Customer Reviews for

The Merlin Prophecy (Avalon High: Coronation Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Avalon High(The Merlin Prophesy)

    Avalon high is one of the best graphic novels I've ever read,Full of romance,intrigue,fantasy.Definite must read if you love fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jaglvr for TeensReadToo.com

    Fans of Meg Cabot are treated to a change in style by the author. Paired with artist Jinky Coronado, Ms. Cabot retells AVALON HIGH in a comic/manga style. Readers do not have to have read AVALON HIGH to follow this new version of the story. <BR/><BR/>Elle Harrison has just moved to Annapolis with her history buff parents. Almost immediately weird things start to happen. Her history teacher, Mr. Morton, explains it as the return of King Arthur and the Age of Enlightenment. Apparently Elle is the Lady of the Lake and the football star, Will Wagner, is Arthur reincarnated. Elle's parents totally believe the story. Will thinks it's all a joke. And Elle, she doesn't know what to believe. The pieces all seem to fit together perfectly. Is it too much of a coincidence? <BR/><BR/>What takes 300 pages to be told in the original young adult story is told in just over 100 pages via the comic version. Of course, many of the details are left out. But the drawings reveal the story beautifully. Elle has to try to convince Will that he is King Arthur before the Homecoming dance. If he doesn't accept that he is the reincarnated King, the Age of Enlightenment can not happen, and the world will be thrust into darkness. No pressure, right? And to make matters worse, Will's brother, Marco, previously thought to be locked safely in a mental institution, is now out, and no one may be safe. <BR/><BR/>This is my first foray into this book style. Having read AVALON HIGH, I must admit I enjoyed THE MERLIN PROPHECY more than I expected to. I was instantly drawn to Elle and her adventures. The pictures were very vibrant, even in black and white. The details were amazing, and the story unfolded quickly and smoothly. Of course, Ms. Cabot leaves the reader wanting to learn what comes next. Not even the original story reveals how all the characters turn out. The reader will just have to wait for the continuation in AVALON HIGH CORONATION VOL. 2: HOMECOMING, due out in June 2008.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    Great New Format for Meg's Writing

    I love that Meg is trying her hand at manga- it's a great format and after reading the first volume of the sequel, there's great things to come from Meg and Jinky. Yes, the first book is recapped for most of it, which does sort of suck, but it's nice to see a different perspective to the original novel. Also, the reason for the recap is for those manga lovers who did not read the novel version, not necessarily for those who may have forgotten what happened in the novel. I think it's hilarious how some people are like 'Meg should stick to writing!' when she is still writing for the manga. She wrote the script and Jinky made the drawings based on all of that. For those wondering why there's a manga sequel and not a new manga series, it's because Meg tried to pitch ideas for a new manga series, but neither publisher liked them and suggested doing a manga sequel to one of her books. They agreed that Avalon High and Jinx had the best potential because of their paranormal element. The reason she did not write a novel version is because the story she had in mind for the manga sequel was not long enough to fill a full novel. Manga was the perfect avenue to put it across in. Also, in regards to the length, all the HarperCollins/Tokyopop mangas released last summer were all pretty short, most likely so they could see what the demand would be for them. The second and third volumes are going to be double the length of the first, so don't fear about the length anymore. And for those complaining about how long it took them to read, all mangas take less than an hour to read, so finishing this one in half an hour is not exactly a huge feat, nor is it totally surprising. This is how mangas work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    A reviewer

    i love meg cabot books!!! i mean i use to hate hate books. in my school we have these things call book reports and i would never do them cuz i hate reading i think it the most boring thing ever but one day my counsler made pick a book so i went to the school's libary and i saw alvon high and the only reason i pick it was beacuase of the cover and i fell in love with the book it was sooo aswome now i cant stop reading books but i only read meg cabots im so stuck on her series of princees dairies meg cabot books are orginial i love alvon high its an orginal so when i heard thier another sequel i knew i had to get i havent read it but i know it will be aswome and for you people who hate it then you dont have any taste in books -xoxo rocker chic out

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    Avalon High, where the past could be the future.

    I enjoyed reading Avalon High, it has a nice story about a girl who comes to realize that she may have been part of Camelot hundreds of years ago in another life, and that all the other people that were involved with that life in Camelot are here now as well. Can she help stop the evil forces that destroyed Camelot so long ago from doing it again, or will the world go into yet another Dark Age that it may never come out of? Jinky Coronado does beautiful illustrations for Avalon High so I'm glad that she'll be doing the next issue as well. I think Avalon High is worth checking out, and I'm looking forward to getting the next issue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    This was an awsome book. I love to read but I need a book that gets my attention and keeps it. I'd say this is one of those books. Any one who loves Meg Cabot books will love this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2007

    Great adaptation and artwork

    Avalon High Coronation: The Merlin Prophecy is an excellent adaptation for young readers. Lost in much of the hype of acclaimed author Meg Cabot's work is the first class artwork of up-and-coming talent Jinky Coronado. Jinky brings these characters to life to reflect a full range of emotions and teenage angst. If a picture tells a thousand words, then Jinky has complemented Meg Cabot's writing in countless ways. I highly recomend this book for young readers and parents who are particular about what their children read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2007

    i hated reading untill i read this....

    i rlly hated reading untill i read this one now im hooked on meg cabot's books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was the best i have ever read and yeah the second one will be in magna so what if the first one is the second is going to be really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    Ive been really looking forward to this book, but on meg cabots website she gives you like a page from the book and its all in COMICS! i really dont want comics-- so when someone gets the book could you please post if its in comic format? thanks :]]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2007

    A reviewer

    I LOVE this book I couldnt put it down i HIGHLY recomend it for teens i cant wait for the sequel! it comes out july 3 its called avalon high coronation but im not sure if ill like it... its magna style......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2007

    I Wasn`t A Book Reader!

    So, I wasn`t in LOVE with books until I read Avalon High. THEN I really fell in love with them, now I read FOREVER. Anyways, can`t wait until this book comes out! :]

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2007

    Best Book Beyond Belief

    I have not yet finished this amazingly witty book however, I have read most and every page has been intoxicating. I love Meg Cabot books, and hopefully she comes out with a sequel. ***Hint Hint MEG! Love, a dear fan -Hads

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2007

    Coming of age

    This is a very good and subtle 'coming of age' book that weaves a good story without being explicit, and with good characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2