Customer Reviews for

Mercy Watson to the Rescue (Mercy Watson Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Porcine wonderful!

My second grade class loves having these books read to them for read aloud. They are wonderfully entertaining stories that also provide lots of teaching examples for early readers and writers. The illustrations are superbly done. I also love that the books are done i...
My second grade class loves having these books read to them for read aloud. They are wonderfully entertaining stories that also provide lots of teaching examples for early readers and writers. The illustrations are superbly done. I also love that the books are done in chapters. It makes them more appealing to young children, and their parents, who all to soon and too often believe that reading a non-chapter book is too easy for them. I see too many children reading pages of words in thick books that they do not comprehend. These books are great in many ways. Thank you Kate and Mercy!

posted by Anonymous on April 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Read Aloud Dad verdict: GET YOUR LIBRARY CARD OUT!

The real star of the Mercy Watson series is without a doubt illustrator Chris Van Dusen. I almost feel as if I am sinning when I say that the first Mercy Watson book is not an obligatory buy. Alas, the story isn't strong enough to keep up with the fine illustrations. De...
The real star of the Mercy Watson series is without a doubt illustrator Chris Van Dusen. I almost feel as if I am sinning when I say that the first Mercy Watson book is not an obligatory buy. Alas, the story isn't strong enough to keep up with the fine illustrations. Despite Kate DiCamillo's good effort, the first Mercy Watson story almost falls flat, were it not for Van Dusen's marvelous pictures.
It is simply such a fabulous book to look through and your eyes will feast on the pictures from page 1 all the way to page 80. Van Dusen's art work is much stronger in his own picture books A Camping Spree with Mr Magee, Down to the Sea with Mr Magee, and his two knock-out editions - If I Built a Car and The Circus Ship.
The language in Mercy Watson to the Rescue is a bit stilted and although we all wanted to love it, it was not really love at first sight. Both my kids and I fell in love with the idea of a pig that loves buttered toast and her selfless owners. And such a cute pig too. But if you want to splash your cash on one or two Mercy Watson books, better ones followed after this one.
Also, make sure to glance at the Mercy Watson: Three-Treat Collection: Slipcased Gift Set, which consists of the first three Mercy Watson books at a lower price than the combined price of all three (were you to buy them individually).
In short, loan this one from the library to introduce your kids to Mercy Watson and the inimitable Chris Van Dusen. But save your cash for DiCamillo's and Van Dusen's better works.
VERDICT: GET YOUR LIBRARY CARD OUT!
ReadAloudDad(.)Blogspot(.)Com

posted by ReadAloudDad-Blogspot-Com on September 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    Read Aloud Dad verdict: GET YOUR LIBRARY CARD OUT!

    The real star of the Mercy Watson series is without a doubt illustrator Chris Van Dusen. I almost feel as if I am sinning when I say that the first Mercy Watson book is not an obligatory buy. Alas, the story isn't strong enough to keep up with the fine illustrations. Despite Kate DiCamillo's good effort, the first Mercy Watson story almost falls flat, were it not for Van Dusen's marvelous pictures.
    It is simply such a fabulous book to look through and your eyes will feast on the pictures from page 1 all the way to page 80. Van Dusen's art work is much stronger in his own picture books A Camping Spree with Mr Magee, Down to the Sea with Mr Magee, and his two knock-out editions - If I Built a Car and The Circus Ship.
    The language in Mercy Watson to the Rescue is a bit stilted and although we all wanted to love it, it was not really love at first sight. Both my kids and I fell in love with the idea of a pig that loves buttered toast and her selfless owners. And such a cute pig too. But if you want to splash your cash on one or two Mercy Watson books, better ones followed after this one.
    Also, make sure to glance at the Mercy Watson: Three-Treat Collection: Slipcased Gift Set, which consists of the first three Mercy Watson books at a lower price than the combined price of all three (were you to buy them individually).
    In short, loan this one from the library to introduce your kids to Mercy Watson and the inimitable Chris Van Dusen. But save your cash for DiCamillo's and Van Dusen's better works.
    VERDICT: GET YOUR LIBRARY CARD OUT!
    ReadAloudDad(.)Blogspot(.)Com

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2009

    It was a great read

    My 6 year old daughter read the book in less than 30 minutes. She loved the story and can't wait for more Mercy Watson books to land in the bookstores.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Perfect for my four and five year old

    We have now ordered the rest of these books because my kids loved this one. It has just the right words/picture ratio, vocabulary, and subtlety of humor for almost-readers. We also recommend the author's book about the adventures of Louise the chicken.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2008

    Porcine wonderful!

    My second grade class loves having these books read to them for read aloud. They are wonderfully entertaining stories that also provide lots of teaching examples for early readers and writers. The illustrations are superbly done. I also love that the books are done in chapters. It makes them more appealing to young children, and their parents, who all to soon and too often believe that reading a non-chapter book is too easy for them. I see too many children reading pages of words in thick books that they do not comprehend. These books are great in many ways. Thank you Kate and Mercy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2007

    Mercy Watson Is a Reader's Wonder

    Mercy Watson is a great book for first graders. My daughter read this aloud to me, with a little help, and she loved it. The illustrations are great also. The story line really moves along and kept her interest. The writer also repeats new vocabulary words in an engaging way, which gets the young reader to recognize the new words readily. I am glad this is a series and we'll definitely be reading more about the 'porcine wonder.'

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2006

    Great Book!!

    I bought this book for my youngest daughter and she is crazy about it. It is a chapter book, but she stayed interested until the end and she is only 3 years old. I would suggest this book for anyone. It is so cute and funny.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2005

    A reading pleasure

    Mercy is a fun and cutest pig. The story is hilarious and the illustrations are delightful. I can't wait to get to the end of the story and start all over again!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2005

    Mercy is Mercenary....about Toast!

    Kate Di Camillo is a very versatile author. On the heels of several books geared towards an upper-elementary audience, this book is written for the younger set. Or is it? It took me only a short time to read this delightful little book and I can understand why Max, the precocious 2- year old son of the author's best friend, insists upon hearing it read aloud EVERY night... 'much to his mother's chagrin,' reports Kate. (Chagrin because it is longer than the conventional picture book.) Mercy is a real character study. She is a simple little pig, much adored by her family. Chris Van Dusen's illustrations show Mercy as the center of attention: In the pictures on the walls, in the house, and even with her OWN bedroom, complete with bed and all the amenities of a middle class childhood. A series of events make up the story for this book, the first volume in what looks like a future series from the Di Camillo and Van Dusen partnership. Mercy will have many adventures because everything she does HAPPENS to work out for a very tidy ending and there is lots of humor to keep the story interesting. I wonder if Mercy was named because it could be construed as short or 'mercenary.' Mercy has one great love in life, and that is hot buttered toast. The higher the stack, the better. She dreams of it. She craves it. It is this single-minded pursuit of hot buttered toast that sets this book in motion - after, of course, she causes a bed to ALMOST fall through the floor with her human 'parents' on board, and a neighbor to mistake her for a monster.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It is fantastic book for kids. My son loves it. You have to read it.

    Funny and educational.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Funniest Mercy Watson yet!

    I really enjoyed this book.  My favorite characters are Mercy and Eugena Lincoln.  Their relationship isn't the best but it provides alot of comedy.  The story is fascinating and I couldn't put it down.  I read the whole thing in one sitting! I am a 2nd grader who loves to read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1