Customer Reviews for

Mercy Falls (Cork O'Connor Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    Great read

    As with all of the Cork O'Connor series books, this one kept me glued to it. Couldn't put it down. You think you have it solved in your mind, then Krueger turns it in another direction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2014

    Connor

    Im here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Heather&co

    A small indention under the High Log leads to the discovery of a cave. It's size large enough to fit four cats comfortably with space in between. This is the Leader's Den. A place of living for the leader and his or her's mate and also a place of discussion.
    ~Amberstar

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Must read.

    I love this author!! I am in process of reading all his novels. I have added him to my favorites: John Sandford, Robert Crais, Michael Connelly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2014

    Very good, I recommend this story

    This is the first book I've read from this author and I was not disappointed. Very authentic. Kind of reminds me of the "Longmire" TV series, if you've ever watched that. I want to go back now and start with the first book. Recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Engaging mystery with the enjoyable small town charm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    I was quite happy with the book until the ending. It didn't hav

    I was quite happy with the book until the ending. It didn't have one. I knew this was part of a series, but I did not realize this book would just leave you hanging until you buy the next book. If I had known this was a two or three part serial I would not have purchased it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Highly Recommended Read!

    William Kent Krueger is one writer that makes you feel like you are right there with Sheriff Cork O'Connor working on the cases. He draws you in with such realistic descriptions, you can almost smell the pine needles and feel the mist on your face as you are walking in the boundary waters. I can't wait to read the next book in this series. You cannot go wrong when you pick up one of Mr. Krueger's books. They are the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    Cork O'Conner has returned as the sheriff of Tamarack County, Mi

    Cork O'Conner has returned as the sheriff of Tamarack County, Minn, but someone has taken a pot shot at him, apparently wanting him dead.  Meanwhile, someone has also killed the representative of a group trying to set up a working arrangement with the Ojibwa Indians, but the killing suggests something more sexually motivated.  The murdered man also turned out to be the brother of Cork's wife old college lover, Ben Jacoby.  Jacoby's father is filthy rich, and wants revenge for the deaths of his only two children.  In comes the beautiful ex FBI agent, Dina Willner, hired by Jacoby to find and eliminate whoever took out his boys.




    As always, Kruger builds up suspense and tension within his stories.  Relations between the whites and Indians is always an issue, and Cork and his wife have difficult times meshing Cork's job with a safe family life.  The addition of an old boyfriend really complicated this story, because this rich ex-lover may have his own ideas about getting back his old college flame.  But somehow as things progress, extra elements just don't add up, and Cork may have more than he can deal with this time.




    This story ends with a definite cliff hanger--almost too much for me with this 5th installment of the Cork O'Conner mysteries. The answers are left to be dealt with in the next book, COPPER RIVER.  Thus, 4 instead of 5 stars for this book.  Then again, maybe this should be a 6 star read, since I find I MUST read his next book immediately!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Suspense as Usual

    Krueger never fails to keep the reader in suspense in his Cork O'Connor Series. Mercy Falls keeps you guessing about the killer(s), and as usual has a twist at the end! I would recommend this book and any in the series to those who especially enjoy a good mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Good Series

    I'm a total sucker for this genre and this series is no different. I think the characters are well developed and with each new book they age and change appropriately. There are no supermen here just people trying to do their job. Of course the setting is great. Northern Minnesota is beautiful. Start with the first book in the series and read your way through the latest, you won't regret the trip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Great Read, highly recommended

    Cork O'Connor is an all-American hero. This book just nails that impression. If you like a good story and one that will not let you put the book down - this is the one for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2012

    This book starts out with a bang and just keeps going!

    Krueger's main character, Cork O'Connor is once again the sheriff of the little town of Aurora Minnesota. The people of Aurora are down to earth folks, many of them in the lumber or mining business. Aurora borders a large Indian reservation. Most of Cork's days are filled with domestic arguments, drunken brawls and underage drinkers. A call to a regular domestic disturbance leads Cork and his deputies into a deadly trap, with Cork as the target. As the story unfolds Cork uncovers a bigger evil threatening his town, his wife and his own moral stamina. This is a tightly written book with a dark undertone that leaves Cork and his family into a bitter sweet family crisis. Krueger's endings are never anticipated, but they are always satisfying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Incomplete ending

    Not my favorite

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    This book was not up to the standards of Mr. Krueger's other mys

    This book was not up to the standards of Mr. Krueger's other mysteries.
    In my way of thinking the ending was totally unsatisfactory and the last
    sentence might well have been "to be contnued." I don't mind
    a surprise ending but do not like to be left hanging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    Starting near the end proved to be a clever way to begin the fif

    Starting near the end proved to be a clever way to begin the fifth book in the Cork O’Connor series (and my first introduction to the Minnesota sheriff). Surrounded by beautiful prose, the reader becomes engrossed in the story, and the pace doesn’t disappoint either. There’re more than enough sub-plots to keep the reader entertained and guessing about what might happen next.

    Cork isn’t perfect; he has just enough flaws to keep him human, instead of being larger than life. Like Cork, the other characters are fleshed out well, and the story moves at a steady pace toward the ending. William Kent Krueger makes Minnesota sound both beautiful and enchanting, with rich history to fill every page.

    While the ending may not satisfy all readers, it certainly worked for me: I want to pick up book six, as well as go back to the beginning, and read all the books in this two-time Anthony Award-winning series. Despite the author growing his audience over the years, and deservedly reaching the New York Times Bestseller’s List, he deserves an even bigger reach. If you enjoy beautiful descriptions and well-drawn characters, then you’ll be hard-pressed to find a better read than MERCY FALLS.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Highly recommended!

    If you enjoy a good mystery, you'll love these books. Cork O'Connor is a great character. I've read the first 4 books and am now reading #5. Mercy Falls is exciting from the very beginning and doesn't slow down. Krueger's books really hold your attention, and I'm always in a hurry to get back to reading one. I also enjoy James Patterson's books, but I look forward to reading a new book by Krueger just as much. I think if you read one you'll be hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    this has been a great series of books, started with #1 and just finished #5. Can't wait to get started on #6. Cork is quite a guy. William Krueger writes a thriller every time. He knows how to keep you guessing and it is hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Love all the Cork O'Connor books, the only problem for me is that they are addicting, I don't want to put them down, which causes my family to bug me for food, laundry, etc!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    Excellent as usual!

    The saga of Cork O'Connor continues and without disappointment. What an adventure to read this series. My husband and I read these together and we can't wait to get to the next story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3