Customer Reviews for

Merrick (Vampire Chronicles Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 236 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(69)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A Spellbounding & Captivating Tale

This book was extremely exciting & thrilling that it's just too hard to put down. I love the strong and wicked enchanted female character of Merrick. I also love how Anne Rice shows how vampires can be humanly vulnerable with their emotions & nature.

It was wonderf...
This book was extremely exciting & thrilling that it's just too hard to put down. I love the strong and wicked enchanted female character of Merrick. I also love how Anne Rice shows how vampires can be humanly vulnerable with their emotions & nature.

It was wonderful to have the vampire collide with the witches. Especially to have Lestat, Louie & David back together. I simply loved it from beginning to the end. I would recommend anyone to read this book.

posted by Aimee_Leon on July 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book

Good book

posted by cindylb on April 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2003

    When Worlds Collide

    MERRICK has all the ingredients for a perfect Anne Rice novel: issues addressed in previous books, the introduction of new Mayfair family members, and the reawakening of The Vampire Lestat, having been in a deep sleep. However the title character turns out to have a very uninteresting backstory and Louis loses what was most unique to the character. Still, anyone who's stuck this far with the Vampire Chronicles can't go wrong by reading MERRICK.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2003

    intersting lead

    This is not among Anne Rice's best work (Queen of the Damned; WItching Hour) but, for me this book showcased one of the few interesting, strong female characters Anne Rice has ever done. I very much enjoyed Merrick and like her as a character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    if you like anne rice you should read it

    an enjoyable easy read. of all her vampire novels this one is at the bottom of the list (to me). not a very good story although i did like the blend of character types.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    Not Bad But Not Great Either

    I am a huge fan of Anne Rice's though I have seen better of her books. Merrick is a very strong character and could have been given more in this book. It is told from her friend, David Talbot's, point of view. I understand why he was telling it. He is now a Child of the Night and wishes to capture each vampires' story. But I think the story would have been much better and proved more of an impact if told from Merrick's mouth. It starts from when David met Merrick. If Merrick would have told the story it could of included more of her life perhaps when she was a child and young adult. It would allow you to see all the hardships she went through in the course of her life. Perhaps it would have had more impact that way, not sure. Still not a bad read. Especially if you are interested in what happened to Claudia's ghost and how Louis deals with it which is the primary plot of the book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2001

    It's A Good One

    The book Merrick is good (as are all of Anne Rice's books) but this was not as strong as the others in the vampire series. It may be time for her to move on to the next topic as I think she may have sucked the blood out of the vampires at this point. She's too good of a writer to not be able to pull off a good book, but it's becoming more and more obvious that she can't recapture the magic of the first two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2001

    Good, but no The Vampire Armand

    Anne Rice is one of the best modern writers of our time. I really don't know what happened in this book. It was well written but the story was slow and the swerves were not as good as in The Vampire Armand, which is a great book by the way. If you haven't read it then I would recommend it over Merrik.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2001

    Pretty good!

    I liked this book better than the past two, but not nearly as much as the early Anne Rice. But, I do adore her use of language and metaphor. She writes beautifully, and in this book, she shines. Good use of intrigue and style, but a bit slow on development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2000

    First-timers for this chronicle sucks...

    I swear if you are a first timer of Anne Rice with this book, you lost it like me because the book is truly boring. Nothing really happens. If I did read other Anne Rice novels before this one, maybe I would have had a different point of view, but with the bad reviews, I don't see that happening. The book starts off with a proem, which tells who's the narrator, yadiyadiya... Then, it comes to a café... my gosh, does that scene drags... I don't even know about you people, but the story was dragging, not fast-paced... I don't know what I should really say until I tried the chronicle beginning with IWTV... Maybe after the Alex Cross, Kay Scarpetta, and the Left Behind series...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2000

    Somewhat Dissapointing..

    I hate writing anything negative about the books I love but,after eagerly awaiting the next installment of the Vampire Chronicles, I have to say Im fairly disssapointed. Its still a good read but what happened to the characters we know and love??They may be there in name but not much else...I have read all of Anne Rice's books and recently none of them seem to have that 'I cant put this book down' effect!Merrick does alot to appeal to fans of the original books inticing us with tales of Louis,Lestat & Claudia (although they do not put in much of an appearance!)but does not live up to the promise of the merging of the two worlds ...However im still looking forward to the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2