Customer Reviews for

The Mermaid's Mirror

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A Beautiful Underwater Journey

There is something magical about the cover of The Mermaid's Mirror, alone, is there not? It was the first thing that caught my
eye when I was given the opportunity to review this book. It really reeled me in (lol, I won't go there.)

L.K. Madigan brought to me a wo...
There is something magical about the cover of The Mermaid's Mirror, alone, is there not? It was the first thing that caught my
eye when I was given the opportunity to review this book. It really reeled me in (lol, I won't go there.)

L.K. Madigan brought to me a world that I quite didn't expect even with the cover being a very accurate indication of this book's true worth. Madigan didn't stop at bringing me a world I already knew, she brought me one more, one which is believably decorating the ocean floor beneath the breaking waves that Selena, our main character, watches
with a passion and yearning I couldn't help but feel.

The importance of family, friends and the need to follow your heart is a huge player in this book. The aspect of family weighs heavy on Lena as she faces the mystery surrounding her existence, her mother and her father's fear of the ocean. Her friendships prove loyal and strong as well giving this story an added depth that is explored and appreciated.

All characters, including footed and finned both, are well defined and likable, even those who weren't so nice. It felt good to read a story where there was true definition to each character. One of my favorite characters, I easily fell in love with, was one who was under the sea and I believe stole many hearts not only my own, Nix. His role in
this story added the extra sense of a fairytale even though not all fairytales are happily-ever-afters.

Simply yet beautifully written, The Mermaid's Mirror is a story with a lot going on including its own mystery and heart breaking romance. It has a lingering affect on your heart, leaving you aching for not only what Lena left behind (and went home to) but for a continuation of her story. Even with a fulfilling story and well tied ending it just left me wanting more.

Thank You to NetGalley and Houghton Mifflin for providing an e-galley for me to review.

posted by A_Readers_Record on December 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

review taken from One Book At A Time

This story had so much potential, but for me I just couldn't fully get into it. I really wanted to like it.

I loved the ocean setting. I enjoyed the fact that they lived within walking distance to the beach. I loved how Lena was so drawn to the ocean. You could r...
This story had so much potential, but for me I just couldn't fully get into it. I really wanted to like it.

I loved the ocean setting. I enjoyed the fact that they lived within walking distance to the beach. I loved how Lena was so drawn to the ocean. You could really feel that in the story. I liked how the mermaid's fit into the story. The explanations for how people felt after they saw them was interesting. I really liked Lena's father, especially after the truth comes out. The story of Lena's mother and why he never goes in the ocean was really catching for me. I also liked most of the other characters.

Which leads me to the biggest problem. I didn't really like Lena. She was so hard to identify with. I really didn't like when she got mad at her dad for not telling her the truth. For some reason, I just can't picture the right time to break that kind of news. I also didn't really enjoy how she kept everyone at arm's length. I also didn't really like the mermaid's. I know they are suppose to be different creatures who don't necessarily think and act like we do, but they seemed so heartless. Even Lena's mother didn't seem to be acting motherly.

The biggest drawback for me was the ending. I extremely disliked the ultimatum that Lena was given. It seemed drastic and unnecessary. I think the mermaid's and Lena could have learned from each other in way that wasn't harmful to either. I do think many younger teens will enjoy this book though. It just wasn't really for me.

posted by pagese on January 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Beautiful Underwater Journey

    There is something magical about the cover of The Mermaid's Mirror, alone, is there not? It was the first thing that caught my
    eye when I was given the opportunity to review this book. It really reeled me in (lol, I won't go there.)

    L.K. Madigan brought to me a world that I quite didn't expect even with the cover being a very accurate indication of this book's true worth. Madigan didn't stop at bringing me a world I already knew, she brought me one more, one which is believably decorating the ocean floor beneath the breaking waves that Selena, our main character, watches
    with a passion and yearning I couldn't help but feel.

