Customer Reviews for

Mercy Street (Mercy Street Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Good read!

    good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    Most excellent, hard to put down, read on my nook in 6 hours!
    Story kept moving! Am anxious to read the next two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Refreshing Interlude

    Book 1 in the Mercy Street Foundation series This romantic suspense novel is a refreshing interlude, a relief for those who have been reading more adrenaline based mysteries, Mariah Stewart style is lower keyed . This mystery is basic and not complicated to follow, it focuses mainly on homicides and missing person investigations and provides interesting moments that will grab you immediately, unfortunately it is somewhat predictable. The novel juggles three threads at the same time and intertwines smoothly: 1) The center of the mystery is Robert Magellan's missing family and the fact that he is haunted by the memory and relives the terrible day when Beth his wife and their baby son simply disappeared, never to be found. 2) On another tangent, investigators are left baffled when a simple outing to a local park turns tragic, two children are missing and two have had their young lives cut short. After weeks into the investigation, the only theory they have is, one of the missing kids is the possible shooter. The child's grandmother unable to accept what is happening turns to Father Kevin Burch. With the help and sympathy of philanthropist Robert Magellan they hire P.I. Mallory Russo to look into the matter. 3) It turns out the Conroy police force is already busy, they have a sniper on the hunt. The events present an seemingly insurmountable challenge to a small police force. P.I. Mallory Russo has a stroke of luck when she meets Charlie Wanamaker, a man with a dysfunctional family, who happens to be in transition from one police force to the Conroy force. They quickly bound and with their passion for justice they race to solve the mysteries. The chemistry they develop between themselves eventually reaches beyond their professionalism... The characters are quite likeable and easy to root for, a blooming romance between Mallory and Charlie is surely to be followed up in the next instalment, at least I expect it to be with the conclusion to what happened to Robert Magellan's family. The story was captivating but in time will not be one of my most memorable novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book immensely. It was not too hard to read, but not too easy. It had an interesting plot, and it moved along at just the right speed. There were a variety of characters, each dealing with different life issues which should connect with many readers. The author writes well. The story is good and the end fulfilling even if the very last bit is somewhat expected. I'm looking forward to reading the next in the series. This book is perfect for the woman looking for an escape into mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book, Mariah Stewart

    I just finished this book today, and I loved it. I was just looking around my basement for something interesting to read and thought Mercy Street sounding interesting. Turns out, I was right. I definitely recommend this book to others who like suspense novels.

    After finishing this one, I immediately got online and purchased the next two in the series. Reading the preview for the second book has gotten me pretty excited!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    Great read but remember it is a series

    Easy read and great content. As it is a series I wished I had gotten all three before starting one so I could finish them. Last one due out in August and can't wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun escapism

    If you've read any of Mariah Stewart's other books and enjoyed them, you will enjoy this one as well. The Mercy Street Foundation was created to help find missing people - and the founder has an interesting and tragic story that will be discussed more in book two and I'm guessing book three. If you like mystery mixed with romance, then you will enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    It too shall pass

    There are several stories in Mercy Street. Billionaire Robert Magellan whose wife and son disappears, Mallory Russo, a good detective, set-up by jealous co-workers DET Charlie Wanamaker who returns to Conroy to help out his mother and sister, and in a city playground two teenaged boys are shot dead while two of their friends manage to escape the killer. All of the stories are interesting and all come to a resolution except Robert Magellan¿s. Mercy street reads like a lead-in to a series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This engaging romantic private investigative thriller is an enjoyable read

    In Conroy, Pennsylvania, two male high school seniors are executed with a bullet to the back of each of their heads two other students who were with them, Courtney Bauer and Ryan Corcoran vanished. The local police led by Chief Drabyack assume Ryan robbed and killed the other two before fleeing with Courtney.---------------- Ryan¿s grandmother Mary believes the teen she raised is innocent and either is in trouble or dead so does Courtney¿s mom Linda. Mary plans to mortgage her house to pay for a sleuth to investigate. Her boss Father Kevin Burch asks his friend gadzillionaire Robert Magellan to fund a private investigator. Robert remains desperate to find his missing wife Beth and their son Ian however, he distrusts all private investigators as those he hired provided nothing but padded bills over the past year. Reluctantly he agrees to pay the fees of true crime writer Mallory Russo, a former Conroy cop. Ex-Philadelphia police detective Charlie Wanamaker, who just came home to Conroy to help his family, assists in spite of being part of the local force after seeing Grand Canyon holes in the official inquiry.--------------------- This engaging romantic private investigative thriller is an enjoyable read made fun by a sold mystery and the attraction between Mallory and Charlie. The story line is fast-paced as the bets keep on coming as to the teens¿ innocence, padded bills, and a romantic relationship between the unoffical partners. Readers will enjoy the MERCY STREET sleuthing.------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2