BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Meridon (Wideacre Trilogy #3)

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Satisfyingly Good

    A good read. Even though the first third of the novel goes into great detail about Meridon's life in the circus, you learn of it's significance toward the end of the novel. The story seamlessly blends into the new life of Meridon once she gets back to her home turf, Wideacre, but there seems to be a gap in the story that doesn't fully explain (to my satisfaction) how Meridon, not knowing about her roots, came to 'yearn' for Wideacre. She was given away at birth to Gypsy's and later sold to a circus manager, so where does the yearning stem from? (This is not a spoiler; her being given away to Gypsy's is told in the 2nd novel "A Favored Child"). If she was born with an insightful "gift" as her grandmother, then this novel failed to expound on that as it was done in the 1st & 2nd novels. Beside that, Phillpa Gregary does a very good job in introducing new characters in the story whose behaviors are more deviant, giving the novel more spice. I found myself unable to put the book down, as usual with any of Gregory's novels. Although my favorite of the trilogy was "Wideacre", this novel put a satisfying closure to the trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Great read!!

    I couldnt put this book down and finished it in record time. This series from ms Gregory definitly did not disappoint. The way that she describes her characters and the situations makes it possible for you to get lost in the story, your imagination running wild. I just wish that there was more to the series, I didnt want it to end!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Best in the Trilogy

    I love this book. Gregory has a way of making you completely disagree with the main character's actions at times but still wanting her to prevail in the end. The first novel in the trilogy (Wideacre), I agree, was mildy disturbing. I think the second novel (The Favored Child) brings the story to a great place with Meridon as the main character. I would definitely recommend this book. While you probably could read it without having read the first two novels, I would recommend reading the entire series. Philippa Gregory is a great storyteller!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Highly recommended

    The fist book "Wideacre" was disturbing at times. Then the second book was a lot better, however, Meridon was a great read. What a lovely person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I loved it!

    I would've given it five stars if Meridon wasn't so cold and stubborn all the time :)
    It was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    excellent book

    great insights into the class system inEngland and the character development of strong women

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read

    I read the first 2 in the trilogy and they were amazing. This one does not fail to follow in that path. Very exciting characters and Philippa Gregory's writing always keeps you engrossed. Totally different story ...very interesting and you just want to keep on reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Clearly a freshman effort

    After reading all of the Henry VIII/Boleyn series, I thought I would try Ms. Gregory's earlier efforts. The difference in the writing, plots, and character development was astounding. The first three (The Wideacre Trilogy: Wideacre, The Favored Child, and Meridon) seemed to be written for a much different audience, one interested in titillating, illicit romance stories with, for the most part, flat, unsympathetic characters. How she managed to stretch this absurd story line through more than 1500 pages is beyond me. The maturity of her more recent work is certainly not predicted here. Although Meridon was the best of the three works, with fewer two-dimensional characters and a little less absurd plot, it was still far inferior to Ms. Gregory's historical fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    absolutely lovely

    an amazing ending to an OUTSTANDING trilogy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    I WANTED MORE!

    I read meridon a while back and i thought to myself how did i not put in a review for this book?! it was amazing. Didnt want it to end. I would have to say that if i had to rate which one was my absolute favorite...It would have to be wideacre book 1 of the trilogy. Philippa gregory brings her characters to life. She is incredible and i am so excited to see new work out by her! ladies and gentleman, if you read a bad review for this book....Ignore it....They dont know what they are talking about!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    Not that great.

    When I was reading inside the book it said 'one of her best books yet',good thing I've already read three other ones of Philippa Gregory or I would have been scared to read the others books she's written.I saw it all coming before I even got to half the pages,plus at times it bored me. I'm usually good about reading them quickly this one I sometimes dreaded picking back up,I had to make myself.I always make myself a promise I'm not allowed to buy another book til I've finished the new one I bought,in fact I bought this one discounted I'm glad, I did. I would have been so mad to pay full price for it.Don't get me wrong it did pick up and get better towards the end either that or I was so glad to be done with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    Finally A Happy Ending

    This was by far the best book and you really don't need to read other two, but I would recommend reading them in order. Meridon goes from a gypsy to a lady of quality, living in both worlds not knowing who she is and then in the end she finds herself and finally sticks up for herself. The ending finally closes the trilogy and while you may be able to guess it, it was nice after the other two books leaving things unfinished. Meridon becomes a strong woman and thank god after so many times during the novel, I got annoyed with her weaknest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2007

    Meridon the Gypsy

    In my opinion, Wideacre and The Favored Child were better stories...more compelling to read. This book was easier to put down and I didn't have the same desire to keep turning the pages. Though this entire series is very 'dark' fiction, I applaud the talents of Ms. Gregory. I do wonder how Meridon/Sarah could have turned out as she did considering her genetic background.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    i didnt want it to end

    love this trilogy. i didnt want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2007

    perfect

    I tought it was a wonderful ending! It was such a good way to wrap up the trilogy. Both the first one and the second one had sad endings (in a way) while this one ended happily! It was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2007

    The Perfect Ending

    I ablsolutely loved this books. It gave the Wideacre trilogy the eact ending that it needed and deserved. and once again the charactors of Ms. Gregory's novel were never boring or dull. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    Great Ending to an Emotional Trilogy

    This book is the final in the Wideacre Trilogy. It was just as emotional and compelling as the first 2 books, but the Lacey family finally gets a happy ending with Sarah/Meridon. I recommend this trilogy to lovers of historical fiction. I am sad that it is over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2005

    Good conclusion to the trilogy!!!

    This was definatly the ending I was exspecting, I am so glad that I continued to read all the way through the 3 books. You may have been disgusted by beatrice in the 1st book and wanted to yell at Julias stupidity in the second but Meridon in the 3rd really makes up for it all!!! I encourage you to read it!!! Enjoy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2004

    A Little Disappointing

    Not as good as the favoured child but still tons better than Wideacre - It would have been fantastic if it had tied up the loose ends left at the end of 'The Favoured Child'and if there were more connections in the storyline to 'Julia Lacey' I was very disappointed Philippa Gregory did not do this. However it did have a fantastic end which made up for what it lacked. Really sad to finish it as it meant the whole trilogy was over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2003

    Compelling Conclusion!

    This book is exactly what was needed to wrap up the dark, captivating Lacey saga-- Meridon is a classic Lacey, as thoroughly deceitful as her grandmother but smart enough to see past all the phoniness in her world. She is an amazing character and the romance and plot twists in this book are sensational! I never wanted it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 94 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5