Customer Reviews for

The Mermaid Chair

Average Rating 3
( 348 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(70)

2 Star

(60)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Soul Satisfying Book

In The Mermaid Chair, Sue Monk Kidd does for fiction what the Flemish masters did for painting. She imbues each scene with so much reality it unfolds in your mind like a memory.

You can taste the salty sea air and smell the murky island scents of Egret Island. You fe...
In The Mermaid Chair, Sue Monk Kidd does for fiction what the Flemish masters did for painting. She imbues each scene with so much reality it unfolds in your mind like a memory.

You can taste the salty sea air and smell the murky island scents of Egret Island. You feel every horrific and blessed thing that Jessie experiences.

I have never fallen so completely in love with a book before. Her writing is beyond beautiful. It¿s startling and humbling. I found myself nodding and rereading lines, thinking YES that is exactly how it feels but how did she capture it so perfectly?

The book is brimming with brilliance. Some of my favorite lines are:

¿The mind is so good at revising reality to suit its needs.¿

¿There¿s release in knowing the truth no matter how anguishing it is.¿

¿Sometimes the heart wanted what the soul demanded.¿

The story felt like a mid-life crisis crossed with a finding oneself journey.

Sue Monk Kidd¿s website describes the story as ¿the transendent tale explores the lush, unknown region of the feminine soul where the thin line between the spiritual and the erotic exists. Here is an unforgettable love story, between a woman and a monk, a woman and her family, and ultimately a woman and her own soul.¿

I think of it as a spiritual journey that leaves Jessie and the reader forever changed by calling into question the bonds of love and commitment. By reminding us that everything is a choice. Whether to leave a husband, to reunite with a parent, to be fully alive.

Sue Monk Kidd is a master of the writing craft. Her ability to set the scene is breathtaking and realistic. Her dialogue is poignant. Her character¿s internal thoughts vivid and engaging. There was not one point in the book where I wanted to put it down. Every aspect of the writing was engaging. I will be rereading this book for years to come, hoping to gain insight into how she does it.

posted by KourtneyH on December 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Buy The Secret Life of Bees pass this one by

I bought this book for my mom cause she loved the Secret Life of Bees, do not buy this book you will regret it. She hated this book and told me all the details daily as she read this book, she could not have hated a book more. Save yourself do not buy this book it is re...
I bought this book for my mom cause she loved the Secret Life of Bees, do not buy this book you will regret it. She hated this book and told me all the details daily as she read this book, she could not have hated a book more. Save yourself do not buy this book it is really bad.

posted by i-READ-BEFORE-COMMENTING on May 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Great read

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    if you love'd "Secret life of Bees" read this...

    a very different type of tale from "the scret life of bees" but an inspiring tale nonw the less. Kidd has a way of making the reader connect with the reader so you seem to be part of the story. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    one of my favorite books

    I loved this book because it isn't simple like so many other love stories. It's imperfect and real. It is beautifully written and emotionally captivating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2008

    Loved this Book!

    I absolutly loved this book! It was written with such a lot of understanding of women reaching middle age and the longing for and wondering about different choices one might make.The sometimes difficult trial of dealing with aging parents and being in a position to care for them was also right on target. I did not put it down until I was finished and I would love a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    Wonderful read! Get lost in it!

    The Mermaid Chair was unlike any book I have ever read. Kidd has the ability to place you right there and you get lost in the story. Every description comes alive in her writing by taking mundane words and turning them into something I would have never thought to use. The story itself comes full circle and takes you on a journey of friendship, love, and understanding. It was a pleasure to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2007

    Complex and Interesting Characters

    Sue Monk Kidd is so adept at creating characters that are so complex and interesting. The multifaceted messages of her books remind me of the parables presented by Christ in that they contain not only a superficial message intended for the masses, but more subtle messages intended to be 'heard' only by those who have 'ears to hear'. I have found that the readers of audio books can either kill them or bring them to life. Eliza Foss does a fabulous job of making all these characters real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    Just as other stories depict a girl falling for a man of the cloth, this is the same, and a 'monk' has to decide between the love of a woman and his faith to the church. A great story, as is that of 'Eloise.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2007

    Great girly romance story!

