Customer Reviews for

Meridon (Wideacre Trilogy #3)

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I loved it!

    I would've given it five stars if Meridon wasn't so cold and stubborn all the time :)
    It was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    excellent book

    great insights into the class system inEngland and the character development of strong women

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Satisfyingly Good

    A good read. Even though the first third of the novel goes into great detail about Meridon's life in the circus, you learn of it's significance toward the end of the novel. The story seamlessly blends into the new life of Meridon once she gets back to her home turf, Wideacre, but there seems to be a gap in the story that doesn't fully explain (to my satisfaction) how Meridon, not knowing about her roots, came to 'yearn' for Wideacre. She was given away at birth to Gypsy's and later sold to a circus manager, so where does the yearning stem from? (This is not a spoiler; her being given away to Gypsy's is told in the 2nd novel "A Favored Child"). If she was born with an insightful "gift" as her grandmother, then this novel failed to expound on that as it was done in the 1st & 2nd novels. Beside that, Phillpa Gregary does a very good job in introducing new characters in the story whose behaviors are more deviant, giving the novel more spice. I found myself unable to put the book down, as usual with any of Gregory's novels. Although my favorite of the trilogy was "Wideacre", this novel put a satisfying closure to the trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read

    I read the first 2 in the trilogy and they were amazing. This one does not fail to follow in that path. Very exciting characters and Philippa Gregory's writing always keeps you engrossed. Totally different story ...very interesting and you just want to keep on reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2007

    Meridon the Gypsy

    In my opinion, Wideacre and The Favored Child were better stories...more compelling to read. This book was easier to put down and I didn't have the same desire to keep turning the pages. Though this entire series is very 'dark' fiction, I applaud the talents of Ms. Gregory. I do wonder how Meridon/Sarah could have turned out as she did considering her genetic background.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2006

    Great Ending to an Emotional Trilogy

    This book is the final in the Wideacre Trilogy. It was just as emotional and compelling as the first 2 books, but the Lacey family finally gets a happy ending with Sarah/Meridon. I recommend this trilogy to lovers of historical fiction. I am sad that it is over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2005

    Good conclusion to the trilogy!!!

    This was definatly the ending I was exspecting, I am so glad that I continued to read all the way through the 3 books. You may have been disgusted by beatrice in the 1st book and wanted to yell at Julias stupidity in the second but Meridon in the 3rd really makes up for it all!!! I encourage you to read it!!! Enjoy!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2004

    A Little Disappointing

    Not as good as the favoured child but still tons better than Wideacre - It would have been fantastic if it had tied up the loose ends left at the end of 'The Favoured Child'and if there were more connections in the storyline to 'Julia Lacey' I was very disappointed Philippa Gregory did not do this. However it did have a fantastic end which made up for what it lacked. Really sad to finish it as it meant the whole trilogy was over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2