    The importance of family, friends and the need to follow your heart is a huge player in this book. The aspect of family weighs heavy on Lena as she faces the mystery surrounding her existence, her mother and her father's fear of the ocean. Her friendships prove loyal and strong as well giving this story an added depth that is explored and appreciated.

    All characters, including footed and finned both, are well defined and likable, even those who weren't so nice. It felt good to read a story where there was true definition to each character. One of my favorite characters, I easily fell in love with, was one who was under the sea and I believe stole many hearts not only my own, Nix. His role in
    this story added the extra sense of a fairytale even though not all fairytales are happily-ever-afters.

    Simply yet beautifully written, The Mermaid's Mirror is a story with a lot going on including its own mystery and heart breaking romance. It has a lingering affect on your heart, leaving you aching for not only what Lena left behind (and went home to) but for a continuation of her story. Even with a fulfilling story and well tied ending it just left me wanting more.

    Thank You to NetGalley and Houghton Mifflin for providing an e-galley for me to review.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The is a really great read!

    This was a very quick and entertaining read for me. I started this book on a Friday night around 6:00 and finished it about 10.45 the same night. I was really intrigued by the story line. The main character is Lena. She's your average teen with a few issues. She is unavoidably drawn to the sea. So much so that she even walks in her sleep to the ocean. She desperately wants to learn how to surf but her father forbids it. There is a bit of a mystery surrounding events in his past that Lena longs to find out. She loves her friends but she can't confide in them her problems. She almost feels like an outsider. I liked her character a lot. It seemed Lena is trying to find out who she is and what she wants. Which is something I think everyone can relate to. I also loved Madigan's description of the beach and ocean. She made me long for it myself. I could almost smell the salty air and feel the sand between my toes. I also loved that Madigan named one of the characters Pemberley. I'm a huge fan of Pride and Prejudice and I really appreciated this. This book was a little predictable but still a great read. I really enjoyed it.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    This story had so much potential, but for me I just couldn't fully get into it. I really wanted to like it.

    I loved the ocean setting. I enjoyed the fact that they lived within walking distance to the beach. I loved how Lena was so drawn to the ocean. You could really feel that in the story. I liked how the mermaid's fit into the story. The explanations for how people felt after they saw them was interesting. I really liked Lena's father, especially after the truth comes out. The story of Lena's mother and why he never goes in the ocean was really catching for me. I also liked most of the other characters.

    Which leads me to the biggest problem. I didn't really like Lena. She was so hard to identify with. I really didn't like when she got mad at her dad for not telling her the truth. For some reason, I just can't picture the right time to break that kind of news. I also didn't really enjoy how she kept everyone at arm's length. I also didn't really like the mermaid's. I know they are suppose to be different creatures who don't necessarily think and act like we do, but they seemed so heartless. Even Lena's mother didn't seem to be acting motherly.

    The biggest drawback for me was the ending. I extremely disliked the ultimatum that Lena was given. It seemed drastic and unnecessary. I think the mermaid's and Lena could have learned from each other in way that wasn't harmful to either. I do think many younger teens will enjoy this book though. It just wasn't really for me.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2010

    Intriguing

    Does the sea draw you to it when you get near? Or do you feel at home when on the beach with the waves splashing over your toes? Did you ever think that maybe something besides the sea might be calling you?

    Lena has loved the sea her whole life, and now that she's coming up on her sixteenth birthday, she'd really love to have her father teach her to surf. She knows he loves the water, but he won't even step into it any more. Even though it's her birthday, he again denies her request to teach her how to surf. She wouldn't even have known how to swim if her stepmother hadn't taught her how! Lena has friends, though, and they are not as worried about the water as her father is.

    L K Madigan has written nicely fleshed-out characters, who are each, strong and determined in their own ways. You can connect with them and share their emotional feelings.

