Customer Reviews for

Meridian (Meridian Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 180 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Breia "The Brain" Brickey for TeensReadToo.com

Meridian is a teenage girl who has seen a lot of death in her almost sixteen years. It has been a constant companion for her and she has no idea why - even small animals seem to die when they are near her. She spends most of her young life being feared by the kids aroun...
Meridian is a teenage girl who has seen a lot of death in her almost sixteen years. It has been a constant companion for her and she has no idea why - even small animals seem to die when they are near her. She spends most of her young life being feared by the kids around her, but that all changes as her 16th birthday nears.

On her way home from school, a tragic accident happens and she is forced to flee. She goes one way and her family another. She is sent to live with her namesake, an aunt whom she only knows from the quilts that she sent for all of Meridian's birthdays.

Once there she meets Tens, a mysterious boy who also lives with her aunt. Meridian is told that she is Fenestra, a descendant of Angels who sends souls on their way to the afterlife. She must learn to control her ability, because there are those who would use it against her.

Let me first say that I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The mythology of this story was entirely new for me as a reader. I felt that it was well thought out, had interesting characters, and kept me enthralled for the entire book. While I did enjoy everything about this book, I wish there had been more back-story on Tens.

I read that there is another book coming out and I hope it turns into a series, because it would be a definite auto-buy for me.

posted by TeensReadToo on December 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

It was...OK....

When i first read the synopsis of this book i thought it sounded really interesting and different from anything else i had read. Not to knock the book or anything because everyone likes different things but i didnt find this book very interesting at all. The whole tim...
When i first read the synopsis of this book i thought it sounded really interesting and different from anything else i had read. Not to knock the book or anything because everyone likes different things but i didnt find this book very interesting at all. The whole time i was reading it i felt like i kept waiting for something to happen but it just never did...I felt like it had a really cool out there concept but the whole story was kinda half way there...like the author never took it to the level i was expecting. I didnt connect with any of the characters or the world the author was trying to portray. It definately had its moments but i wont be eagerly awaiting the sequel...ill probably just pass altogether

posted by Jill23 on December 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Breia "The Brain" Brickey for TeensReadToo.com

    Meridian is a teenage girl who has seen a lot of death in her almost sixteen years. It has been a constant companion for her and she has no idea why - even small animals seem to die when they are near her. She spends most of her young life being feared by the kids around her, but that all changes as her 16th birthday nears.

    On her way home from school, a tragic accident happens and she is forced to flee. She goes one way and her family another. She is sent to live with her namesake, an aunt whom she only knows from the quilts that she sent for all of Meridian's birthdays.

    Once there she meets Tens, a mysterious boy who also lives with her aunt. Meridian is told that she is Fenestra, a descendant of Angels who sends souls on their way to the afterlife. She must learn to control her ability, because there are those who would use it against her.

    Let me first say that I thoroughly enjoyed this book. The mythology of this story was entirely new for me as a reader. I felt that it was well thought out, had interesting characters, and kept me enthralled for the entire book. While I did enjoy everything about this book, I wish there had been more back-story on Tens.

    I read that there is another book coming out and I hope it turns into a series, because it would be a definite auto-buy for me.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    It was...OK....

    When i first read the synopsis of this book i thought it sounded really interesting and different from anything else i had read. Not to knock the book or anything because everyone likes different things but i didnt find this book very interesting at all. The whole time i was reading it i felt like i kept waiting for something to happen but it just never did...I felt like it had a really cool out there concept but the whole story was kinda half way there...like the author never took it to the level i was expecting. I didnt connect with any of the characters or the world the author was trying to portray. It definately had its moments but i wont be eagerly awaiting the sequel...ill probably just pass altogether

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    A sparkling window to another world

    Meridian is one of those rare books that stay with you long after you've read the last page. Amber Kizer brilliantly displays her talent for weaving together a compelling story, intriguing characters, and descriptions so vivid that you'd swear you're standing next to Meridian Sozu herself. Laced gracefully throughout the book are reflections on the gift of life and the comfort that we are not alone at the end of it. Where Meridian's destiny will take her next is a mystery-one that readers will await with great anticipation.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Meridian- by Amber Kizer

    Love story mixed within a fight of good and evil.
    Only released last month.
    I chose this book because it appeared when I made online orders as "bought by people who bought what you are buying". I read the online excerpts and was already hooked. I've just finished it and it didn't really end on the last page; it's actually part of a series that is just starting (next one due out in 2011; I had no idea until I had finished the first book). Religious and spiritual undertones that will have you examining your own beliefs. Invented beings I have never heard of before.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    seriously

    amazing wish there was more than two
    the books r truly amazing for young adults

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2012

    Not for me-but not horrible.

    I really could not get into this book, but I finished it anyway. I think its really silly to review a book you didnt finish because I have read books that took a while to pick up. This one didnt, well not for me anyway. I liked Meridian's character, but I think I am still a bit confused as to why Tens didnt like her to start. The writing is good and the plot was okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Good read

    Its interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    A good myth and legend

    Amber kizer you read a lot about angel felt most angel based on the myths and legend not more on the stareo type but you read more myth and legend and change a little a to add teast to the stroy i wish the book was longer and more books in the series plese write more you will love book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    amazing

    i loved loved loved the book.
    the romance in it made my toes curl.
    and the humor in it made me laugh at times.
    this book is well written and amazing.
    go to the library or buy it i dont care just read it!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2011

    Interesting

    Interesting plot. Kept me turning the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    AMAZING!!!

    It drew me in the second i stared reading it!! Has a great story line and you would never get lost in it!!! Would recomend it to everyone!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book

    I liked this book even though im not into the paranormal genre. Worth the price.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    Awesomely awesome XD

    This is a great book, Meridian is a great character who has her own sense of what is right, though im still reading this im only on chapter 5 and i think this book is definatly worth it. XD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    Truely Fantastic Book!

    The book summary may look creepy, as I first thought, but this book really is fantastic! {May Spoil A little Bit} There is the kinda typical girl hates boy in the beginning thing, but unlike most books she has a reason. I really hope this book has a sequel! It's fresh and like nothing I've ever read. It will have you on your toes and you'll be telling everyone about it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    Holy crap!

    THIS BOOK IS AMAZING YOU must READ IT!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2011

    Wow!

    I didnt expect the book to be this good! I'd thought it was going to be another boring teen fiction, but boy was i wrong! This book is totally worth it! I can't wait for the sequel!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Is it worth the buy?

    I love books like this, but i need to know if it is a mature enough read for me. Comments?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    ?

    is the book worth it it sounds good but idk im in to the msytical stuff

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very good

    Overall, I recommend this book. I found a couple of punctuation mistakes, such as missing commas & colons. Some cheesy things happened in the book & could have been better without those moments, but it was a wonderful story. Very original.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    awesome!

    it is perfect for a ten year old girl. i though this book is amazing! it is a love stoy, it has action( but no nasty things like somebody shooting the crap out of some body), their loss when the main charactor's aunt died

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10