    Personally, I really liked The Mermaid Chair. This was the first book that I have read by Sue Monk Kidd and I was impressed and it left me wanting to read The Secret Life of Bees. The plot line catches you right away with the drama of a severed finger. Throughout the novel it then keeps your attention with the mystery of what was going to happen next. It's not your average girl meets boy, then falls in love. Jessie, the main character, is married for twenty years and she unexpectantly falls for a junior monk. She is then forced to make the decision of whether to stay with her husband or persuade the monk to leave the monastery. All in all this book is a great read. Not only is there great conversation and conflicts, Kidd allows you to vividly imagine the scenery. I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone that loves a great romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    Every woman knows

    I was highly impressed with the descriptive, creative and imaginative writings of Kidd. She tells the story so well and any woman who has ever had a single doubt or questioned love or ever loved at all will love this book. Anyone who has ever cringed at going home to face reality will also love this book. I did!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    Wonderful!

    I loved this book. I thought it spoke to many women of my generation who may be going through a difficult time. I don't believe it is saying everyone should have an affair but the truth is a lot of women of this age do seem to do some pretty crazy things. I really enjoyed Jessie's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2006

    amazing! deep, just couldn't seem to stop

    This book was amazing. Tear jerking, amazing! I can't explain how much I loved the book. It was delightful, heart warming, and everything you look for in a book. If you need to get a book, pick up this one becuase it just! I can not explain the wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2006

    Amazing

    Believe it or not MY Mother left my Father for a monk after 20 years of marriage when I was 9. She is still in love with him to this day. It was an incredible book for me. I kept having to put the book down and cry. It made me think about how my Father must have felt, something I had never done untill now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2006

    A great cry!

    I loved this book. Thorn Birds, Fried Green Tomatoes, and A Year By The Sea, all wrapped up in one quick read! I loved the characters and the setting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2006

    A Beautiful Book!

    Throughout this book, adjectives such as 'luminous,' 'poetic,' and 'beautiful' kept coming to mind. I must confess that I was surprised by how much I loved this book--I mean, an affair with a monk, and I'm finding it beautiful?! But Sue Monk Kidd's writing is a joy to read: the plot was inventive and the main characters were well developed. I wish she would have further developed the relationship between Jessie and her daughter, but overall, it was a great book--I can't wait for Kidd's next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2005

    Enchanting & exactly what everyone woman needs on her night stand

    I felt this book was wonderful. I'm a stay at home mom with two children and often wonder where my life has gone. This book shows what may happen if I don't make myself known as an individual. It would be nice to leave life and live on an island for a while. I couldn't put the book down and I even loved the ending even though I wasn't expecting it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2005

    Not Bees, but good

    I was mesmerized by The Secret Life of Bees and, I have to admit, this one disappointed me at first. But I returned to it later, tried to forget about comparing the two books, and found that I really loved it. I recommend this book, but don't come to it thinking that it will be Bees again, this is a writer exploring new territory, and doing it very well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2005

    Wanting something you are lacking

    A book about a married woman that fell in love with something she saw in someone (other than her husband) that she was lacking in herself. A very moving story for a married woman to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    Awesome second novel!

    This book was a lush escape into a situation most women will be able to relate to in some way. What a treat from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    Another Great Book by Sue Monk Kidd!

    This is an excellent novel about life and what matters most: our relationships...the ups and downs of real, yet sometimes unpleasant life. It gives food for thought about how to live those relationships with love, trust, communication, and support. The story itself keeps you guessing what will happen next but the 'life lessons' are just as interesting. I hightly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2005

    An excellent story teller -

    I have nothing but wonderful things to say about the writings of Sue Monk Kidd. The only way this story compares to 'The Secret Lives of Bees', is that Ms. Monk wrote both...so to compare stories really isn't fair. This is a beautifully written story about a tune the heart plays. I think it will capture YOUR heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 84 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5