    As she comes of age, Lena wonders why her father won't tell her about her "lost" mother. She has a happy home life with her Dad and step-mother, but feels she's missing something-although she doesn't know what. Her parents are kind but don't want to hurt her. Even though she could get hurt just as easily by not knowing all the facts, her father is afraid to enlighten her.

    The truth can't be hidden forever, though. When Lena goes surfing in a forbidden place, she comes home with a key she has received as a gift, and her whole life changes.

    Lena finally learns why her father was hesitant to tell her the truth about her mother, and now she find she must make a choice on which parent she wishes to stay with. She loves them both and her mother's life is attractive,but is it the best choice? It was easy to empathize with Lena as she struggled with tough choices and decisions she had to make, because as we grow up we all go through this type of experience. I wasn't allowed to date until age 16, and thought I was really missing out on life. Then I found out how confusing dating could be - and almost wished I could backtrack... Lena's experience is not that different from my own so I could relate to her situation and feel how tormented she was while trying to make a good decision.

    In a related storyline, Lena and her friend Pem are both just discovering boys and kissing. Kissing is a bit strange to Lena, but Pem seems to enjoy her older boyfriend. She almost wonders if they aren't doing more than kissing. Lena is concerned that her friend is advancing into a relationship too soon and too fast, but she also is feeling her way through a new relationship and is unsure how to proceed. Then she meets another romantic interest and it gets even more confusing...

    The Mermaid's Mirror is an enjoyable read for a young adult just discovering male and female relationships. It's also a great read if you like to read fantasy novels, or if mermaids intrigue you.

    Originally posted at Aurora Reviews

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enchanting!

    I was hooked from the beginning. The mermaids mirrior was fantastic

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Ok

    So far im only on page 37 and its super slow...theres all this talk about finding something and nothing about leading upto anything special. I cant really say its hooking me so if u want something that doesnt go all over the place with nothing important im not going to suggest it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2010

    Mesmerizing. . . But better be a sequel :-)

    Besides a breathtaking cover, THE MERMAID'S MIRROR has a lot to offer. For space purposes, I will leave out the synopsis and just get to what I loved!

    First, the family dynamic was a breath of fresh air. I am tired of YA novels being filled with non-existent parents, divorced families, and sibling rivalry. One of the first notes I made while reading this story was: Group Hug? Wow. A positive example of family life in a YA novel. Impressive. I continued to make notes about sweet moments Lena shared with her little brother Cole, her father's obvious love and concern for her, and a step-mother relationship that is so positive that you don't even notice she is, in fact, her step mother. When Lena discovers her big family secret she's upset, BUT she still comes down to be with her family, hugs her little brother and even plays a video game with him. Normal, non-angsty, dramatic or crazy behavior.

    Second, I loved how Ms. Madigan kept me guessing about boys. They kept popping up throughout the story, and I kept making notes, guessing who her 'real love interest' would end up being. Was it Kai? Henry? Erik? NIX?!? Ahh, Nix. A moment here to say, le sigh. Now that is a dreamy mer-man. L.K. totally knows how to make you swoon! With a man saying things like: May I hear my name in your voice? and Selena, I will return to you. The Time apart will be long, how could Lena NOT fall in love with him.

    However, this is where my positive turns into a possible negative. Without any major spoilers, let me just say I was not satisfied at all with this ending. BUT I am holding out hope for a sequel. IF there is a sequel to THE MERMAID'S MIRROR, then L.K. is a genius, because I will be waiting outside Barnes and Noble until that door opens to get it. This is a couple that you want to read more about--and I can guarantee you will walk away from this story demanding more of a Nix fix!

    I loved the unique names in the story (Kai, Pem, Nix). I loved her word choice and imagery that was sometimes poetic and sometimes comical. (favorite line: The school week seemed to creep and crawl and sometimes lie down for a nap.) The references to I Dream of Jeannie made me laugh, as did the Little Mermaid comments.

