Customer Reviews for

The Mercy of Thin Air

Average Rating 4.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A must-read

The plot sucked me in within a few pages, and I couldn't put it down. Being from New Orleans, I was immediately drawn to the descriptions of the city in the 1920s, which I adored. This book was a random grab from the sale section, and now it's one of my 5 favorite books...
The plot sucked me in within a few pages, and I couldn't put it down. Being from New Orleans, I was immediately drawn to the descriptions of the city in the 1920s, which I adored. This book was a random grab from the sale section, and now it's one of my 5 favorite books ever.

posted by 5663722 on December 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Not bad continued

I suspect that like me you will cringe at the superfluous browbeating and social commentary, but you will also laugh when Razi laughs, and cry in agony when she hurts.

posted by PierreLeChat on April 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    A must-read

    The plot sucked me in within a few pages, and I couldn't put it down. Being from New Orleans, I was immediately drawn to the descriptions of the city in the 1920s, which I adored. This book was a random grab from the sale section, and now it's one of my 5 favorite books ever.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2011

    Not bad continued

    I suspect that like me you will cringe at the superfluous browbeating and social commentary, but you will also laugh when Razi laughs, and cry in agony when she hurts.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    The best book ever

    Like anonymous, this is my most favorite book ever. I have lent it out so many times and now I'm going to seal it into my nook forever. It's creativity really gets your mind wondering.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Fascinating read!

    I found this book because of a Barnes & Noble booklet, it recommended the new author. Was I glad I bought it! It was back in 2005and I had just lost my grandfather, I was inconsolable. But after reading this book although it's a love/ ghost story, I felt an overwhelming sense of relief. It is my favorite book. I just wish the author would continue writing. I keep looking up her name and only this book comes up! This book is one of the best books I've ever read! Highly recommend.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Amazing!

    Great charactors, especially the main charactor, great story line, wonderful romance, just a great read all the way around.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    oh, so amazing!!!

    the mercy of thin air is now, i believe, my all time favorite book. it challenges the mind and makes you think. it draws you in so deep that you wish you could simply curl up forever to read and hope the story never ends. it's a love so deep that you inly hope for a quarter of the man andrew is. i recomend this book to everyone, you will not regret te decision to read it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    I really do not know why this book has nothing but rave reviews.

    I really do not know why this book has nothing but rave reviews... it is boring, long winded, and completely rediculous. I initially really liked the idea, but it was not put together well at all. We chose this book because of the rave reviews for our book club and although everyone finished, no one liked it at all (7 people). So morale of the story... don't always believe the reviews. I never cried (well maybe tears of joy when I finished). Skip this book unless you enjoy being tortured by words.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    Slow Go

    I can find something enjoyable about most books; this, however, was an exception. I was very excited to read this book after all the great reviews, but it never sucked me in. Once I start a book, I have to see it through to the end. I found myself reading the same paragraph over and over and still not fully remembering or caring what I read. I will give the author credit for originality, but my opinion is that this book was slow and dull and a chore to get through.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    creative but slow

    The relationship between Andrew and Razi was portrayed in such a realistic manner that you find yourself pulled in immediately. Their romance is the type that everyone dreams of. However, the story skips around a lot. The list of minor characters grows and their names are difficult to keep track of because of sheer number. The plot gets murky at points and you have to read back over portions to comprehend. Fascinating plot line but so much more could have been done with it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    Disappointed & confused

    My book club chose this book because we all thought the synopsis sounded good. Out of 6 of us, only 2 finished it. I was one of the 2. I felt the story jumped around too much, too suddenly. I had to stop & think, 'Wait a minute, am I in the 20's or the 90's'. The consensus of our group was that the book took too much work. I felt it needed additional editing. I'm sorry to say this because I did like the storyline and the characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2006

    Eh...

    I am more broken-hearted about the time I lost reading this novel than I am for any of the utterly forgettable characters in it. Following the gradual assault of these vague personalities you are expected to keep straight chapter after poorly-structured chapter, beware the plot that leads to no definitive end (despite the promises of a surprise ending - yawn - on the inside flap), love scenes you'll have to put toothpicks under your eyelids during in order to remain conscious (unless you are into palms and sternums and synchronized breathing), and pompous diction unleashed for the sake of forcing us to get out our dictionaries. She was onto something with the idea of being 'between.' She should have spent more time there developing Razi's afterlife experiences than in revisiting the mundane details of the young couple's house-keeping for what seemed like more centuries than Noble's been pacing about town. Amy and 'I honestly can't remember his name' and their circle of college friends (dead and alive) are just insufferable. The dialogue between characters is contrived. The language of the novel is excessively poetic. Facts and happenings should be disclosed clearly so you have some semblance of an idea as to whether an event has just occurred or been imagined. I also suspect a Thesauraus or two was sacrificed in order to rescue the final draft. Editors must have been overwhelmed because there are typos throughout the hard-cover version. I don't hold $20.00 that dear, but again I do value the time I lost reading this when I could have been reading something else. Let me spare you the same near-death experience. If you like historical fiction, try Phillipa Gregory. Her research is excellent and her characters are so alive you have no trouble remembering who's who, who's related to whom, etc.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    ...the mercy of thin air.... Ronlyn Domingue....... my thoughts on this book

