Customer Reviews for

Merle's Door: Lessons from a Freethinking Dog

Average Rating 4.5
( 259 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(179)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Makes you rethink your relationship with animals.

This was a fantastic read. As a biologist and zookeeper my ideas on the relationship between man and animal were pretty well established. . . this book blew them all out of the water. It has made me rethink my relationship with the animals at work as well as my own an...
This was a fantastic read. As a biologist and zookeeper my ideas on the relationship between man and animal were pretty well established. . . this book blew them all out of the water. It has made me rethink my relationship with the animals at work as well as my own animals at home. I highly recommend this book for anyone who loves animals.

posted by 3340626 on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ok book

We all believe in different ways to raise your dogs. This man did not believe in quality of life. It bought me back to when I put my animals to sleep , it was rough and this book in my eyes was horrific. He did love his dog but there is a saying " L will love you all my...
We all believe in different ways to raise your dogs. This man did not believe in quality of life. It bought me back to when I put my animals to sleep , it was rough and this book in my eyes was horrific. He did love his dog but there is a saying " L will love you all my life, but when l am in pain and hurting, PLEASE put me out of misery. I felt terrible for this dog.

posted by gierut on April 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 260 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    Makes you rethink your relationship with animals.

    This was a fantastic read. As a biologist and zookeeper my ideas on the relationship between man and animal were pretty well established. . . this book blew them all out of the water. It has made me rethink my relationship with the animals at work as well as my own animals at home. I highly recommend this book for anyone who loves animals.

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2009

    You Will Love Merle!

    I knew when I picked up this book that I was in for a cry, because I always cry when I read dog books. After all, you know the dog is going to die in the end--they always do! It's not fair, but that's the way it is--most people live several dog lifetimes. It seems as if we're always having to say goodbye. But of course I did pick it up, I did read it, and I did cry. I finished it last night. It took me over an hour, it seemed, to get through the last chapter. I would be sobbing so hard, I'd have to stop, blow my nose, run to the bathroom to splash cold water over my face, and clean my glasses. This book was seriously hard to finish. I loved that dog so much. It was extremely well-written, informative, and thought-provoking. The author may have gotten a little carried away with the anthropomorphisms. I mean, I doubted some of the thoughts that were attributed to Merle, but who am I to judge? Ted knew the dog a lot better than I did, and who's to say he didn't know what Merle was thinking? And what a life that dog had! Obviously, we can't all provide our dogs with mountains, but maybe we can at least learn to treat them as fellow travelers and give them the respect they deserve. I highly recommend this book!!

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2008

    IF YOU LOVE DOGS

    This is absolutely one of the best, if not the best book ever written about the bond between humans and their dogs. Not only was it educational in a variety of ways but truely a touching love story. Once I started reading it, I couldn't put it down. You will feel like you are a part of Ted and Merle's great adventure. What a dog and author!!

    17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Fantastic Read

    One of the most insteresting reads I've had in a while! If you love animals, this will warm your heart and soul. Wish all our animals could be this free and happy.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Be Careful

    This book changed forever how I see dogs. The mark of a truly good book is it's ability to help you see the world differently This book does that and my dog has a better, more rewarding life as a result. Great book.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    The chance meeting on a camping trip in Utah of Ted Kerasote and an abandoned dog, who eventually was named Merle, was the beginning of the most remarkable relationship between human and dog that I have ever read. And I have read many wonderful dog stories, fiction and non fiction, and this book is probably my favorite. No other writer has captured how closely dogs and humans are so much like each other, emotionally and intellectually. There are plenty of adventures over their thirteeen years together that Mr. Kerasote chronicles in his beautiful prose, as he is a fine writer, with not a maudlin false step. He captures the essence of how dogs make us more human by what they teach us. What a gift. This book is not to be missed.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    Must reading!

    If you love your dog AND want understand them this is a must read. There's a touching story but also facts to facilitate canine understanding. Concise, and helpful for dog lovers!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    Highly recommended

    We are an extended family of dog people. My mother-in-law very enthusiastically recommended this book to anyone we met who was walking their dog, saying "if you love dogs then I must recommend a book". I thought it might be sappy, but sent it to a dog-loving friend for Christmas. And still did not read it until I received a copy from my enthusiastic, and very much correct, mother-in-law as a gift. It is not sentimental, but truly wrenches one's heart. It is informative, it is thought-provoking and most telling, anyone who reads this book buys it for someone else as gift! I highly recommend but be prepared for some tears at the end.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Very touching story of unconditional love.

    This book was a great story of the relationship between a man and his dog. I learned so much and makes me appreciate dogs even more. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who has a dog.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    A wonderful story of a man and his dog.

    Mr. Kerasote has captured the unique and sublime relationship dog owners can have with their animals. Not only has he brought Merle to life on the pages of this book he has included research to explain the behavior of canines which adds understanding to the whys of ways.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read

    Great story about a man and his dog. However, I am only 16 so the research and background information was a little boring. I think however that is I was to read it again in a couple of years I would like it even better and understand why the researh was so important.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Ok book

    We all believe in different ways to raise your dogs. This man did not believe in quality of life. It bought me back to when I put my animals to sleep , it was rough and this book in my eyes was horrific. He did love his dog but there is a saying " L will love you all my life, but when l am in pain and hurting, PLEASE put me out of misery. I felt terrible for this dog.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Greatest man to animal relationship book ever

    This book is very well written it shows the true relastionship between man and dog. I would reccomend this book to anyone who loves dogs or animals. The book will have you laughing and crying and laughing again.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    One of the best books I have ever read. I cried, I laughed then

    One of the best books I have ever read. I cried, I laughed then I cried again. Ted shows us how to treat a dog respectfully through life and eventually death. This book is a must read for any animal lover. My dogs benefited from me having read this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Best book ever

    Not a big reader, but after this book i want to find books that are this good. Love it, MUST read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Best Story I've Read in Years

    If you have a dog, if you've ever had a dog, if you like dogs, or if you love the outdoors, you need to read this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Loved this!

    A must read for dog lovers

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    Best book ever written about dogs

    Amazing! Funny. Witty. Profound. Intelligent. Well researched. Exquisite presentation. Beautiful story of mutual respect, love, dedication and understanding between a man and his best four legged companion. Human and animal psychology, in sync. A must read for all those that have a heart, love to learn and want to better themselves in this lifetime.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding!

    Not only a great story, but a great source of dog info.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Best!

    As a total dog lover and veterinary enthusiast this book was amazing! It was referred to me by a professor at school and throughout the book it gave great knowledge and documentary about behaviors of dogs as well as mental states. I learned a lot from this book, and look at my dog differently. By the end of this book I had bawled about 3 times. Extremelly good read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 260 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13