    At 'press time' THE MERMAID'S MIRROR is a stand alone, but Ms. Madigan has said in several interviews that she has ideas for a sequel--ahem, better involve NIX!--and it is up to the publisher. I think we all need to start a petition or something. Regardless, this truly is a beautiful book that mesmerizes and enchants, and you do not want to miss it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Ocean~shell agrees with Sea_Girl

    This book maks me feel like a mermaid my self. Like Sea_Girl said it's good for readers who love the ocean and can handel a little romance and drama.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Different, Not what i expected

    I read this book expecting more. I dont know exactly what i was expecting but it wasnt what i got from this book, i was thoroughly disappointed with the story and everything that was happening

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Good book

    Relly good book has a good mixture of romance but not too cheesy.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Sea_Girl

    This is the absolute ideal book for anyone who loves the ocean as I do!!!! Great job!:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2010

    Charming

    The Mermaid's Mirror by L.K. Madigan is a light, entertaining YA book. It's the story of 16-year-old Lena, who, more than anything, wants to learn to surf. In fact, she develops an obsession with the ocean and doesn't know why. In her quest for answers, she uncovers secrets about her heritage and must eventually make a choice between two worlds.

    The book was easy to read and the story enjoyable. If I had any criticism, it would be that the dialogue seemed a little stilted at times (particularly in the undersea world). The characters were likable (especially the little brother). The ending, I felt, was satisfactory, but I see the potential for a sequel there.

    Overall, I think teens and tweens would love this book, especially if they're interested in the beach and/or surfing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Horrible ending!

    This book took forever to get interesting. It was slow and lacked any action. I was hoping for more of an Urban fantasy read, but The Mermaid's Mirror was really a coming of age story with a mythological twist.

    It took almost half of the book for us to find out what Lena was, and then the ending rushed up and fell flat. I do admit that I cried in the end, but it left me very unsatisfied.

    As I read an advanced galley, I do hope they clean up the ending and give a little bit more of a farewell then what we have so far.

    As of now I feel like I wasted all this time reading this book, towards the ending hoping for great romance and being miffed that her "love" so quickly was gone, with no idea if they ever see each other again or not. Like I said, it just left me very unsatisfied. Maybe a short novella as a side would help clear up the poor lovers.
    Anyway, I read it in one sitting, but am almost sad that I finished it at all. Quite the let down.
    I give it 2.5/5 stars because it did have potential, and I did like the characters, I just wish the ending went a different way.

    *I received this book for review from Netgalley.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    Mermaid Fanatics Only

    Though this book has an interesting view on family and mermaid lore, the plot is unfortunately thin. It really needed about fifty more pages to flesh it out. The build-up to Lena's crucial first choice is nearly 2/3 of the book, leaving the ending to feel rushed and unsatisfying. I also found the romantic interludes to be forced. Every time she and her boyfriend are together they are making out, but there is not other development of the relationship, even to the point that the reader feels the reasoning behind them being together. In its entirety, it felt stilted and pandering.
    I was intrigued by the concepts presented and really thought the ending, though unexpected, was the best turnout possible. It will be eaten up by mermaid enthusiasts and definitely appeals more to a younger crowd.

    *I received this book as a review copy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Mermaid mirror

    Good read. For teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    This is one of the best books i have ever read

    I couldnt put it down. It has nice romance and friendsop. It teaches a good lesson om family and a valubale life lesson on liying. Tgis is the best book for mermaid lovers. Jade

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    The Mermaids Mirror

    Love the book it was great. The whole thing was great but the first chapter was kind of slow. You should totally read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Mist

    Swims around slowly

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    Enjoyable

    This was my 1st book about Mermaids and i really enjoyed the characters
    Selena is a girl who finds out the her real mom is not dead but a Mermaid
    Then she is torn between her family below the water and above.
    This book made me laugh and cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    The Mermaids Mirror...........

    Thi book was okay. It took a while to actually get intersting and the ending wasn't as good as it could have been,but inbetween it was a good interestimg book that kept you wondering if she will choose land or choose water...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4