    Steve and Stacie, as you requested, here are my thoughts on Ronlyn Dominigue’s, ‘the mercy of thin air’. I don’t read many contemporary novels but Steve, as teens you recommended a few artists I still enjoy today so I was willing to give it a go. This 2005 novel is first rate, and the New Orleans, Baton Rouge, and Lafayette settings make the story personal to me, a native of New Orleans. The nod to present day LSU’s Louie’s restaurant and the apartments on the south side of Campus was relevant for me today as an LSU Dad. And the USL/ULL connection was first rate too. Jung’s concept of synchronicity is a concept that I accepted long ago when we were teens. – A concept which Ken Kesey drove deep into my consciousness. And as a student of Physics I have been open to the idea of spirit realm since my college days. I had never before heard of Comstock law so I looked it up. Comstock law was extremely harsh. I had no idea what our great grandmother’s, and grandmother’s endured at the hands of late 19th and early 20th century legislatively adept social conservatives. Our grandmother lost a sister to a botched abortion during the great depression. The family could never speak of how she died. When grandmother died in the 90’s she kept her story that her sister died while having her appendix removed. So the idea of 1920's era mercy filled wealthy New Orleans uptown women activists risking jail time to secretly educate poor women on contraception made me feel grateful for those ‘20’s era activists. Comstock laws then, like prohibition, and marijuana law today was the legislative strangle hold of far right social conservatives. I am not a Tulane alum and I am not of New Orleans uptown wealth and lineage but I have been around both often enough to enjoy reading about their lives. And while all males – and females – have both good and bad traits, the author went out of her way to only show the better traits of the male characters. I’m sure it would have been quite easy for her to bash us males but she did not. The 75 year old family secret particularly hits home as my family has a still undisclosed secret that has lasted from the early 20th century into the 21st century. And the idea of remaining good friends from childhood to death, well we’re living that aren’t we? And lastly, the question of what unknown force makes a heart beat gets to the true center of universal love and the best part of this novel. ‘Why, it beats so I can love you.’ Steve thanks for suggesting this read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2010

    An interesting read sure to spark conversation...

    In the simplest of terms, The Mercy of Thin Air is a modern ghost/love story. The main character, Raziella, is truly that-a character. She is whip smart, free-spirited and fun-loving and, her untimely death leaves a gaping hole in several lives. Razi's determined spirit endures for decades as she continues to search for her one true love, Andrew. As the story progresses, the reader is left wondering what became of Andrew's life. Though final revelations are not overly surprising, Ms Domingue weaves the story of overlapping lives and different eras to deliver a satisfying, thought-provoking read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great ghost story!

    I love this book , it is the type of a book that I have been looking for in a long time.A very diffrent type of ghost story. For one it tells both sides of the story~~~!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2009

    I liked the story very much, unpredictable and written nicely,

    I liked the story very much, unpredictable and written nicely, made me want to sit with a cup of tea and read it non-stop to find out if it had a happy ending....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    slow but satisfying...

    The Mercy of Thin Air is a slow moving novel but ultimately well worth the read. It's narrated by Raziela Nolan, who is a young woman in New Orleans in the 1920's. She is in the midst of a wonderful love affair with Andrew and on the brink of going to medical school when tragedy strikes. She dies. But she doesn't pass on. She ends up staying "between", the realm before whatever comes next. From here she "haunts" a young couple, Amy and Scott, 75 years later. As Raziela struggles to learn what happened to her beloved Andrew after her death, we slowly discover what it is that draws Raziela to Amy and Scott. These two intertwined love stories from separate times are truly heartbreaking....but beautiful. It's not often a book brings tears to my eyes but The Mercy of Thin Air did.

    "From ambitious, forward-thinking Razi, who illegally slips birth control guides into library books; to hip Web designer Amy, who begins to fall off the edge of grief; to Eugenia, caught between since the Civil War, the characters in this wondrous novel sing with life. Evoking the power of love, memory, and time, The Mercy of Thin Air culminates in a startling finish that will leave readers breathless. " -taken from synopsis

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Left wanting more........

    I have too agree with the others who claim this as as a beautiful and well written story. This "love " story will haunt you for a long long time. It was one of those books you didn't want to put down yet you forced yourself simply for the fact that that you'd be finished with it. And then you'd be left wanting more. I just wish Ronlyn Domingue would write another book . But 'am grateful for this breath of freah air.........

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    The mercy of thin air... is my favorite...

    This book had tears rolling down my cheeks every other page.<BR/>The writer makes the story so touching and heartfelt, you can't put it down.<BR/>The mercy of thin air will stay with you for a long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2008

    Once in a Blue Moon there Comes a Classic

    I remember novels that start with a great first sentence. The Mercy of Thin Air starts with one and then delivers an ethereal love story that haunts and reminds us of how the past is really always with us. No, we do not get over the loss of someone we have loved. We live with it. And it can enrich our lives.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    I don't understand why anyone could not like this.

    I'm about to cry right now just thinking over the whole book.. I couldn't go five pages without shivers tingeling my back or tears running down my face. I love classics, like jane austin and the bronte sisters, but by far i enjoyed this one much more then those books. I read the whole book at once while listening to love songs on my ipod.. i wil defenetly be reading this one again, it's my favorite.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5