BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Merle's Door: Lessons from a Freethinking Dog

Average Rating 4.5
( 261 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Makes you rethink your relationship with animals.

This was a fantastic read. As a biologist and zookeeper my ideas on the relationship between man and animal were pretty well established. . . this book blew them all out of the water. It has made me rethink my relationship with the animals at work as well as my own an...
This was a fantastic read. As a biologist and zookeeper my ideas on the relationship between man and animal were pretty well established. . . this book blew them all out of the water. It has made me rethink my relationship with the animals at work as well as my own animals at home. I highly recommend this book for anyone who loves animals.

posted by 3340626 on April 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Ok book

We all believe in different ways to raise your dogs. This man did not believe in quality of life. It bought me back to when I put my animals to sleep , it was rough and this book in my eyes was horrific. He did love his dog but there is a saying " L will love you all my...
We all believe in different ways to raise your dogs. This man did not believe in quality of life. It bought me back to when I put my animals to sleep , it was rough and this book in my eyes was horrific. He did love his dog but there is a saying " L will love you all my life, but when l am in pain and hurting, PLEASE put me out of misery. I felt terrible for this dog.

posted by gierut on April 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Be Careful

    This book changed forever how I see dogs. The mark of a truly good book is it's ability to help you see the world differently This book does that and my dog has a better, more rewarding life as a result. Great book.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    A wonderful story of a man and his dog.

    Mr. Kerasote has captured the unique and sublime relationship dog owners can have with their animals. Not only has he brought Merle to life on the pages of this book he has included research to explain the behavior of canines which adds understanding to the whys of ways.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Great read

    I really enjoyed this book. It really makes you think about what our puppy babies are thinking when they communicate with us. It also lets you look in on what is possible a different style of dog rearing. BAnyone who has a love for their dog should find at least some of this book entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Dog lover

    Slow at times but def worth the read....must love dogs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Go to

    7777 and join the dog clan. Res one for hanging out res two fur bios see u there!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    First, to the vegans out there, yes, there is hunting out there,

    First, to the vegans out there, yes, there is hunting out there, so go read something else. :)  With that said, I really enjoyed this book, and thoroughly enjoyed reading about Mr. Kerasote's interactions between he and his dog, Merle. What I didn't care for, however, and the reason I did not give this book five stars, was his continually writing about research findings about wolves, coyotes, and other animals, as well as Darwinian concepts; that stuff I could have done without, and thought it took away from the book - but that's just my opinion. A very heartwarming book otherwise, and yes, I enjoyed reading about his hunting with Merle and there's nothing wrong with hunting: the good Lord put the animals here for us to enjoy, and to use as meat as we need. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Hn

    Tgfdd

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Recommended for dog lovers

    Heart wrenching story of how he found his dog and their life after that. However there is really too much research included in the story from my standpoint, which made for slow reading of the life of his dog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Enjoyable for dog owners

    I enjoyed the book, and I even shed a few tears understanding firsthand the love one can have for their dog; however it also did a good job at making me feel like an inadequate dog owner because I don’t live in a vast open area where I can allow my dog to run free with minimal consequences to my pet or even myself. Nonetheless, it was well written, but dragged on for an extra 100 pages too long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Wasn't sure in the beginning. Wound up being very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    If you are a dog lover you will enjoy this book.

    Merle's story is truly amazing... I had a dog almost like Merle. My $5.00 puppy from the pound turned out to be a family member, not just a dog. Reading Mr. Ketasote's story about Merle's ways made me laugh out loud, thinking how my Pepper did the very same things. He loved Merle the way I loved Pepper. Reading Merle's story was a fun and informative read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    For dog lovers

    Dog lovers will love this book - those who are ambivalent or less about dogs will not be able to relate to the author's feelings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Recommend

    I sort of skipped over the imbedded research parts because I already know dogs are loyal, intelligent, emotional friends for life. Merle was that and taught his human well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Insightful look at a dog's life and thoughts

    At first I was put off by the pretentiousness of Mr. Kerasote (talking to Merle in Spanish & French, calling Merle "Sir", "Garcon", "Senor"), but I quickly warmed up to this well researched and very interesting book. I don't usually lose myself in non-fiction, but this book grabbed me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Tear Jerker

    Not for a big softy to read. This will get to you. If you're a dog lover, you have to read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    Heartwarming, funny, enlightening

    This is more than just a story about a wonderful dog. It also offers an education and insight into how dogs evolved to man's best friend and companion of today. Have the tissues ready at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    Best dog book ever

    This is truely one of the best books I have read. The bond between man and dog is told making the reader believe it is their dog that is Merle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2007

    I Know a dog . . .

    After having just finished Marley and Me, I was expecting a similar reading experience with this book. But Ted Kerasote has written a great book, not just a great dog book. The scientific references were fascinating, and the story was well written. I love dogs, and clearly the author loved his dog as well. I concur with many of his theories about a dog/human relationship. The last few chapters were very moving. I could have done without all the hunting references, but since they were essential to Merle's story I can let that pass. I repeat, a book that should be read by any dog lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3