the 2nd book Destiny is described as extremely pregnant. She was only a few months in the 1st book. How long could it have taken Trae to track his sister down when she was in the same town, and still working at the same job? The plot inconsistencies wrecked the 2nd book for me. If you cannot remember the details of the 1st novel, or haven't even read it, then this book will probably appeal to you. Otherwise, I cannot recommend it.

posted by C3_1991 on April 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an engaging investigative romantic urban fantasy

    Mercy Reynolds trusts few people as she knows firsthand how treacherous others are especially towards a "Draman". Recently, the half air dragon's single digits were reduced by one when her best friend purebred sea dragon Rainey was murdered in a car incident in which Mercy was a passenger. Her BFF's homicide is hard enough for Mercy to accept, but the death precluded the rituals needed to enable Rainey to move on as dragons dead at sunrise without the ritual cannot. Mercy knows that if she can find and bring the killers to justice she can perform the rituals for Rainey to pass; five days left and counting to achieve the impossible San Francisco mission.

    Damon Ray is trying to do his job of killing rogue purebreds and dramon dragons who break the law. His current assignment has humiliatingly a draman helping him. However, worse is he is attracted to the half-breed while she refuses to back off as she is on a mercy mission for her beloved late buddy.

    While Riley Jenson takes a deserved respite, Keri Arthur writes an engaging investigative romantic urban fantasy. Mercy is a terrific heroine whose objective is not vengeance but the purity of enabling her friend to move beyond this realm. Damon is more hard boiled even with his attraction as the audience will relish this paranormal tour of the streets of San Francisco in the second Myth and Magic thriller (see Destiny Kills).

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    plot inconsistencies with 1st novel

    I really enjoyed "Destiny Kills," the first book in this series. Prior to reading the 2nd installment, I reread "Destiny Kills," big mistake. Although I very much liked Mercy and Damon, there were so many plot inconsistencies between the two novels. Spoilers: In the 2nd book, they make a huge point of the fact that relatives know when someone dies; however Trae couldn't tell when Egan died in the 1st book. In the 1st book, Trae is searching for Mercy but claims she is not in mortal danger; however in the 2nd book Mercy's life is repeatedly threatened. In the 2nd book Destiny is described as extremely pregnant. She was only a few months in the 1st book. How long could it have taken Trae to track his sister down when she was in the same town, and still working at the same job? The plot inconsistencies wrecked the 2nd book for me. If you cannot remember the details of the 1st novel, or haven't even read it, then this book will probably appeal to you. Otherwise, I cannot recommend it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    H

    Hvhghhgm

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    !

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    I love Keri Arthur's books and Destiny Kills entertained me. I w

    I love Keri Arthur's books and Destiny Kills entertained me. I will first say that I LIKE the storyline idea for this book and that I am only halfway done with it, I just don't know if I'm going to be able to finish it with how badly the Mercy character bothers me. I have two main issues with Mercy Burns (This review contains spoilers!).

    First of all it's hard to care about the fact that her friend's soul may be stuck on earth forever because I'm stuck wondering "why?" the whole time. And it may have been explained better in Destiny Kills, I don't remember, but for people like me who read that one a long time ago it would be nice to have my memory refreshed. It is distracting to know "OK she was murdered so her soul will wander forever if her death isn't avenged (why?). Mercy has 7 days to do this, including the 2 days she was in the hospital I think (why 7 days?)" And almost 100 pages later I read that the reason is because no one prayed over her body when the sun rose on it after she died (but there is so far no full explanation of death rituals of Dragons so I don't know the limits or bounds and I don't know why having someone pray for her is so significant.) I have so many question about dragon deaths that it's distracting.

    The other issue I have also feeds into the first issue. It's hard to take the problem of her friend's soul situation seriously when Mercy herself barely seems to care. I really don't like Mercy as a character at all. She seems so... unintelligent and impulsive. Her friend's soul may wander forever because no one prayed for it and yet she walks alone into danger multiple times knowing that if SHE gets killed no one will be there to pray over her either. She also doesn't seem to take the situation seriously because when she gets drugged and kidnapped and thrown into a cell with a complete stranger her first thought was essentially (I am paraphrasing) "Hey he has been tortured." followed by "Oh but his nose and lips are REALLY attractive". Personally if I thought I was going to be tortured in the near future I would not be looking at how hot my bruised and bleeding cellmate is. I am expected to take it serious that Mercy is putting herself at risk constantly because of this super serious thing about her friend's soul and yet even Mercy herself almost forgets about her friend when this guy she barely knows smiles at her? And this I have a specific example of because it made me mad enough that I stopped reading it for the a while after. Her apartment has been burned, her brother's apartment has been burned, her friend has been murdered, she has been hospitalized, and she has been kidnapped and threatened with torture and death and this guy SMILES at her and her reaction is "It took a moment to ignore the glow of that smile.............. To remember why I was here, doing this." One smile from a guy she met less than a day ago and she forgets that her friend got murdered and will supposedly have to roam the earth forever? And I'm supposed to like her? I just can't bring myself to get behind a woman who is THAT ruled by her hormones. A subtle attraction culminating in a romance halfway through during down time or at the end, I could get behind. But I can't enjoy a character that is infatuated with a stranger she met the night before, to the point of forgetting her dead friend. Good idea, so far poorly executed. Maybe the rest of the book will change my mind but I doubt it can do a good enough 180 to satisfy me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Mercy Burns

    It was a great read that keeps your attention begining to end. Once you pick it up you don't wnt to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    A must

    Keri is one of my favorites , and she never let's you down. She's an Aussie with a world all her own. All I can say is run to get her stories of strong women protecting us humans from our own buses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Highly recommend.

    I loved this. I love Keri Arthur. Can"t waait for the next in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Action romance at its best

    Keri Arthur has a unique perspective that is totally new to the paranormal genre. Blending action, romance, paranormal, and adventure, Arthur takes readers on a roller-coaster ride that demands a readers attention from the beginning to end. The series is a must read for those that like shapeshifter adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    I liked it

    Entertaining. Once again Keri has not disapointed her readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Ff

    Ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    just okay

    It was okay, not one of my favorites but not horrible either

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6