Customer Reviews for

The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good Stories About Real Men

In an age when masculinity has turned topsy-turvy, it's good to know there is still literature out there which offers positive role models of strong, masculine men. Robin and his merry followers are the best kind of men: generous, compassionate, brave, loyal, tough and ...
In an age when masculinity has turned topsy-turvy, it's good to know there is still literature out there which offers positive role models of strong, masculine men. Robin and his merry followers are the best kind of men: generous, compassionate, brave, loyal, tough and ready to fight for a just cause when they see one. Robin especially so. He is a born leader, a man so secure in his masculinity that he registers both joy and sorrow without equal ease. Unlike so many of today's media heroes who'd respond with a callous quip, Robin is laid-low with remorse when he takes a man's life and is outlawed. His gentleness and generosity of spirit attract everyone around him. People admire him for who he is as well as his prowess as an archer. His complete lack of malice is a tonic in a brutal world. There are some who may not like Pyle's manner of writing in Medieval sounding English, but I think it gives the stories an authenticity which transports the reader back to Sherwood Forest and summer days and eating meat pies with your hands and drinking from a leather sack. In short, if you have boys or just like good, clean, adventure stories with lots of humor and good values, I highly recommend these classic tales.

posted by Major_Kelly on October 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Find a four-star copy and don't bother with this one

This free copy of Robin Hood has some issues - find the one with 4 stars.
Specifically, the OCR program was unable to read parts of the book, and you get jibberish in the middle of some sentences. The Jibberish is so annoying, that my kids would stop trying to read th...
This free copy of Robin Hood has some issues - find the one with 4 stars.
Specifically, the OCR program was unable to read parts of the book, and you get jibberish in the middle of some sentences. The Jibberish is so annoying, that my kids would stop trying to read the book.

posted by Sherrif_o_Nothing_ahem on May 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Stories About Real Men

    In an age when masculinity has turned topsy-turvy, it's good to know there is still literature out there which offers positive role models of strong, masculine men. Robin and his merry followers are the best kind of men: generous, compassionate, brave, loyal, tough and ready to fight for a just cause when they see one. Robin especially so. He is a born leader, a man so secure in his masculinity that he registers both joy and sorrow without equal ease. Unlike so many of today's media heroes who'd respond with a callous quip, Robin is laid-low with remorse when he takes a man's life and is outlawed. His gentleness and generosity of spirit attract everyone around him. People admire him for who he is as well as his prowess as an archer. His complete lack of malice is a tonic in a brutal world. There are some who may not like Pyle's manner of writing in Medieval sounding English, but I think it gives the stories an authenticity which transports the reader back to Sherwood Forest and summer days and eating meat pies with your hands and drinking from a leather sack. In short, if you have boys or just like good, clean, adventure stories with lots of humor and good values, I highly recommend these classic tales.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    Gained Robin another fan and follower!

    I was sunk so deeply into the pages of this book like I have never been before. The beautiful language that Howard Pyle uses made the book even more unique and outstanding. I recommend this to anyone!!!!! I love medieval ages and all that has to do with it. This book was wonderful by depicting the life in Medieval England... I enjoyed it very much! Best book that I have ever read! Extraordinary!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Find a four-star copy and don't bother with this one

    This free copy of Robin Hood has some issues - find the one with 4 stars.
    Specifically, the OCR program was unable to read parts of the book, and you get jibberish in the middle of some sentences. The Jibberish is so annoying, that my kids would stop trying to read the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood

    I really enjoyed this book. Broken up into different stories of the famed Merry Men, I was drawn into each of the plots, and found that it was a very quick read.

    While some may get confused of the diffente plots jumpking back and forth, Pyle lables a heading for each of the different story lines, so the reader will know whom he's reading of.

    Very glad to have this book as a part of my permanet collection.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    Hmmm

    It looks good but is it real

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Nice

    It was good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    This book's format doesn't work. The words are confined to a nar

    This book's format doesn't work. The words are confined to a narrow column in the center of the page, and even if I change the font size and margins nothing changes. I am using a Nook Simple Touch Reader. Go get a different version if you actually want to be able to read the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Great

    One of the examples of the robin hood legend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Did anyone even read this?

    If not,GET OUT!!!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Ninja

    Here

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Sammi

    I heard. :( hope she feels better soon!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Opal

    Thats terrible! I hope she gets better!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Seth

    :() Oh no......

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Drake

    >:[ Poor her! And please...tell her I'm really sorry, whenever she was aroud, I kinda was a jerk to her. So I'm really sorry.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Peachkit

    I'm going to go tell everyone whats going on, deliver the news to camp. :( Get better duskstar!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    To Ruby

    Did you not just hear Summer?! No hating or m a i m i n g! If your really Dusk's friend you'll do that for her!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Ruseel

    Aw. Hope she gets better.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Wolffang

    I'm going to rearrang Dero's face if she dies. Goodnight, I'll be back as soon as I can!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Fusk

    Thank god I am the most part.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    great version of the robin hood classic!

    i fell in love with this cover and loved that it was still the classic Howard Pyle story, only downer is that they didn't use Howard Pyle's art, but otherwise, great buy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3