Customer Reviews for

The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Good Stories About Real Men

In an age when masculinity has turned topsy-turvy, it's good to know there is still literature out there which offers positive role models of strong, masculine men. Robin and his merry followers are the best kind of men: generous, compassionate, brave, loyal, tough and ...
In an age when masculinity has turned topsy-turvy, it's good to know there is still literature out there which offers positive role models of strong, masculine men. Robin and his merry followers are the best kind of men: generous, compassionate, brave, loyal, tough and ready to fight for a just cause when they see one. Robin especially so. He is a born leader, a man so secure in his masculinity that he registers both joy and sorrow without equal ease. Unlike so many of today's media heroes who'd respond with a callous quip, Robin is laid-low with remorse when he takes a man's life and is outlawed. His gentleness and generosity of spirit attract everyone around him. People admire him for who he is as well as his prowess as an archer. His complete lack of malice is a tonic in a brutal world. There are some who may not like Pyle's manner of writing in Medieval sounding English, but I think it gives the stories an authenticity which transports the reader back to Sherwood Forest and summer days and eating meat pies with your hands and drinking from a leather sack. In short, if you have boys or just like good, clean, adventure stories with lots of humor and good values, I highly recommend these classic tales.

posted by Major_Kelly on October 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Find a four-star copy and don't bother with this one

This free copy of Robin Hood has some issues - find the one with 4 stars.
Specifically, the OCR program was unable to read parts of the book, and you get jibberish in the middle of some sentences. The Jibberish is so annoying, that my kids would stop trying to read th...
This free copy of Robin Hood has some issues - find the one with 4 stars.
Specifically, the OCR program was unable to read parts of the book, and you get jibberish in the middle of some sentences. The Jibberish is so annoying, that my kids would stop trying to read the book.

posted by Sherrif_o_Nothing_ahem on May 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Stories About Real Men

    In an age when masculinity has turned topsy-turvy, it's good to know there is still literature out there which offers positive role models of strong, masculine men. Robin and his merry followers are the best kind of men: generous, compassionate, brave, loyal, tough and ready to fight for a just cause when they see one. Robin especially so. He is a born leader, a man so secure in his masculinity that he registers both joy and sorrow without equal ease. Unlike so many of today's media heroes who'd respond with a callous quip, Robin is laid-low with remorse when he takes a man's life and is outlawed. His gentleness and generosity of spirit attract everyone around him. People admire him for who he is as well as his prowess as an archer. His complete lack of malice is a tonic in a brutal world. There are some who may not like Pyle's manner of writing in Medieval sounding English, but I think it gives the stories an authenticity which transports the reader back to Sherwood Forest and summer days and eating meat pies with your hands and drinking from a leather sack. In short, if you have boys or just like good, clean, adventure stories with lots of humor and good values, I highly recommend these classic tales.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2004

    Gained Robin another fan and follower!

    I was sunk so deeply into the pages of this book like I have never been before. The beautiful language that Howard Pyle uses made the book even more unique and outstanding. I recommend this to anyone!!!!! I love medieval ages and all that has to do with it. This book was wonderful by depicting the life in Medieval England... I enjoyed it very much! Best book that I have ever read! Extraordinary!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Great

    One of the examples of the robin hood legend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    Did anyone even read this?

    If not,GET OUT!!!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Ninja

    Here

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Sammi

    I heard. :( hope she feels better soon!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Opal

    Thats terrible! I hope she gets better!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Seth

    :() Oh no......

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Drake

    >:[ Poor her! And please...tell her I'm really sorry, whenever she was aroud, I kinda was a jerk to her. So I'm really sorry.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Peachkit

    I'm going to go tell everyone whats going on, deliver the news to camp. :( Get better duskstar!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    To Ruby

    Did you not just hear Summer?! No hating or m a i m i n g! If your really Dusk's friend you'll do that for her!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Ruseel

    Aw. Hope she gets better.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Wolffang

    I'm going to rearrang Dero's face if she dies. Goodnight, I'll be back as soon as I can!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Fusk

    Thank god I am the most part.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Great book

    Fhhfg

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2004

    A midievil masterpiece!

    This recounts the tales of Merry Robin hood in a way that none other has. The dialect in this novel makes it even more unique, in the fact that it is the speech used in that era. I highly reccomend this book to all interested in midieval tales.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2004

    The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood

    My favorite character in this book is Robin Hood because he is an outlaw and he tricks people.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2003

    Wonderful, but get the right version

    This is unarguably one of the best books ever written, both for children, young adults, and even adults. However, those who are less literary might find the book less enjoyable, as it is written in older English and uses 'thee''s and 'thou''s. I personally think that it's made much more wonderful because of the language. However, be careful what version you get - there are versions that are edited so that they are in more modern speak, and these are almost worthless. There are also nice hardcover versions without Howard Pyle's original illustrations, which is a silly concept - his illustrations go with his writing, and the two should not be separated. The Signet Classic paperback, and probably the hardcover, has many innocuous misprintings, but other than that is a good version - however, a hardback version with no misprintings and all the original pictures and language is what I would recommend, even though I can't tell you who prints such a copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2001

    A must read book for everyone!

    Howard Pyle's novel has a way of capturing the reader. I really enjoyed this book, and recommend it to anyone. I epsecially enjoyed the Old English dialect that Pyle used in this masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2000

    A TRUE CLASSIC!!!!

    I found Robin Hood to be a great book. Although I didn't care too much how it ended. This book had action, adventure, courage, loyalty. It had just about everything. I'm glad I choose to read this book, it was well worth the work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2